We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We usually stay at the Fairmont Waterfront but chose this one due to the indoor pool. Our one bedroom suite was huge except for the bathroom which was quite small with little counter space. Even though the hotel is a classic, the room was updated and very nice. The indoor pool was great for this time of year and the exercise room had decent equipment. Room service dinner was excellent and the buffet breakfast was very good too. The location is perfect for shopping and not too far a walk to the seawall. The highlight of the stay for our kids was the dog at the concierge desk. It was so friendly and we couldn't walk past it without them stopping to pet it. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,649
    919
    312
    134
    91
See reviews for
622
997
155
948
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Excellent location. I stayed there for a conference with colleagues and we had a good conference rate. For the money I paid, it was definitely worth but I'm not sure I would stay there again without that rate. The beds were really comfortable but the room was somewhat small, compared to other places I stayed in Vancouver. I was disappointed with the service. We didn't have the right number of towels in the room and it took us 2 days to get them, despite calling multiple times.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed here with my wife and two teenage children for 3 nights in December. This is a lovely, landmark hotel positioned perfectly in downtown Vancouver. We caught the train in from the airport then walked the one block to the hotel - a very easy commute.

We had two connecting rooms and were very happy with their cleanliness and the comfort of the beds. No room safes, which is unusual these days, but the hotel does offer free safe deposit boxes at reception.

The labaradors at the concierge's desk are a really nice, unique touch.

All in all, this hotel was an excellent base for exploring Vancouver on foot.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pumbelchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi in London
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Wonderful downtown Vancouver location with excellent service. However, having stayed elsewhere in downtown Vancouver, this does not strike me as good value-for-money. It is an expensive hotel to begin with and, on entering your room, you realise that ''everything is extra'', even to the extent that there is a little ''Fairmont Teddybear'' which you can buy, water at $Canadian8 per bottle and I was ''warned'' on checking-in, not to even attempt to touch the fridge if I didn't want anything in it, as I would be charged! For the per night room rate, I don't believe for instance, that water should be charged for as an extra. The one buffet breakfast I ate there was excellent, as was the service but the choices for eating breakfast elsewhere for much less were too great to eat there every day.

Wifi was also EXTRA and quite expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerigenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you chose to stay at our iconic property on your recent visit to the Pacific Northwest. I take your comments on board as we do with all feedback, through which we are better able to serve you, our guest, in the future. I would also encourage you to join our complimentary Fairmont Presidents Club Program which as an opening benefit, offers free internet access.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our “Castle in the heart of the city” in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rick Corcoran
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Not sure if it's a room, or a suite, but I used a Fairmont President's Club room upgrade certificate and ended up with the MOST AMAZING ROOM, 1405. It was huge, had great views, and a beautiful marble bathroom with an LCD TV in it. Luxury! When checking in, the room wasn't ready yet but the man checking us in told us that he recommended waiting because the room was so great. We had them hold our bags while we went down the street to get a JapaDog (so good!) and when we returned, the room was ready.

The room was amazing, as promised. It was one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in, and I like to splurge for a nice place to stay at least one night when I travel. This room was literally about 800 square feet. I'm not sure if it was a room, or a suite, or some kind of weird hybrid. Technically suites usually have a separate sitting area with a doorway, but this was just one big room: bedroom area on one side, sitting room area on the opposite side. Giant marble bathroom with an enormous soaking tub with hidden controls for jets and whatnot.

Unfortunately there were some loud Canucks fans in the suite next to us, so I called downstairs to complain and they offered to move our room. I figured I'd take them up on the offer since I had to get up at the crack of dawn the next morning to run a half marathon and didn't want to be sleep-deprived because of those fools. Someone came up to help us with our bags and showed us to the new room. Well, boy was THAT a disappointment: lower floor with lots of traffic noise outside, much smaller bed, old ratty-looking furnishings, dimly-lit with a small, cramped bathroom. Obviously not the same category of room - not sure why the person who changed our room thought they were comparable. I called back to the front desk immediately and was told them I wanted the last room back - I wasn't letting those loud Canucks fans stick me in this junky room after basically seeing the BEST ROOM EVER beforehand.

So obviously all of the rooms at this Fairmont are NOT created equal. I probably would have requested a different room even if they'd originally given me the second room we saw, because it really was unacceptable for redeeming a room upgrade certificate. (What would it be an upgrade from, a closet?) I'm wary of returning to the property without an upgrade certificate, and want to review this fairly for typical travelers who aren't loyal Fairmont guests. If you don't get your room upgraded, you may very well get stuck with an outdated, dark, unpleasant room from the 1970's. If you DO have an upgrade certificate, I would ask for room 1405 by name, because it was amazing.

I can't speak to the room service, restaurants, or anything like that but I can say that the concierge was brilliant - she really gave us some good tips on places to go and things to see, and got us some dinner reservations at the last minute.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We arrived on a very busy Friday afternoon one week before Christmas. Having requested early check-in long before, we were disappointed that our suite was not ready at 2:30. With our elderly mother in tow, we were asked to wait in the lobby lounge. When our room was not ready almost an hour later, we caught the eye of a manager in the lobby who handled things exceptionally well, picking up our tab in the lounge and taking us directly to our suite. He even made a dining reservation for us in the very busy hotel restaurant at a very nice table. It turned out to be a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I love staying at Fairmont hotels, the service is unrivalled no matter where we travel. We have stayed at all of the fairmont hotels in western canada and there was something really special with the Hotel vancouver. The city has really built up around this hotel and the location is within steps to amazing shopping, vancouver art gallery, endless restaurants and walking distance to the scenic beaches of vancouver. The hotel staff were really friendly, and upon check in, we recieved a free upgrade to a delux suite at an amazing rate. We enjoyed a massive hotel room with a peekaboo ocean view and classic marble bathroom. The only downfall of the huge room was the very tight bathroom space.

We also enjoyed the lobby lounge with amazing desserts and drinks at a reasonably extravagant treat, but the ambiance and relaxation and service make this lounge a great place to unwind from the hustle and bustle outside the hotel.

The only real issue with this hotel location is the parking & traffic. Our taxi driver missed the driveway at the back of the hotel and after being caught in a standstill in traffic, we unloaded at a bus stop on the front side of the hotel and hauled our suitcases up the steps, there are no bellman on this side of the building, or luggage carts. I am not sure where the vehicles are stored overnight for guests with cars as there is no parking on site.

The food, ambiance, service and location are amazing and i highly recommend it for a luxury city retreat or shopping weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Stay in the delux suite for space, but ask for one with a jacuzzi tub to get a more spacious bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear guest,

My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experiences at our “Castle in the City”. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, but must say I am surprised that your taxi driver did not deliver you to the main entrance of the hotel. This is the covered arrival portal for the hotel where guests are picked up and dropped off and also where the bell team and the hotel’s car park are located. I am sorry that you did not get to experience our arrival process as we have an exceptional team in place to welcome our guests.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Happy Holidays!

Rick Corcoran
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,289 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,018 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance. Guests will be provided with nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing