We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Literally one of the best beef pad thai ever”
Review of Lanna Thai

Lanna Thai
Ranked #1,524 of 3,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Thai
Neighbourhood: Robson Street
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Robson Street
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Literally one of the best beef pad thai ever”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Friendly, reasonable, quiet, great service and very fresh food. Might get crowded as there were only a few tables.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bettertravel4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
684 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Try the Chiang Mai sausage - terrific”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I've been to Lanna Thai many times over the last few years and have reviewed it before. This is an update based on its new - and amazing - menu item.

First, Lanna Thai is a small restaurant where the owner/chef Malai does pretty much everything. Everything is made from scratch and authentic. The menu includes the usual Thai dishes - pad thai, tom yum soup, etc. they're all delicious but Malia is from the north and the food from that region is her passion. Ask about the Chiang Mai style dishes and give them a try.

Now to her menu addition. Malai recently returned from Thailand. She brought back the ingredients for Chiang Mai and Issan sausages. She's making them fresh herself. They are amazing! They rival anything Oyama Foods offers. You have to try them.

A warning - because Malai does everything herself from scratch, service can be slow if the restaurant is busy. Also, food come Thai-style, ie it's brought to the table when it's ready, not in rigid courses.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Ordered the Chicken pad Thai and Chicken Basil and were not disappointed at all! It was just what we needed after a 3.5 hour walk along Stanley Park's seawall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RashidMarwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice little family operation ”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This was my second time to this restaurant. It's northern thai food, so the flavours might not meet expectations for some people. The green papaya salad was delicious, as was the tom yum soup and pad kee mao noodles. Best thai food we've had since we were in Chiang Mai 6 months ago. Will return for sure.

Helpful?
Thank TonyZeg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh and spicy”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I ordered the basil stir fry with chicken to go. The veggies were very fresh and the dish was very spicy. It was an excellent choice. I also got the fried wonton appetizer. That was not as flavorful, and was a bit dry. I would skip that one next time

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TEntwistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lanna Thai also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Lanna Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing