We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central hotel shame about the restaurant staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Ranked #67 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good central hotel shame about the restaurant staff.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a group at the end of a tour. The hotel was well placed for exploring the city and the rooms were clean and comfortable. All the staff we came into contact with were really helpful with the exception of the staff serving breakfast. The did not speak and informed us that breakfast was at 7.00am even though we had been told that it was available from 7.00am till 8.30.
I think that because we were a tour and there were no tips forthcoming, we were a chore and not worth their time and effort. They certainly did the hotel no favours to the extent that I would have to think twice before going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David2447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    425
    353
    158
    106
See reviews for
200
447
87
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

2 tiny lifts for 11 floors.
Shower impossible to control.
Wash basin blocked.
Only 2 towels and nowhere to hang them.
Only 2 mugs in room for 4.
Rats nest of electrical cables under the desk.
Only good bit was the receptionists advice to eat at the Indian Gate restaurant which was fantastic!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

great big clean room
fridge & coffee making which is always handy
very handy to shops & attractions
came early & staff were so nice especially Sanaz
let us in our room which was so good
robin lerch qld aust

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lerchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I've stayed here about 6 or 7 times when I'm going to a game or just a good party downtown. Rooms are always clean and well kept. Comfy beds, good night's sleep. Lots of restaurants in close proximity.

Will definitely stay anytime I'm crashing downtown and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyFranchise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel was located very conveniently right in down town Vancouver; within walking distance of Gastown, Yaletown, Chinatown- pretty much any of the central area’s you may want to visit if you’re new to Vancouver (or dare I say a tourist?!)
Also, the hotel was close to the Vancouver city centre and Granville sky train stations which was really handy.
The hotel itself was clean and functional; equipped with the usual appliances such as mini bar, TV, hair dryer etc. The restaurant on the second floor had a nice choice of breakfast’s in the morning and the staff were really friendly.
All in all I would recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampton1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here on our 3 nights in Vancouver, and we had an absolutely pleasant stay. Not luxury by any means, but we are quite fit, and never had to get a taxi anywhere. The staff are very friendly, and there is free wifi.
The hotel has a bar, restaurant, and pool. Again, nothing special, but absolutely fine. Cant find anything negative to say about the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel as part of an organised tour. The hotel was busy so after getting our keys there was quite a queue for the elevators which were used by guests (who waited in line) and housekeeping (who charged in regardless). The rooms were clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel was in a good location for restaurants, transportation and tour buses/trolleys. It was also close to theatres/arenas. The staff were friendly and helpful.
I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionAnne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Davie Village
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Yaletown & False Creek North
Rosedale on Robson
Rosedale on Robson
#39 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Property: Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Address: 180 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 4P4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre is walking distance to shopping, a multitude of restaurants and lounges, and sporting and entertainment venues, making it the perfect choice for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing