We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cory & Robert”

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Abattoir Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 3,704 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Gastown
Cross street: Cordova Street
Description: L'Abattoir is located in the center of Gastown between historic Gaoler's Mews and Blood Alley. The restaurant was built in the 19th century and is the site of Vancouver's first jail. Originally buttressed to the city's main butchery and meat packing district, the name L'Abattoir pays homage to the neighbourhood's colourful past. Set in a refurbished brick and beam building that combines classic French tile work with industrial fixtures, natural wood, and glass and steel finishes, the restaurant offers a bar and lounge setting, elevated dining room and plush, sun soaked atrium. Chef Lee Cooper and Owner / Operator Paul Grunberg are dedicated to highlighting the finer points of eating and drinking in L'Abattoir's informed but informal setting. French influenced West Coast fare is paired with Wine Director Lisa Haley's eclectic wine program and Bar Manager Thor Paulson's innovative cocktail list to offer a truly unique dining experience. L'Abattoir adds to Gastown's bustling breakfast scene with a menu mixing comforting staples with hearty, unique entrees. Thirsty brunchers can sip on creative cocktails, as well as daily feature vermouth on the rocks. Non-alcoholic options include daily bottled house made iced teas. Just adjacent to L'Abattoir's regular dining room is the restaurant's stunning new private dining facility. The 1,200 sq ft. facility features historical architectural elements complimented by a contemporary design aesthetic. While large enough for 50 people seated or 70 standing, the room retains an intimate ambiance and a noise-reducing barrier blocks out the hustle and bustle of the regular dining room.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cory & Robert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a very chic restaurant. Absolutely gorgeous interior. Very smartly dressed staff with a genuine professional attitude. It was a pleasure to be hosted by Roland. The food was extremely delicious and excellently plated. I would venture back to this establishment in a heartbeat. A flawless service and an exceptional dinner. Thank you very much. Robert

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    151
    50
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Restaurant was the venue for my daughter's wedding and things could not have gone better from the ceremony in the charming courtyard to the atmosphere in the restaurant, impeccable service and without a doubt one of the best resto meals I've ever experienced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Thrill is gone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant several times and recommended it to several friends. This time, I found it to be hot, loud and the food just average and uninspired.

We started with a cold appetizer-bbq octopus with chili and squid ink. The octopus was tough and dry and the other ingredients were not integrated on the plate.

They had oysters as a special; likely they shouldn't serve them this time of year; two of the six were milky AND they were served with mignonette already on the oysters- way too much vinegar killed the oysters as well as the wine.

My dining companion had the duck with was cooked perfectly and well sauced.

I ordered the suckling pig-served several ways. I found it to be just ingredients on a plate and the actual piece of suckling pig was dry.

Enough already-off to somewhere else for dessert. There are so many nice restaurants in YVR that this one rates a do not return!

The worst-I placed the reservation through Open Table and reserved a particular table that we love. I was ushered to a different table; when I asked the greeter she indicated that someone else had reserved that table. Had I been informed up front, I may have made another dining choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbaramcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a wonderful meal at l'abattoir. Really interesting food and we had really great service. Only two things. One small they had a lamb special and swapped it out for the lamb on the main menu which one of our party wanted. Why do that. It doesn't make sense to me. A more general negative point about Vancouver eating out. Wine prices are a real rip off. You very seldom get wine for under $50. We live in London which is a not a cheap city and wine is a lot cheaper and always a wider selection. I wonder if someone could explain this!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jak296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Confident cooking, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Visiting Vancouver from London, UK we chose to dine at L'Abattoir after reading good reviews. With such a vibrant, quality restaurant scene at home, we were not expecting too much from L'Abattoir but we found it to be a quality experience all round. Special praise to the mixologist at the bar who made an excellent Aviation (not on their menu) and set the tone with his warm, welcoming conversation - not always easy when also mixing drinks! Then upstairs for dinner. Highlights were the perfectly balanced starter of asparagus with poached egg and mushroom, and the reinterpretation of a classic Steak Diane. Nothing like the original whatsoever, but cooked with real confidence and skill. The only downside was a smoked duck dish which had too much sweet apricot on the plate, upsetting the balance by being too sweet. L'Abattoir is a friendly, relaxed restaurant with great food that deserves a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Abattoir Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to L'Abattoir Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing