We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit And Miss..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Ranked #68 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hit And Miss..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The First time we stayed here was awesome. We were there for a concert, upgraded into a King room and able to check in early. This time was a whole different senario. We booked two rooms, one for ourselves and one for a couples we were traveling with. We stayed for two nights at the end of december, before heading up to whistler. We booked both queen rooms, which were significantly smaller than the previous room we stayed in, and probably one of the smallest hotel rooms i have ever stayed in, but was fine and had all the amenities we needed. Despite having our do not disturb sign on, we had housekeeping (i hope) walk into our room (without knocking) at 8am which awoke both of us, and then again at 1pm. We had Dinner on the second night at moxies, which was by far the worst service any of us had ever had. We didnt talk to a manager at the restaurant, but we did end up telling our server which made for an awkward conversation with no resolution. On the Second night, Our friends car got broken into in the parkade, and had a few things stolen. The staff at the front desk were great during our whole stay, but we never got any resolution to any of our issues. Although the sandman is in a great location, I cant say if we will be back or not.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little extra for a King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueberrii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    411
    348
    156
    106
See reviews for
199
436
84
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great location, right next to BC Place. Easy walk to downtown core. Moxie's restaurant on site. Great work out facility

Stay in the corporate tower; comfortable bed. Great staff! Kevin and Aaron at the front desk were a great help!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rshipthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Sandman for a Canucks game. The location is perfect and there is the Shark Club downstairs. Our room was very basic and we had a view of the building next door. The price was reasonable and we had only booked a basic room. It is perfect for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlyk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We always stay here for Canucks games. Perfect location. Moxies grill and Sharks Club pub both located on-site. Walking distance to Robson street, Rogers arena, GM Place, Art Gallery, water taxis, Pacific Centre mall, etc. Room was updated since last stay. The whole family enjoyed the hot tub and pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brick_Tamblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Location:
The hotel is located at the intersection of West Georgia and Cambie. This provides easy access to rail transit (3 minutes to the Expo/Millenium line and 6-7 minutes to the Canada Line). Being able to access both major rail systems in Vancouver allows guests to get virtually anywhere in the Greater Vancouver area for relatively cheap. Within easy walking distance is BC Place, Rogers Stadium, the Queen Elizabeth theater, Pacific Centre (shopping mall), Robson Street, Yaletown, and Gastown.

Hotel building:
The Sandman Vancouver City Center building was built in 1976 and was last renovated in 2010. I believe the hotel was always under the Sandman chain however I am not 100% sure. There is no doubt the building is old as the outside does not seem to have been renovated. In my room, the interior window panes were covered with condensation and mildew was visible. Sound insulation was quite poor due to the seals being less than air-tight (thus allowing moisture in which formed condensation).
Inside, the hotel is clean, well-decorated, and comfortable. My room on the 9th floor was nicely decorated and very inviting. It is clear that the hotel takes pride in maintaining a good appearance for their guests. There are two towers in the hotel (North and South) both of which are accessed from the main lobby. Each tower has separate elevators however some floors are accessible from both shafts. The North Tower consists of 11 guest floors (Level 3 to 11) and the South Tower of 14 guest floors (Level 3 to 14). One issue I did find about the elevators was that they were consistently slow, especially during busy periods. It was not uncommon to see guests lining at the elevators that serviced the North Tower (where my room was). When the hotel is at capacity it is unacceptable for guests to have to wait upwards of 10 minutes just to get up to their rooms. This does not give a good impression to those who are checking in.

Rooms:
Several types of guest rooms are available including single and double bed rooms as well as suites. All regular rooms feature modern furnishings including a work desk with comfortable chair, bedside table, 32” LCD TV, and individually controlled thermostats. Overall I was satisfied with the offering however there was a lack of storage space for clothing. The only closed storage for items was in three drawers located beside the desk. This would be less than ideal for travellers staying for longer periods of time or when the rooms are occupied by two people. I also would have appreciated a closed closet area as the only place I was able to hang up clothing was in a small area across from the bathroom sink. This type of set-up does not offer enough space or privacy for items guests may want to store hanging up (coats, suits, pants, etc).
As mentioned above, the sink/vanity/mirror is located just outside the bathroom door. My room featured a standard bathroom with toilet, tub, and shower. I will note that there was only one towel bar located in the bathroom and all fresh/dry towels were located on the shelving below the sink outside the bathroom. This is slightly inconvenient as one must exit the bathroom to retrieve a bath towel if they neglected to bring one in prior to beginning their shower. I will also mention that the water pressure on my floor (9th) was sufficient at all hours of the day including the busy morning periods.
As others mentioned, I did notice a bit of noise from surrounding rooms when guests spoke loudly or allowed doors to slam. The majority of the time I did not notice any disruptive noise however like in any hotel, if there is ongoing excessive noise a call to the front desk is usually the best course of action.

On-Site Dining:
Within the hotel are two options for food and drink; Moxies and the Shark Bar & Grill. Moxie’s is a somewhat upscale lounge restaurant that serves standard steak, hamburger, pasta, and salad fare. The Shark Bar is a sports grill that serves pub fare like chicken wings, hamburgers, and of course cold beer. During hockey games the bar gets very busy with locals and hotel guests so I suggest arriving early to secure a table. I cannot comment further on either restaurant as I instead opted to patronize some of the local restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Overall:
During my four night stay at the Sandman Vancouver Downtown I was very pleased with the property and the service is received. The biggest selling point of this hotel is the location and the value offered compared to other hotels in the general vicinity. As mentioned in the first part of this review, the hotel is very close to local transit and there are many exciting options for entertainment/dining within 15 minutes walking distance. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and the HVAC system worked effectively to heat/cool the room. Wireless internet is available and complimentary however I did notice several signals drops randomly throughout my stay. Unlike several other guests mentioned in their reviews, despite the occasional signal drops, the internet connection was generally reliable. During future trips to downtown Vancouver I would not hesitate to return to this hotel and I recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel close to attractions and transit in the downtown core of Vancouver.

Room Tip: When staying in a room facing north (West Georgia Street) request a high floor to reduce the amount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avi8rjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is close to most entertainment venues in Vancouver. Rogers Arena and BC Place Stadium are within a couple of blocks and the Queen Elizabeth Theatre is right across the street. The desk staff are extremely helpful and professional as are the housekeeping staff. There is a National Car Rental on site in the lobby which is hand for business travellers. The rooms are functional and clean and good value for the rate. This hotel also offers one bedroom suites as well as single rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summer_in_february
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Rooms were clean, great location downtown, a lot of areas within walking distance, skytrain only 5 minute walk.
Close to stadium though so if there's a hockey game on it will be loud and rowdy!
Metro town mall is easily accessible from skytrain near hotel. A lot of restaurants near by, robson street only minutes from here, great shopping!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Davie Village
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Yaletown & False Creek North
Rosedale on Robson
Rosedale on Robson
#42 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Property: Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Address: 180 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 4P4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre is walking distance to shopping, a multitude of restaurants and lounges, and sporting and entertainment venues, making it the perfect choice for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing