We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very gracious hotel with TWO dogs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We normally do not stay at more luxery hotels but this location and a specialer rate were to good to pass on. We received an upgrade to a corner room on the 12th floor with a grand view and it haqppened to be the 10k sun run weekend. What a sight. Wonderful bar and bar menu. A little pricey but decant portions. As hockey fans it was cool to be in that city. Many snack and dining spots nearby. Good for walking and people watching. Then there were the dogs; Beau and Mavis. If you have pets traveling without them is hard. Their wagging tails were a daily welcome sight.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank katherinesI9996NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,842 - 2,848 of 3,304 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

For $200+ a night, I'm not sure this hotel cuts the mustard. Our room was understocked and way too warm (you could only lower the temp. to 65, which is plenty cool. But it never got down to 65 in there). Internet connect was $16/day extra, which is ridiculous. And at one point during our stay, I got off the elevator on the 2nd floor and instantly started choking/gagging. Turns out, the area had been maced! When I told the front desk person, she was decidedly nonplussed (a woman who has clearly never been maced). I didn't expect anything more than a little concern and perhaps a promise to get that area cleared out asap. But all I got was, "Oh yeah, I heard that had happened."

I don't know... it wasn't a horrible stay, not by any means. And in fact, the concierges were fantastic. But for that kind of money, you expect a little more. I won't go back. Next time, I'll try the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parisvoyagista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVancouver, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2011

Thank you for the note relative to your recent stay at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. Let me begin by apologizing for your encounter with the problem we had with a vandal spraying mace on the 2nd floor. This was certainly an isolated incident and we are very concerned it happened. Even more so I would like to apologize for the poor response from our Guest Service Agent. That is never a sanctioned action. Along with my leadership team we will be addressing both issues.

I thank you again, for your post and feedback. It is through constructive notes such are yours that we are better able to monitor the operation and make positive adjustments. We value your business and do hope you will let us have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Mark Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

The Fairmont Vancouver is a classic old hotel that is rich in history. I had an outstanding stay there recently and would highly recommend it for a businesss or leisure trip. Great staff and beautiful building make for a great combo. Like many hotels, the doors open and shut very loudly in the hallways, so you might have a little trouble sleeping in if you hope to do that. Otherwise, an excellent spot.

Room Tip: Away from elevators at the end of a hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williamsh201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for a conference this last february. Due to a back condition I take my own pillow with me for these trips. Unfortunately, I left my pillow behind after checking out and didn't notice until I returned home in Victoria. We contacted the hotel and they found the pillow and were to ship it out to our address but after several weeks it never arrived. During this time I was sent a survey asking how my trip was. I explained about the pillow section and within minutes received an email back from the Director of Housekeeping (Paul Kingsbury) informing me that if my pillow did not arrive soon they would send a new pillow out at their expense. They sent a very luxurious Xanadu pillow shortly after. Talk about great customer service!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We chose the Hotel Vancouver for our one night stay in Vancouver because I had heard that they offer a service whereby you can take one of their resident dogs (Bo) for a walk. Not having a dog ourselves I thought this would be a lot of fun with the kids. Unfortunately when we arrived at the hotel the dog we were supposed to walk was not available due to an unexpected surgery. The staff bent over backwards to find us a replacement and within an hour we were taking "Mavis" for a walk. The commitment on the part of the concierge and on duty manager to make this right was commendable.
When we returned to our room there was a knock on the door and our children were presented with cookies, milk, a photograph of the dog and a little puppy stuffed animal each. They were thrilled !
We very much enjoyed the lovely gym and pool facilities and there is even a little wading pool for the kids.
This Fairmont was offering a special if you wanted to upgrade to the Fairmont Gold floor. For and extra $100 we went from a standard double queen room to a suite that was double the size, and because it was on the Gold Floor gave us access to the concierge and lounge on the same floor. That meant free appetizers, non alcoholic drinks, a DVD library, popcorn in the room and a lovely buffet breakfast. This was 100% worth it for our family of four and I would highly recommend it (even for the regular upcharge of $150/night).
I also recommend joining the Fairmont President's Club (free). This gave us free internet access- normally $16.95/day (although that is included on the Gold Floor), daily newspaper, and a few other perks including a card for 25% off food at the hotel and $20 off at the spa.
The only negative comment I have to say about the hotel is that as it is an older building there is some noise that can be heard from other rooms and the hallway.
One last comment. You will not find a better located hotel in Vancouver.
Well done Fairmont on a your fantastic service. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Travel-Tot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVancouver, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Thank you for your kind words. It is so wonderful to hear you and your family enjoyed Fairmont Gold and were able to go for a nice walk with Mavis. I will share this with the concierge team, they always do their utmost to ensure our guests have a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, "the castle in the heart of the city."

Sincerely,

Mark S. Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We loved our stay at the Fairmont. Its central location was perfect for sightseeing, restaurants, and walking tours. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bostarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights while in Vancouver, the hotel is centrally located close to all downtown areas in a landmark location. I have to say i was a little disappointed overall though im finding it hard to justify to myself why this is the case, Perhaps i had excessive expectations given the reputation of the Fairmont.

The reception and lobby areas are well maintained and portray the grandeur of the hotel. The rooms were a slightly dated but were clean and comfortable and maintained in the overall style of the hotel. The staff were friendly and professional, though i found their demeanor very business like as opposed to some hotels where you can feel genuine friendliness in the staff.

The only real complaint i have is that there was filming going on in the lounge on our second evening and we normally returned for a drink before bed. The manager in charge was pleasant but pushy and wasn't keen on letting us in until the director came over and said it was okay that they weren't ready yet . The whole issue could have been avoided if we were informed on check in that the filming would be going on and the bar closed on that night and we could have made alternative arrangements.

Overall it's a decent hotel and if you are getting a good deal on the room then it's worth a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluechip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide feedback. We always strive to make our guest's stay the number one priority and it is unfortunate that you could not enjoy our lounge during your entire visit. We are reviewing some of our internal procedures for managing film crews to ensure that they do not disrupt regular hotel operations. We hope you consider Fairmont Hotels & Resorts again in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Mark S. Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,452 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,771 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,647 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £151 - £680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing