We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely grand Hotel”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've always wanted to stay in a Fairmont after seeing the ones in Banff and Lake Louise. This lovely grand hotel has seen it's better days, but they are renovating so it has a chance to redeem itself. The service was excellent, the staff was very nice and helpful. I'd recommend a drink in the bar, they have a vintage menu which was nice but pricey. Would have loved to see the top floor or ballroom which is closed except for spencial occasions. Very convenient to the sky train and central city. Once we checked in, they offered extras for $100 a night which included internet in the room, breakfast, and happy hour drinks, etc. Since we were sightseeing and not there a lot, we decided not to.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmokry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,639
    917
    311
    132
    90
See reviews for
614
994
155
947
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Overall Fairmont Vancouver is a great hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the service is fantastic, the location is right in the heart of vancouver downtown, the gym is really well equipped for a hotel, the pool is really nice but it is expensive. Given there are lots of good accommodation options in Vancouver i'm not sure this one is value for money. We stayed in quite a lot of Fairmont hotels whilst in Canada and this is was the most comfortable. The beds weren't overly soft like the other ones and air conditioning actually worked in this room. If you have the money then i would highly recommend it but otherwise i'd shop around first...oh and there's no free wifi which is really strange given how much it costs...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Good:
1) it's location. it's in the heart of downtown, close to both the City Centre and Granville skytrain station
2) walkable distance to Robson
3) love the LV and Gucci store in the hotel
4) the Griffins restaurant is just so-so. i would expect more from a 5-star hotel in downtown vancouver

Bad:
1) extremely difficult to connect to wi-fi using either iphone or android
2) if youo are the lucky one that was able to connect, it was extremely slow and intermittenly get disconnected. if you are here on business and need wi-fi for work, don't risk it
3) i am a platinum member and they provide me with workout gear when i stay. it was suppose to be in the room when i check in. unfortunately, the last two times when i check in after 6pm, they weren't there. i have to call and ask for it. horrible service
4) the staff are rude and unfriendly in general. even the guy at the president desk...he's grumpy
5) room is not clean. i found hair on the bathroom floor and tissue inside drawer
6) the rooms are dated. when are they going to renovate them???

this hotel used to be very good but not anymore. perhaps it's the new management. there are many other better choices if you want to stay in a downtown hotel.

Room Tip: join their club and you get free internet, but not much use when the wi-fi is so horribly slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear guest,
Please accept my thanks for taking the time to share your feedback from your visit. I am distressed to hear that your stay was not up to par and would be most appreciative of the opportunity to discuss your experiences in more detail.
In the interim, I will be following up with my operational team here on the points that you have highlighted. Please be assured that this is not the level of service that we wish to provide and accept my thanks for providing me with your valuable feedback, through which we are better able to evaluate our service offering.
My email is sunny.joseph@fairmont.com, I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This lofty hotel in downtown Vancouver was built over a period of 11 years by the Canadian National Railways in partnership with the Canadian Pacific Railways and opened in 1939. It is truly one of the most majestic of the hotels built by the railway companies of Canada. It sits like a landmark in the heart of the downtown’s shopping, business and theatre district.

We stayed at this hotel as a fitting book end to our cross Canada rail journey. Even though a part of the front façade was under restoration, our stay was unaffected by it. We booked a Fairmont King bedroom. From the moment we arrived at the front door to the time we left, the service from the hotel staff was welcoming, impeccable and professional. The room was pleasant and reasonable in size, the furniture and bed were comfortable, and all amenities and supplies were superior. We had two armchairs and two racks for luggage (most other hotels provide only one of each). As members of President’s Club, we received complementary Wi-Fi and newspaper. The internet connection was fast.

The hotel’s interior, with its marble, brass, glass and chandeliers, invokes a feeling of grace and elegance. All areas are immaculately maintained. The breakfast room was grand and arranged to provide comfortable seating with sufficient distance between tables. The breakfast buffet includes fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juices, eggs, omelets, and other breakfast staples. Service is pleasant, attentive, and professional.

As frequent visitors to that city, we have stayed at several comparable hotels in the city. This one is a notch above, and we will stay here again!

Bottom Line: This is a perfect place to stay in Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brijesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is my hotel of choice in downtown Vancouver. The Fairmont Gold service was outstanding. Walking distance to business, shopping and restaurant options. My room was very comfortable and well appointed.

Room Tip: Choose Fairmont Gold if you are able. Very welcoming and attentive staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnyvale, ca
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Best hotel bed I have slept in. Or at least in the top five comfy hotel beds. Didn't even want to get up the next morning.

The hotel itself is grand -- it is undergoing renovations so I think I would pay a second visit after renovation to see how good it turns out.

Two blocks from the subway. Easy if you are coming from the airport.

They charge for internet. So I had to go off radar and took it as a break from everything, but I only stayed for one night. Longer stays that is going to be a huge bummer.

I am not sure whether this is just my own feelings: I have been to Canada a few times before and Canadians strike me as friendly and nice people. The front desk of the hotel gave an air of arrogance, in my opinion. Maybe I need to adjust my own 'arrogance-reader'?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chenjie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay with us here at Vancouver’s “Castle in the City”. We are very proud of our signature beds and I am delighted that you rate them so highly. I appreciate that it is a little late now but I would encourage you to join our complimentary Fairmont Presidents Club program, one instant benefit offers you free of charge internet access, this would apply at any Fairmont hotel. I will be following up with my front desk team regarding your experience as it is certainly not indicative of how we strive to treat our guests and I ask that you accept my apologies for such.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Vancouver on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The location is dynamite and........that's it. Booked in without being told the windows were covered with plastic for construction,and of course nothing else avail, 3 days in the Bat Cave ! The alarm clock although new didn't work and the telephone was a 1970's Northern Telecom that sounded like Marconi was on the other side. Elevator lights were sporadic and to add insult to injury no hot water for shower on last morning there......but you can't mistake the historic ambiance right ? Yeah that's the smell of 60 year old smoking room and 4 cans of Febreze. $16 bucks a day for internet, what a joke. The glory days of this place are long gone, total smoke and mirrors....literally.... actually too dark to see in the mirrors.Don't waste your money even if your company is on the nut. Only gave it a 2 because of the location, Never again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,281 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,600 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,009 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance. Guests will be provided with nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing