We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Nearby Hotels
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
US$530
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$497
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Granville Island Hotel(Vancouver)
US$395
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$483
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$386
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$418
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$407
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$405
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$377
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,526)
Filter reviews
3,526 results
Traveller rating
1,887
1,035
350
152
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,887
1,035
350
152
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorgrand old hotelpresidents clubconcierge deskclassic hotelart gallerybeautiful hotelmini barthe heart of the citypacific rimcentral locationrobson streetstanley parknotch8loungedowntownconference
Filter
Updating list...
2,096 - 2,101 of 3,526 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

When booking this hotel I thought it would have nicer rooms. Upon check in I was advised the room that I had paid for wasn't ready. I agreed to take the smaller queen size bed when I entered the room I was disappointed at the decor. Its very outdated. The washrooms looked as if it was from a 3 star hotel. I wasn't impressed. Could hear a baby crying in one of the adjoining rooms at night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Sikhdeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Operations at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Sikhdeep B,

Your feedback is much appreciated. Our intention is to honour the heritage of this historic property by preserving the elegance of an English castle, while enhancing the guest experience with modern conveniences. It is disappointing to learn that the accommodations were not to your liking, and it would be my pleasure to assist you in finding the perfect room or suite for your next visit. The luxury of Fairmont Gold, for instance, would surely change your perception of a visit to Hotel Vancouver. Feel free to reach out to me directly at Sunny.Joseph@Fairmont.com. I would be more than happy to assist. Thank you.


Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is, like many of this chain, in an historic building in the middle of downtown. The room was noticeably larger than most older hotels. It has beautiful period furnishings, with the antique styled desk discreetly wired for lots of computer/phone plug-ins. The bath is updated with modern fixtures but still fitting the overall turn-of-the-century decor. Unfortunately, due to some exterior restoration underway, my window was covered so there was no view. (understand that old buildings require constant maintenance). The breakfast buffet was superb and constantly attended and replenished with fresh and hot offerings. Maybe the best breakfast I've ever had in any hotel. If I had to nit pick any flaw, it would be slow service at the reception desk.

Room Tip: The hotel is undergoing some renovations, so check with the front desk about what side of the building the works are on.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank april s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very traditional hotel. Great location to everything, staff are more than welcoming. I Surprised the girlfriend with a upgrade to the suite. the décor is very traditional, but it has all the mod cones one can ask for - wifi, flat screen TV's etc. indoor swimming pool and restaurant on the roof top.

Only disadvantage with this hotel was that they refurbishing the main Entry and the restaurant on the ground floor.

I will however return once the refurbishment is completed.

Room Tip: No need to get an upgrade if you are only in town for one night as the hotel is fantastic no matter which room type you take.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golf_Focus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

its location is fantastic but the property is old carpets worn out ..need refurbishing.Good spread of breakfast. Took family on holiday near to shopping and restaurants in Vancouver.Value for money probably not !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sachin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Operations at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Sachin S,

Thank you for visiting our Castle in the City and for expressing your thoughts on your stay. We are celebrating our 75thanniversary this year, so yes, this is indeed an older property. Timeless luxury and old-fashioned traditions are alive and well here at the ‘Castle in the City’, and the hotel has become a part of Canada’s national heritage and identity. That said, we nonetheless seek to appeal to modern travellers and contemporary sensibilities, as well, with amenities such as a state-of-the-art health club, wireless internet and a completely renovated lobby dining experience coming soon. We hope you choose to visit us again to discover even more of what our hotel has to offer.

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is a lovely old hotel that celebrates its history with photos of the building in different stages of building and different eras everywhere. The rooftop restaurant is well worth a visit - the food was delicious, it was served beautifully and the view is amazing. Not your usual generic rooftop venue!
It's easy to walk to the waterfront, shopping, etc. and an Avis location is right outside, so rental cars are a breeze if you want one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelot36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews