We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

stayed here on a bussiness trip earlier this month and enjoyed my stay, the hotel is about 75 years old but kept in excellent condition. the check in was quick and staff very helpful upon arrival. the rooms were of good size and kept very clean.the resturant was under construction with a temporary one used on the 15th floor with a good selection of food. one feature of the hotel was the welcoming of pets which is unnusall for a upper end hotel. the location was very central to downtown Vancouver with Robinson St. 2 blocks away and Granville st.a short walk away. would definetly stay here again , although the price is a bit pricey pending on time of year ,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Armindo_13,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Whether for a night or a week, we always love helping business travelers make the most of a visit to Vancouver. It sounds like you enjoyed your time with us and found that everything—from accommodations to service to cuisine—met high standards you’ve come to expect from a Fairmont hotel. Our $12M renovation will be complete later this year, and we look forward to sharing our new look with you during a return stay.

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,074 - 2,080 of 3,339 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my mum stayed on the Gold Floor for our first trip to Canada, after a long and tiring flight we arrived outside this beautiful hotel and after getting our bags sorted we checked in upstairs on the Gold Floor. I loved the fact we had our own separate floor and check in lobby, check in was easy and the staff were so informative and friendly. After being shown to our room which was classically decorated and just beautiful we were able to relax. We had a room on the corner of the hotel so we had double aspect windows which was fantastic for the views out over Vancouver. We loved the fact that we had a separate private lounge just for the use of guests staying on the Gold Floor, this was homely and cosy and I could quite happily sit in there alone reading a book without feeling awkward. The unlimited supply of free tea/coffee/hot chocolate and a fridge full of soft drinks to help yourself from; all gratis was great!

The breakfast and breakfast room was superb, we stayed here for four nights and each morning we enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast, you could help yourself to an array of cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, pastries, Danish, eggs were cooked in a different style each day some scrambled, coddled etc. All accompanied with delicious sausages and bacon. There were even waffles and maple syrup, this was utter heaven for me being a self confessed "foodie". The choice of teas were good and everything was clean and extremely well prepared, staff went out of their way to be helpful and always with a cheery disposition. Mavis the Labrador who could usually be seen in the lounge or wandering about was a darling; and I think she has liking for bacon! This made for a really homely feel as I did miss my two dogs while away.

When the afternoon came there was a lovely spread of afternoon tea treats which included scones, with jams and cream and a selection of cakes; which went down very well! The evening brought canapés and this was more than just a plate of nibbles the whole of the kitchen side was laden with crudités and various dips, cheeses etc. There is no chance of going hungry whilst staying on the Gold Floor best of all it's all inclusive of your room price.

This hotel is just stunning inside and out, although admittedly downstairs in the main hotel can be very busy at times the staff throughout are superb, nothing is too much trouble.

Whilst staying on the Gold Floor Darren the floor manager made us feel exceedingly welcome, was able to give us advice on our visit and always made time to chat when he was free. If only I lived in Canada I would without a doubt make this hotel a regular treat. Everything was marvellous and can't rate it highly enough.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank DorsetBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We enjoyed a short break at the Hotel Vancouver - a very good rate presumably due to the alterations taking place. The room was large and comfortable. The hotel is calm and grand, just slightly faded ( in keeping with its age) but very elegant. The staff were kind and helpful. We didnt eat in the restauraunt - which is beautifully situated but very expensive. Plenty of alternatves around the well positioned hotel - Gastown, Granville Island and Denman all easy walking. The pool and jacuzzu were in a lovely position but also need an upgrade.

Room Tip: Go high for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Kathy g,

Thank you for your review. As one of Vancouver’s most iconic hotels, both in appearance and reputation, we take great pride in our long history. “Calm,” “grand,” and “elegant” are three excellent ways to describe the one-of-a-kind atmosphere and décor. It is my hope that you found everything you needed during your stay, both within the hotel and in the nearby destinations and restaurants. As you noted, we are in the midst of a $12M restaurant, bar, and lounge renovation, and hope to welcome you back soon to see all the changes.

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here from 16th to 22 April 2014.

This hotel is in an excellent location, close to shops, restaurants, waterfront, transport. Everything in walking distance,

The hotel is under doing renovations at this present time.


Rooms: Old charm , big, clean, ok bathroom.

Breakfast: nice venue on the top floor with amazing views. That's is where it stops. Buffet Breakfast was poor, same thing everyday. Hopefully it will change when we return in 2 weeks time.

Reception: quick checkiin. Our room was available early, which was wonderful after a long 17 hour flight. But I must comment on our checkout. The lady on duty, was not pleasant, didn't ask us how our stay was, she really just wanted us to leave, very moody.

Concierge: Excellent service, knowable of the area and very helpful. A big mention to Trevor, what an amazing and passionate man about his job,. He was very helpful to us. Always a huge smile, nothing was a bother to him.

Overall, this is a beautiful, old charming hotel with lots of history.

We will be back in two weeks time, only because the location is excellent for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karin1959_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear karin1959_2013,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed yourself and found so much to love about our hotel, including a convenient location and charming accommodations. I am concerned, however, that your service was inconsistent. We pride ourselves on being warm, helpful, and professional, and your checkout experience does not accurately reflect how we typically operate. I will see to it that the issue is addressed before your next stay.

Additionally, if you are interested in alternative breakfast options, we do have a full in-room dining menu here. Please let me know if there’s anything else I can do to be of service.

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is an older building so it does not have the most up to date décor but by no means is it out of date. The service levels are excellent. The staff are available for any of your needs and are very helpful. The rooms are clean and have functional layouts. It is a little confusing to get in with your car but that is not the hotel's fault. Overall this is a very enjoyable hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: The Gold Floor service is amazing and an excellent add on should you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dylanj2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have stayed at the hotel a number of times and have always enjoyed it.
Great central location close to everything downtown.
Staff is extremely helpful and efficient.
Pool and gym clean and useful.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Hotel Vancouver is an amazing, charming hotel right downtown!! Walk to anywhere! Enjoy their restaurants and the wonderfully kind staff! Stroke the doggies! I love this place.......truly, I always feel at home here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Edie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,477 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,803 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,664 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £165 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing