We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairmont Gold Floor - Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fairmont Gold Floor - Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I would not hesitate to recommend the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Gold floor - the service is unbelievable and the staff I think are the best of all Fairmonts anywhere - they are kind and genuine. If you want a truly great experience cehek it out - you will have no regrets!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,514
    853
    293
    121
    82
See reviews for
562
909
149
893
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Hotel Vancouver has a good old fashioned looked to it from the outside and the rooms are suitably accoutered for this price range. The main lobby is slightly odd in that there is a central lobby bar but beyond that there isn't a real centerpiece to the entry level. Almost has the feel of a little mall, with shops down one hallway, the concierge over that way, and the main reception off another direction.

The buffet breakfasts have a very good selection of quality food (including Japanese) at fairly reasonable prices, and our waitresses were very friendly both days we ate there. My wife also made use of the spa which I think she'd give the thumbs up all in all. There is also a decent sized indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi with plenty of deck chairs and spare towels.

The service varied somewhat from okay to very good, until we left an item in the room - and then the hotel's housekeeping team really went the extra mile. We had moved on to a location in the US, but after contacting them, the housekeeping manager located the lost item and called us twice to make sure we could arrange shipping. Extremely helpful, thanks.

Service varied

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelatomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear guest,
I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with me. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that our housekeeping team was able to reunite you with your property. Should your travels bring you back to Vancouver, I hope we will have the opportunity to look after you again.

Kind regards,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The room was large and comfortable with all the usual amenities. I was frustrated by the additional cost for WiFi unless I signed up for the membership of the frequent users program but otherwise the hotel is all I could expect from a well known central hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VetDermSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Our accommodation at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver was a Fairmont Gold room at a per diem rate of CN$ 485 for the three night stay in this impressive city. The large room was tastefully decorated in a soft yellow pattern and furnished with two queen beds, a chest of drawers with a large flat panel TV on top, large writing desk set, lounge chair and adjacent table. A personal safe was located in the night stand located between the beds. The room was finished with a Keurig individual coffee service station.
There was a large closet in the foyer. The bathroom was quite small, a manifestation of hotel bathing facilities of another day. The accommodation was furnished with a full range of toiletries as well as bath and bed linens of superior quality.
The premium charged for Fairmont Gold is a sound investment. Privileges include a separate check-in, concierge staff, and a private lounge. The concierge staff is personable, professional, knowledgeable and very helpful. Complimentary refreshments are available throughout the day and, in addition, there is an honor bar. A complimentary breakfast is served in the morning as well as hors d’oeuvres in the evening.
The lobby and adjacent common areas reflect the grandeur of the halcyon days of CP hotels in Canada’s major cities and tourist destinations. Vancouver is a walking city. The hotel is located in the center of downtown and many points of interest are within walking distance. Dining venues of note include Coast, Rain City Grill and Blue Water Grill.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

It is 8 June 2012. We have arrived at the Hotel Vancouver. Here for 3 nights. We are immediately admitted to our room on the 6th Floor even thought it is still quite early in the morning. We have just completed a grueling 14 and 1/2 hour flight from Sydney. Admission to our room is much appreciated. Room 609 has a pleasant city view (intersection of Burrand St and West Georgia St) with a small rooftop garden directly beside us. There is plenty of space. It is lovely to shower and refresh. The room and bathroom are spotlessly clean. There are two comfortable sitting chairs and a good sized writing desk. Outside rain is falling. The streets are glistening wet. We go out for a long walk to keep awake. Take the complementary umbrella from the closet. Walk all the way to Granville Island. Good fun!!

2.00pm. We are back at the hotel. It is ideally located in the heart of the city. The iconic green gable roof is eay to locate. The hotel is a tribute to the grand old days of the luxury railway hotels of Canada's past. In its time it has hosted royalty. There is a character to the place. The worn arms of my desk chair only serve to demonstrate the authenticity of the period furniture and add to the general feeling of age and splendor. The room is lit by standing lamps. No overhead lights. However the window admits plenty of natural light. As much as you want during these long days of summer. We settle in to the cool and comfort and have a rest.

Very happy with our room at the Fairmont Vancouver Hotel.

Room Tip: Dont forget to join the Presidents Club. its free and there are plenty of benefits including free w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenslander65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I have stayed here a number of times over the years. About 7 times.
Each time was the same --- spotlessly clean rooms, extra amenities, professional staff, solidly run hotel. Registering on arrival and checking out were a breeze too.

To top it off, the rooms felt cozy too, with a touch of class and opulence. This hotel has it all really, there is no downside as such. I never had any problems whatsoever. The hotel has a very historical feel to it, yes it is old but very well maintained and renovated. It has retained it old world, old fashioned charm and personality whereas new hotels feel so cold, impersonable without much character.

This hotel is in a perfect area, right in the middle of downtown Vancouver. You are really close to everything, be it restaurants, sights, Stanley Park, shopping, you name it.

Yes, it is a posh hotel and it has become more and more expensive to stay here over the years. It is not cheap digs, people on a budget don't really come here, but if you have the money and/or want to splurge for a special trip, then this hotel will not disappoint, at least from my experiences.

Room Tip: Classy, cozy and clean without being snobbish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HumnaHumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that our team is delivering on our service promise and even more so to know that you are such a loyal guest. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Nice hotel, large rooms but small bathrooms! Drinks at the bar rather expensive but I suppose only to be expected from a city hotel. David on the Concierge Desk is wonderful. Knows the city really well and is well educated with local restaurants. Has copies of a lot of the menus with his favourite choices highlighted! Recommended a fabulous hairdresser across the road from the hotel.

If you are looking for a central city hotel in Vancouver this is ideal.

Room Tip: We liked our room overlooking the main street. With double glazing there was no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMF1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance until June 30, 2017. Guests will be provided nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project until July, 2017. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. We look forward to unveiling these exciting updates in July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing