We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Ijamsville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for one night post cruise with our extended family. Great location, excellent staff. Alan, at the concierge desk, was amazing. He arranged an elegant dinner for 12 to celebrate my parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary in one day! We had a beautiful private room overlooking the water and menus customized to the event. We were blown away.

Hotel was nice but seemed a little dated. Our first room was a small handicapped room with a very musty smell. We checked in very early so it was probably one of the only rooms ready that early. We went to the front desk and asked if we could change rooms when another was was available. They apologized and immediately upgraded us to a nicer room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Debbie B,
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. I am so happy that our staff were able to look after you and your family and especially being able to look after the finer details of your parents wedding anniversary dinner.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the city and to our hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,613
    899
    305
    129
    90
See reviews for
603
970
154
938
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LaQuinta, CA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The location is excellent with easy walking access to all the major downtown sites. We stayed in a suite that was a lovely large room (no wall separating the bedroom from the sitting area) for $700 per night including all the taxes ($150 of the total). The Gold level is an additional $50 per day and you get a full breakfast and appetizers in the afternoon, but you have to pay for your drinks. Darren and Caitlan in the Gold Lounge were extremely helpful and pleasant.

This is a hotel that is very elegant, but I think over priced. If you are on a budget, try the Blue Horizon on Robson street, which has nice large rooms and balconies. The Fairmont is good for a special occasion, or when you just want to splurge like we did. We also had a bad experience with the woman who checked us in at the President's desk who was quite rude to us and our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Operations at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear zzTraveler,

Thank you for taking a moment to recount your experience at our hotel, and I would first of all like to apologize for any rudeness you may have encountered from our staff. We pride ourselves on friendly, personalized service; rest assured this is not indicative of a true Hotel Vancouver staff interaction. I am happy to hear that the accommodations and amenities were to your liking. As you mentioned, a visit to the Gold Level is indeed extravagant but the luxuries provided are most certainly commensurate with the price. To ensure that you’re getting the most from your stay, please do not hesitate to reach out to me at Sunny.Joseph@Fairmont.com to discuss. I would be happy to speak with you. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temse, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed with the family (4) for three nights in this old-fashioned hotel. An unpleasant smell gets to you when walking down the corridor to the room. Housekeeping: poor standard - we found drugs on our kids' room ... Viagra pill on the gangway ... Dusty room... Internet is not free of charge .... An outrageous daily rate of more than CAD 15 ... Quality of the restaurant is doable, but again pricy as is breakfast... A great dissapointment ... Luckily the weather was great and had a good time outside in town.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is gorgeous and the staff were so friendly and helpful in every way. We opted for the concierge level b/c it made sense for breakfast for our children but we ended up eating two meals there most days (and desserts, of course). The food was yummy. My children loved the hotel dog and we loved that the dog was there, too! The hotel was elegant yet relaxed--a perfect combination. Our rooms were comfortable and the location was good--we walked often. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slarusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here on business and loved it! The staff members were very attentive and my standard room was extremely comfortable. I loved the "hotel dogs" who can be found in repose in the lobby or on the 9th Floor. I only had breakfast in the hotel, but it was very filling and could easily be breakfast and lunch put together. The hotel is well-placed for business and holiday travel. I did have some occasional problems with slow internet connectivity in my room which was an inconvenience. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 9th floor where breakfast is free and snacks are available all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Operations at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear MomRocco,

Thank you very much for sharing the details of your visit. It is wonderful to hear that you found the hotel to be a comfortable home base during your business travels. Our canine ambassadors, Mavis and Beau, are a part of the Fairmont family, and I am thrilled that they made your experience that much more pleasant. The hotel is well-positioned in downtown Vancouver, and you mentioned, and I hope you had some time to explore this amazing city. Either way, we would love to have you back for business or leisure. We will soon be unveiling a new dining concept, and dinner there is not to be missed! Thank you once again and we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver was a great place to stay. The staff is outstanding and prompt. From the moment you walk in, you are greeted with friendly faces and a hello. They have an adorable Labrador retriever at the concierge desk. We checked in early, and although our room wasn't ready yet, they completed the check-in process, stored our bags and we were off to enjoy the city. When we returned, our room still wasn't quite ready, so they offered us a complimentary drink in the lounge. The rooftop bar/lounge has amazing views and fun, unique drinks. We did not eat at the hotel as we wanted to experience other restaurants on our list. Rooms are clean and wifi is free with their loyal club card. The beds were soft and very comfortable. The only downfall is the refrigerator in the room is for the mini bar and it is censored so there is no place to put leftover food or to keep drinks cold. All the amenities you can imagine with a PRIME location right downtown! The train station is 2 blocks from the hotel, so we took the train from the Vancouver Airport downtown for $2.75. Robson Street, Gastown, Canada Place are easily in walking distance. The hotel is very clean, the décor is classic and historic, but most of all, the staff was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mcmurray
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Awesome Hotel, walking distance to everything Vancouver
Check in took a little long but up grade was given, very nice room, staff very helpful, food at Roof top hotel was amazing!!! Hotel was under renovation but I would not of even notice if they didn't tell me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,242 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,958 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance. Guests will be provided with nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing