We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
“Quick trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Location is amazing for easy access to downtown - shopping, the ocean. Pool amenities were good but not as great as a lot of other Fairmonts. The staff was really helpful, remembered me and treated me well. Some construction was happening in the hotel so I imagine it'll be even better on future visits.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    853
    293
    121
    82
See reviews for
562
909
148
892
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This Fairmont Hotel is centrally located and a very beautiful hotel with lots of history behind it. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The welcome present of chocolates and macaroons was a wonderful touch, made me feel very welcome. The staff were outstanding from the moment I checked in till the time I checked out, I almost felt like I was at home. Great pool and fitness area as well too. The two dogs that they have roaming around the lobby are quite unique, they are super friendly and a great stress reliever to just pet them! It doesn't matter who you are, they treat all guests who come through their doors like gold. There are a couple of other Fairmont properties close by, but this one is definitely worth checking out!

Room Tip: The elevators are located centrally on each floor, try to get a room on the far end of the floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Operations at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear TSwift0013,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed account of your stay with us! You touched upon many of the elements that make The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver an extraordinary place to visit. Our rich history coupled with modern amenities, for instance, creates a delightful contrast. A moment with our canine ambassadors, Mavis and Beau, always seems to brighten the day. And for even more of the “gold” treatment you alluded to, be sure to visit the Fairmont Gold level during your next visit. I appreciate you taking the time to write, and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had just one night in the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver as part of a rail tour package. It was excellent. Some way from the railway station (that needed a $10 taxi ride) but otherwise a good location and a brilliant place to stay. Other recent reviews say it all: attentive staff, first class maintenance of facilities, beautiful rooms, very fast wifi (but chargeable at one of two levels according to whether you want videos or just email!) and so on. The canine staff at the concierge desk were an amazingly nice touch although perhaps some guests would be surprised to see dogs at work like this! Actually, they seemed to be sleeping when we arrived ...

I have just two small complaints.

First, the plates for your hot breakfast were stone cold and so the food cooled down quickly. I mentioned this to our waitress, Cindy, who without hesitation explained that people should not be at risk of burning themselves on hot plates. Well done for a quick explanation (and thanks for being so competent and helpful with everything else, Cindy!), but I would have thought in the modern world a simple notice and napkins to hand would have been sufficient customer care. On the other hand the breakfast "layer pots" (fruit compote, nutty muesli and yoghurt) were divine, and needed no hot plate for eating.

Second, we had a welcome (and quite romantic) drink in the 15th-floor bar, but the stunning cityscape views were punctuated by two very bright and extremely large television screens, showing (as you would expect) banal advertisements for irrelevant products and services. I think I saw some soccer at some points on one of them, and some ice hockey on the other, but PLEASE - if people want to watch TV give them a TV room ...

So, it is really down to the smallest details, Standing back from the details, we have been travelling on the road (and by air and sea) for more than eight weeks now, without stopping long anywhere, and this was definitely the very best experience so far. Well done, everyone at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver! You are right at the top of our list.

Room Tip: Do go and have a pre-bedtime drink on the 15th floor - it is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa,Ontario,Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is centrally located so a car isn't necessary to see much of the city since most important sites are within walking distance. It isn't necessary to have car or taxi to get to or from the airport. The hotel is spacious, nicely decorated clean, comfortable and efficient. Would consider returning again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Operations at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear James B,

Thank you for choosing the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, and I am very pleased to hear that the accommodations and location were to your liking. As you mentioned, we are in the heart of downtown, in close proximity to many of the city’s most popular attractions. Travellers and residents alike discover something new to love about Vancouver with each passing day, and I hope you are able to return to continue exploring. The rest of the hotel staff and I would be happy to make recommendations! Until next time.

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Outstanding hotel property in every way. Attentive staff, tasteful decor, great location. Restaurant / bar on top floor offers great views of the city.
Only complaint related to inconsistency of wireless internet connectivity in guest room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our room was beautiful and the staff were absolutely outstanding in customer service and helpfulness. They were very professional and extremely fast in taking care of any requirements we had and the food was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed 5 nights - The room was well appointed, clean and very quiet. Staff were courteous and earger to please. Hotel is going through renovations - but all in all - that didn't affect my stay. I didn't dine in the hotel as there are so many more affordable options close by. If you like to keep supplies in your room (wine, water, fruit, etc.,) request a small fridge - and they'll deliver. The refrigerator in the room (as well as the tray on the side table) is equipped with sensors and items moved will be billed directly to your credit card. (Not a fan of this tactic)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50andlovingit53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Operations at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear 50andlovingit53,

While we are pleased to learn that the renovations were not a disturbance, we do hope that you decide to visit us again upon completion. A new and improved dining experience is coming to The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, and its menu and ambiance will certainly be worth savouring. Furthermore, we apologize for any miscommunication regarding in-room amenities. To discuss charges or ask any other questions, feel free to reach out to me at sunny.joseph@fairmont.com. Thank you, and I sincerely hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance until June 30, 2017. Guests will be provided nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project until July, 2017. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. We look forward to unveiling these exciting updates in July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag and TravelUp so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing