We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even Better the Second Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #32 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even Better the Second Time!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here about 5 years ago and enjoyed it for its ambiance and location and found it even better on our recent visit. This is a first class hotel that has the trappings of the elegance of a time long past yet all the modern conveniences.

Our room was large and beautifully furnished, very comfortable, quiet and well appointed.

We loved the breakfast, great variety of healthy food with elegant service.

The concierge service was excellent.

All in all a great stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    873
    298
    123
    84
See reviews for
578
924
153
915
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel's location is just perfect. Love the atmosphere of this hotel, might not be the most modern hotel in town but its charm makes up for it without a doubt. Staff is extremely welcoming and Professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Perfect location in Vancouver. All staff is fantastic. We had a Jr. suite on 7th floor. It had a lot of space. I can kind of recommend this hotel, although I have not stayed at the other two Fairmont's in Vancouver. However, there was the following problems:
---the bathroom in the Jr Suite was completely terrible. Even though the Jr Suite is very large by most standards, the bathroom was tiny. The toilette is 4 inches from the sink. It is not functional. There was NO counter space in the bathroom. NONE. A horrible bathroom. In a JR Suite. Not expected.
---The pull out couch was complete crap. Horrible. We ended up asking for a roll away bed for my 70 pound 9 year old because the pull out couch was miserable for her.
---The pool water was freezing. maybe Canadians like it that way but I didn't.
---There is only one very expensive restaurant as of July 2014.

I would still recommend this place but it was not the best Fairmont by any means.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, good location and first rate staff, the highlight was meeting Mavis.

Comfortable room and bed, the only negative was the lack of sound insulation. You could hear every conversation on the hall corridor and our neighbours early morning alarm actually woke us too!

Would definitely return if we come back to Vancouver.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debbiecostley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I do hope that the renovations provide some much needed improvement to the Fairmont Vancouver. This hotel has some great assets including staff and locale however it is lacking a much needed lobby and pool area especially during the summer months. I ended up using the Fairmont Waterfront pool during the hot week we were there and really loved the light filled lobby and eating area. The Fairmont Vancouver is a bit dark and dated, but the staff is helpful and accommodating. Our room was pleasant and very quiet but the view over the pool area, which is very run down, meant our curtains were closed. The bathroom had a large counter and was clean but it was tired looking. Overall I had comfort and a great sleep, both very important to me but when I had time around the hotel there was no where to go. Hopefully the renovations will solve this problem once done.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The public spaces were under construction. The corridors were garish and well worn. Even the "new" interiors look like a cliche.
Staff and food was great. Great location and an Architectural gem but the interiors don't come close to the Architectural beauty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Operations at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mitchell S,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. As you noted, we are currently undertaking a lobby

rejuvenation project, which, upon completion later this year, will bring a fresh, new look to

one of Vancouver’s most iconic addresses. Though our service and cuisine hit the mark,

we regret to learn that the décor left you feeling disappointed. It is an ongoing process

to balance our hotel’s unique character with modern luxury and convenience, and we

appreciate your honest feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back

after the updates are complete.

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was the first leg of our family holiday in BC from the UK. We chose the hotel because of a penchant for the grand old hotels. The location was tip top. We opted for the gold floor because of the lounge facilities and daily breakfast. First, the positives. The beds are fabulous, almost certainly the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever experienced. Second, the staff. Canadians are naturally polite, friendly and helpful. The Gold floor staff were all A+ on all these fronts. Proactive and constructive, their recommendations really enhanced our 3 night stay. A couple of minus points to note. The room, while okay, was a bit tired and the bathroom was in real need of overhaul. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and thanks to the Gold floor staff.

Room Tip: Go for the gold floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark7cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,129 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#23 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance until June 30, 2017. Guests will be provided nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project until July, 2017. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. We look forward to unveiling these exciting updates in July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing