We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Canadian service in central Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Superb Canadian service in central Vancouver”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed on the Gold Floor and really enjoyed the additional special services offered here. With a family group the inclusion of a buffet breakfast, appetizers, snacks during the day and soft drinks etc really helped. Mavis was a star - ask about her when you stay there next :) Overall, loved the superb service and really good natural interaction from the entire team.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbsolutelyDubrovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,649
    919
    312
    134
    91
See reviews for
622
997
155
948
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed on Fairmont Gold and was mesmerized by the service. The service is attentive without being interruptive; refined without pretentiousness.

Upon arrival I checked in on the 9th floor and was personally escorted to me room. Once in my room, the attendant probed for my needed. The best part: she offered me a wake-up call for morning and offered me coffee service. The next morning at 6am I was greeted with the warmest and charming wake-up call and a pot of steaming hot coffee. The best of the best awaits you in service at this hotel in the heart of it all!

The rooms are beautiful and the Fairmont Gold lounge offers a great breakfast. Love the dog Mavis who hangs out on the 9th floor.

Room Tip: Stay on Fairmont Gold. Room 905 had two crystal chandeliers and a beautiful view of the art gallery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelLover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear hotel_goddess,
I thank you for your wonderful comments from your recent stay. I am delighted that your experience was so enjoyable and rest assured your kind words will be shared with our colleagues here at the hotel. I am delighted to have such a great team here at “Vancouver’s Castle in the City”.
It is my sincere wish that we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My otherhalf and I spent a few nights on the Gold Floor just before Christmas last year. As Club Intrawest members I have previously spent most of my trips to Vancouver at the Wall Centre (which has designated Intrawest floors) but thought we would treat ourselves this year and were weighing up between the Fairmont and the new Shangri-La (being regulars at their chain elsewhere), and I must say that I think that we made the right decision for us.

The hotel in general

As visitors to Vancouver will know, the castle-like Hotel Vancouver is about as central as can be: brilliantly easy to get to from the airport via the SkyTrain (it is about 100m from the station), a short stroll to the bay, right next to Robson for shopping, and pretty easy to get around to Stanley Park on a sunny day so no complaints there.

Your initial impression of the hotel on entering is luxury, think the Ritz in London but with two resident Golden Retrievers there to welcome you. The Christmas decorations were also fantastic, and nothing like the gaudy ones in NYC where we had just spent 5 days. In previous years, however, I had felt that certain parts of the hotel felt a little dated so had been put off actually staying. However, when we were there refurbs were underway, and where they had been completed things were definitely looking fantastic.

It is not a modern city hotel, so do not go expecting that (maybe the Shangri-La or Pacific Rim would be better options if that is what you like: both beautiful in a stark, modernist kind of way). It instead reminds me of the older grand London hotels, with the comfort and familiarity of your own living room.

Fairmont's "Gold"

I would recommend to anyone staying at the Fairmont to pay the extra for the Gold class rooms. Though it may seem like a lot, breakfast is included (and delicious) in a private lounge, compared to the $20+ pp charged downstairs, as well as pre-dinner canapes (in reality, there is little need for dinner afterwards). The rooms themselves are certainly incredibly comfortable, and we have found the benefit of having a club lounge when visiting any city is invaluble to give a place to unwind with a tea and a snack. Unlike a lot of characterless hotel business lounges, this is actually like being in your own home: laze around in the wingbacks, make yourself a tea and settle down with a book and a cake (well ok, it is better than my home)

The biggest benefit of the Gold floor, however, was having the seperate conceirge. Yuki and her team were brilliant: always keen to help with any bookings, give ideas and generally chat. I cannot speak highly enough of them.

We come from the UK to Vancouver every other year or so, and love it there: I think that the Hotel Vancouver will now be our first stop.

Room Tip: Gold Room I am not sure whether we were lucky with the positioning of the room on a kind of corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimJam1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2013

What a wonderful experience, I was unexpectedly upgraded from the already pestigious "presidents club" to the 14th floor where the Royals stay! need I say more....
I have stayed at the Fairmont on and off on business trips for more than 15 years. I always receive first class treatment and when, on rare occasions, an issue has evolved, I have been more than compensated for the mishap!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The service and personal attention at this traditional "castle" hotel is consistently high. It is centrally located in the best shopping area of Vancouver. While there are other very good Fairmont and non-Fairmont hotels in this city, this is by far where we prefer to stay.

Room Tip: Become a President's Club member and receive offers of upgrades at a reduced rate. Taking them u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prystal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Nice furniture, Comfortable bed, Nice plasma Tv, Location is very good. Restaurant also good, nice shopping area, Louis Vuitton is in the hotel. Room service excellent. I must say that i had a corner suite, which was very nice.tay at this Hotel for one night. My room was very nice,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPN65Montreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have stayed in many Fairmonts. Had a very nice room on the Gold Floor. It was nice, pretty, with lovely molding. Comfortable bed and furniture. The hotel common areas felt a little small compared to the Fairmont Empress, or the Royal York but still elegant. The location is good for Robson St. stuff--pretty central. Staff was friendly. The one annoying thing is all the freaking fees--expensive parking--different taxes--destination fee (what's that?). So with all the extra costs plan on adding another $75 to whatever rate you 're quoted. I'd stay again if I got a good rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHOSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,289 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,018 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance. Guests will be provided with nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing