We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Ranked #69 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 28 May 2014

extremely well located you have access to tons of restaurant nearby and the service was courteous and great. it was a very last minute reservation and the people working on that day were excellent. it's always fun to walk into a place and see people happy to be working.

Good Job!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at the same time as 50 people from an Alaskan cruise so checkin was chaotic. Other people were also attempting to book rooms and we guessed we would have no chance of checking in as we arrived early for our 3pm checkin. To our surprise we were allowed into our pre booked room with no difficulty and without hassle. The room was ok, comfortable with a tiny bathroom, but adequate. Staff were helpful and the room maid very obliging. The hotel is centrally situated and good for walking, Gastown quite close. Although very busy the only noise was from noisey neighbours! The hotel restuarant is very expensive with $4 coffee or tea! We found a nice little cafe just along the road for excellent freshly cooked breakfast and third of the price. Nice stay, we enjoyed ourselves.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Family members from Port Alberni had booked with the Sandman two months in advance. They do not drive in the city and walked onto the ferry. They are not familiar with the city. They chose this hotel primarily because it is in walking proximity to their selected event venue. Yesterday I picked them up from Horseshoe Bay and drove them to the Sandman where they were scheduled to check in on Saturday at 4:00. Upon their arrival, they were told by the desk clerk that their booking at the Sandman had been cancelled and that they were being redirected to another hotel which was only "three blocks away". They were literally turned away with no apology. Because I was more familiar with the city I knew that the other hotel was actually 10 blocks away and that they would need a cab. We also asked if the room would be complimentary because of the inconvenience and additional cab expense. The clerk said no but he would offer a taxi voucher for one way. We questioned why their booking had been cancelled and he said "We have a tour that wants to stay an additional night...what do you want us to do...kick them out?" When we said that this was unacceptable he referred us to the front desk lead clerk. We reiterated that this was not acceptable and that the first desk clerk had given incorrect information regarding the distance of the second hotel to two people unfamiliar with the city. Not professional and highly unethical. When we said that the couple were planning to walk to their event he said that he would not recommend this as the area around the hotel was extremely dangerous. He did this in order to scare the couple into taking the other hotel which would have involved walking 5 blocks through a "safer area" to take the skytrain. Very confusing indeed and doesn't say much for the safety of the Sandman location when the staff is recommending that you don't walk in the area. When we asked why the couple was not informed much earlier so that they could make other arrangements he apologized but he would not accommodate them and not pay their transportation or hotel costs.
He said that if we had complaints that we could speak to the Front Desk Manager. We said that we would indeed speak to him. The clerk said that the manager would be back on Tuesday (this was Saturday). When we said that this wasn't good enough he replied with "So you want us to kick someone else out to give you a room?" (Ludicrous as this couple had just been displaced without notice). Our response was "Yes". He slammed a stack of maps down on the counter then proceeded to book them into a room.
Extremely unfortunate. We accept that over-booking does occur. If this happens on an airline, they ASK if anyone would be willing to change flights, then offer complimentary passes and incentives as a thank you. This is a professional response and one that I hope the Sandman will consider in the future. However, we won't be staying there and will tell this story to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent three nights in this hotel at the end of a Rockies/Alaska cruise tour. The hotel is in a good location, we walked to Canada Place inside 10 minutes.

The hotel is on a traffic light controlled junction and the room we were allocated was right above the junction, however, a request to change was met with a smile and we were invited to inspect another room on the back of the hotel, which was just right for us.

Housekeeping left something to be desired in certain areas but, overall was OK. The room was comfortable and well-furnished.

We ate in the hotel on one evening and took breakfast there on two mornings. All waiting on staff were friendly and efficient and the food was good. Here, as in every other hotel in which we stayed whilst in Canada, staff clear away plates even when some of the party are still eating - which I find rude. Alcohol was priced as per a city centre hotel.

This hotel must attract many overseas visitors and an in-room safe would be a bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Rooms were very comfortable. Beds were great - housekeeping was great as well.
Convenient location with most things/places in walking distance.
Bar and Restaurant good pricing and friendly service.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lost_on_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We found this to be a great hotel, all the staff very attentive and informative, nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel was easy to find (take the Canada line train from Vancouver airport all the way to the end of the line at Waterfront, change to either the Expo or Millennium lines as both lines go to the stop you need which China Stadium (3rd stop) whole trip takes approx 40mins). Fare from airport per person was $7.75 from the airport - you pay $5 tax which is included in the price, going back to airport is cheaper only $2.75 - 2 zone ticket as you do not pay the tax on the way back. You can also buy day passes for 1 days unlimited travel for $9.75 this covers trains, buses and sea bus. day pass tickets end at midnight regardless of the time you purchase them. The hotel is easy to find when you come out of China Stadium (Beatty St exit) look diagonally across the traffic lights towards the car park and you will see the hotel at the top end of the car park (takes about 3mins to walk from station to hotel).

Our hotel room had a coffee maker with coffee/decaffeinated coffee supplied. ice buckets with ice machine on different floors. Hair dryer provided usually located in bathroom in cabinet underneath the sink. There was no magnifying mirror in the bathroom (which is a problem if you wear glasses and struggle to put eye make up on etc. I normally take my own but forgot this time). It might be that the hotel has loan ones but I did not ask about this.

The reception desk also offered us loan umbrellas if the weather was bad.

We used the heated swimming pool and hot tub once whilst we were there which was very warm. We got the padlock for the lockers from the gym. Go down to the actual pool level and go down the stairs to the gym. When we were there we got the last clean pool side towels but I noticed a lady use the phone on the wall at the top end of the pool to request fresh towels. I found the towels quite narrow and not very long so I think if I used it again I would be inclined to use the bedroom towels.

Next to the China Stadium stop is the International Village which has a small shopping centre, food court and cinema.

You can get to Capilano Suspension Bridge, Grouse Mountain, Stanley Park, Stevenson, Horseshoe Bay, very picturesque and Deep Cove (kayaking tours and wonderful views) on the public transport on the day pass ticket.

The sightseeing hop on and off buses and trolleys stop right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 8th floor in the Corporate Tower, which was quite large with a 6 foot bed and 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBarr_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel, does need maybe one more elevator just to speed things up. Staff were very helpful, let me check in before it was time. The hotel is close to everything and convenient, easy to walk to everything. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Lucyjayne1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Davie Village
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
418 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Rosedale on Robson
Rosedale on Robson
#41 of 92 in Vancouver
1,611 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Address: 180 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 4P4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £88 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre is walking distance to shopping, a multitude of restaurants and lounges, and sporting and entertainment venues, making it the perfect choice for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing