We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic service”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a really nice hotel. However, at the moment the lobby is in a state of repair as they create a new restaurant. The rooms are large, we had two on the 12th floor that were interconnecting, 1205/1207 with views facing out to the bay. The decor is classic and elegant and finished to a high standard. The bathrooms though are small with a shower in the bath. Also, we had to adk for robes and slippers.
The service is fantastic, everything comes up really quickly and everyone is so helpful and charming and polite. There's a great bar on the top floor too, where they are serving breakfast until the lobby is finished, that has fantastic views over the city.
My son and husband went to the pool and they wete not impressed with this.
They said the pool is in need of renovation and the jacuzzi had a layer of froth on it and a rim of dirt.
When they complained to the manager he said they could use the pool at the Ocean Front Fairmont and would arrange a gift in the room of out next stop, the Fairmont in San. Francisco.
We are still waiting for the gift!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view towards the water and on the top floors. We had interconnecting rooms because we hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Operations at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Stacey049,

Thank you for visiting us and for taking a moment to recognize the timeless elegance of the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. We are celebrating our 75th anniversary all year long, and it is still a wonderful feeling to provide guests with an awe-inspiring experience. Furthermore, I am pleased to hear that you were able to visit The Roof Restaurant + Bar for even more Old World luxury and a breathtaking view of the city. I would also like to thank you for bringing the issues with the pool to our attention, and feel free to contact me at sunny.joseph@fairmont.com to discuss further. I hope it was an unforgettable visit overall, and it would be lovely to see you again.

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,644
    919
    312
    133
    91
See reviews for
619
996
155
948
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

From the moment of pulling up at the hotel I was pampered and spoiled by the dedicated staff of the gold floor rooms, the hotel within a hotel.....I would highly recommend a stay for any "special" occasion in your life! I will certainly remember this visit to Vancouver forever!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sue-anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We loved this hotel, it offered us an unique experience. This hotel has an exciting past and is described as the Castle of Vancouver. My family enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms were clean and beautifully appointed. I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bridgewater
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Wonderful staff. Very responsive. Restaurant a bit pricy. Would be happy to return there. -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We started our 3 weeks holiday in Alaska in Vancouver as a family and all met at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. We had a suite which was a bit tired but suited us fine as a family of 5.
The location is perfect right in the center of town, good restaurants and close to the buses that take you to attractions around the area.
Concierge desk was very efficient, I cannot remember the tall lady there but she really made everything possible for us. The dog at reception is just awesome and brings that human touch that big hotels don't have.
The hotel was under renovations in the lobby but apart from the fact that we apparently missed the wao effect of the lobby, it did not bother us at all.
What did bother us and sadly spoiled our stay was the staff at breakfast. No matter what time of the morning you got there, empty or full restaurant, the hostess took forever to take your details and sit you. Then you wait… and wait… and wait. Being in the industry, we just got up, located the service stations and did our own serving of juices, coffee, etc. Nobody even noticed, except the last day when a horrible "in charge" looking lady eyed us doing our thing, lifted her shoulders, shook her head but did absolutely nothing about it… really? Luckily on that last day we were helped by an awesome asian looking lady (sorry I cannot remember her name) who made every effort to provide the best service possible and looked after us like gold. Management, you need to look into that, because really breakfast is the most important part of the day when all your senses are awake and being treated badly by a service staff spoils the rest of it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdequekervandermerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Operations at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear kdequekervandermerwe,

Thank you for providing this valuable feedback. We appreciate your willingness to share your thoughts as we continuously seek to improve the guest experience. I hope that our central location and concierge service made it easy to explore the best of the surrounding area, and it sounds as though our canine ambassadors, Mavis and Beau, were there to greet you upon your return. They’re a part of our family here at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, and as you said, they certainly add a personal warmth to our lobby. I am disappointed to learn that this personal touch did not always extend to your breakfast service, however, and I wholeheartedly agree that a pleasant, nourishing breakfast sets the tone for a wonderful day. I hope that you choose to visit us again for what will surely be a more accurate representation of our legendary service. And if there is any way I can assist you, please feel free to reach out to me at sunny.joseph@fairmont.com. Thank you and I hope to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Best hotels ever in our 3 week trip around Canada.Also stayed in Banff Fairmont, Jasper Fairmont, Kamloops Fairmont, Lake Louise Fairmont, and Whistler Fairmont. Would recommend these hotels to family groups as well as singles and couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank SurelyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here about 5 years ago and enjoyed it for its ambiance and location and found it even better on our recent visit. This is a first class hotel that has the trappings of the elegance of a time long past yet all the modern conveniences.

Our room was large and beautifully furnished, very comfortable, quiet and well appointed.

We loved the breakfast, great variety of healthy food with elegant service.

The concierge service was excellent.

All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor as the elevators aren't as up to date as the rest of the hotel and tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Operations at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear rothmla,

First of all I would like to thank you for keeping us in mind over these past five years and choosing to visit us again. It is always a pleasure to see guests return after an enjoyable experience at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. Though we have made widespread improvements since your last stay with us, the old-world elegance of the Castle in the City is still very much alive, as you mentioned. Furthermore, I am pleased to hear that you found your accommodations, dining and concierge to be exceptional. We hope it will not be so long before we are able to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,282 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,602 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,011 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance. Guests will be provided with nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing