We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went for check up to see doctor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Ranked #68 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“went for check up to see doctor”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

stayed at sandman vancouver ciyt centre had a plesant stay the staff was very nice and helpful with our stay the rooms are very quiet and clean it is very cental to everything you want to do and go i will stay at the hotel again

Room Tip: stayed in south tower very bright rooms and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poster_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    440
    359
    161
    110
See reviews for
204
467
88
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were in Vancouver due to a last minute family emergency. we decided to select this hotel as the price tag seemed right and my boyfriend stayed there in the past. The customer service was HORRIBLE. We were a younger couple (late 20's) the front desk staff was absolutely rude...not helpful at all and could tell that they thought we were there to party so they gave us the worst service I have EVER had and we travel A LOT and I have worked at multiple different hotels on Vancouver island and have never seen people treat customers SO bad. We delt with 3 different front desk staff and all 3 gave us the worst customer service. On our second day we clearly had our do not disturb sign on our door....while we were resting at 1pm the housekeeper opened the door and walked him saying "Hello Hello" when I asked her to leave as we were sleeping she kept walking in and talking and managed to wake up the two other people that were sleeping in our room as well. When we ordered room service we were told we had to go down and pick it up (yet we were charged for the room service delivery fee) that was over $20 for nachos that are called "Double cheese nachos" yet most of the nachos had no cheese on them all all. It is a very noisy area and the crappy widows do not help with the sound at all. I would never stay at this hotel EVER again there are lots of other way better options for the same price and they treat you WAY better. I have worked in the hotel industry for over 10 years now and if anyone ever treated guests they way this hotel treated my group they would be fired on the spot. Maybe the employers should take that into consideration.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank felifrni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel! Very Friendly and went out of their way to help me!! I would book with them again in the future! Not many hotels,especially chains have the ability to go out of their way to be so helpful !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were not informed that the pool was under maintenance when we booked over the phone. So much for customer service. Also, there were molds in on our window and the coffee maker was just as nasty. Disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 times now. It's perfect location, comfortable rooms, swimming pool and THEE best sports bar serving amazing food and the staff in the hotel and bar are extremely friendly and helpful. It's an all round great hotel. You know what your getting with a sandman hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laurarobertson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at the Sandman for one night on Feb. 14th because I was going to a concert that night. My friend booked it because it was close to the arena... probably the only good thing about the hotel.

It took my friend over an hour to check in. Luckily, I missed that part. Once I got there, I waited for what felt like forever for an elevator. One finally came and when I got inside, I noticed that I needed a key card to get to my floor. It was just a magical feeling to wait forever for no reason at all. I had to call my friend and she had to come and meet me in the lobby. 11 floors and two elevators. If you're in any kind of hurry, just stay on the second floor and take the stairs, which are conveniently located outside.

The room was nice. I will give them that. The buttons on the remote control for the tv were a little sticky and the time on the alarm clock wasn't even set. But over all it was clean and quite nice.

When we got back from the disgusting display of public self-loving that was the Miley Cyrus concert, our entire floor and room stunk like pot. It was overwhelming. Neither my friend or myself smoke it so we found it to be quite bothersome. We actually have to leave the hotel for a couple of hours. We complained about it to the front desk and we were assured that it would be taken care of. Ready for a huge surprise? Nothing was done. Not a damn thing. We were told that since they couldn't figure out which room it was coming from, we just had to "deal with it." Apparently they don't teach you how to knock on doors and look for smoke when you take the Tourism and Hospitality course.

The next morning, I spoke with the duty manager, who gave me the card for the general manager. I never heard back from the general manager. I then contacted head office, and again, heard nothing back.

Don't waste your money on this place. If you don't luck out and have a great experience, no one gives a damn. They got your money... apparently that's all that matters.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor if you're going in and out a lot. I waited ten minutes to get on one from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Again, please accept my sincere apology for the unfortunate experience due to a lack of courtesy and consideration by another guest and or visitor.

As I explained, we have a strict rule regarding smoking in an non-smoking hotel, penalties are indicated on the registration card as well as the event forms for concert dates. We do charge the guilty party for such an offence, however the biggest challenge is identifying the guilty party or guestroom, especially in this case where it seems the person smoked in the hallway.

Please consider the hotel extends every reasonable effort to communicate and extend penalty when necessary. In addition, special deep clean is also extended to ensure the smoke odor is completely cleared, an additional cost and more cost as the room is not sold until fully treated, so in essence the hotel is also a victim of the same unfortunate circumstances.

Be assured, we will continue our strict policy and be diligent in our overall process. Again, very difficult to control the actions of a very few individuals but will continue with our commitment.

Michael Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Customer service was horrible right from check-in. Took almost 30 minutes to fully check-in (clerk couldn't find our reservation, then took forever getting us our package perks). The routes to rooms were poorly laid out. Getting to the pool level from the South Tower was a labyrinth. Hot tub was luke warm at best and very murky. The suite wreaked from whatever cleaning solution was used. Very loud elevator and very noisy floor. Bed was hard as rock, drawer knobs were broken and the television was limited at best.


Breakfast at Moxies wasn't much better. Found plastic in the omelette and the waiter wasn't friendly or personable at all. Although, the omelette was removed from the bill, no apology was ever given.

Room Tip: This is a good location for Theatre goers or concert goers. Otherwise, not worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAVENBRAN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Davie Village
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Yaletown & False Creek North
Rosedale on Robson
Rosedale on Robson
#40 of 90 in Vancouver
1,501 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Property: Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Address: 180 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 4P4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre is walking distance to shopping, a multitude of restaurants and lounges, and sporting and entertainment venues, making it the perfect choice for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing