We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major Reno needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Major Reno needed”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This is the worst hotel room I have had the misfortune of staying in for as long as I can remember. The room borders on being what I could only describe as a dump. Carpet is worn and stained, tub/shower hasn't been renovated in at least 15 years. The shower head is so old I can't remember if it was the 80's or 90's when they stopped making those. Add the hit and miss front desk service and you get an overpriced embarrassment. The name "Fairmont" obviously doesn't have the same meaning as it once did.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Broxxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Broxxman,

We are very concerned by your recent experience at our hotel. It sounds as though every part of your stay failed to meet our usual high standards, and we would like to speak in greater detail at your earliest convenience. We remain committed to your satisfaction and hope to determine how such uncharacteristic accommodations and service came to pass. Please contact me directly at kevin.kelleher@fairmont.com. I look forward to speaking soon and starting the process of restoring your trust in the Fairmont name.

Sincerely,

Kevin Kelleher
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,613
    899
    305
    129
    90
See reviews for
603
970
154
938
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Excellent location in Vancouver! Eveyrthing is in walking distance! Concierge Desk cannot do enough for Guests! A+ Service from Front Desk, Bell Desk and Room Staff. Would definitely stay here again! Much better service then received at Fairmont Calgary in April. Enjoyed


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Lynn G,
Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent stay here at Vancouver’s Castle in the heart of the City! I am delighted that we had the opportunity to look after you while you were in Vancouver and hope to see you back here again in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I really can't say enough positive things about this hotel. Yes, the decor is dated to some, elegant and old world to others, and there were renos going on while we were there, but that didn't affect our experience at all.
Upon check in we were upgraded to the Fairmont Gold floor (9) where there is a check in desk and private dining/sitting room for guests. Breakfast is complimentary on this floor serving continental and a small selection of hot food. During our stay this consisted of sausages
and bacon, poached eggs and breakfast potatoes.
The best part about this was access to comfortable lounges tea and coffee plus snacks. iPads and eReaders were also available upon request and a PC workstation.
By far the best aspect of staying here was the superb staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be staying here again later in our trip and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Vancouver.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieEggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontVancouver1, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear AussieEggy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Fairmont Gold accommodations and private lounge access, as well as exceptional service throughout your stay. It’s an honour to know you would recommend our hotel to friends and family. As you noted, we are in the middle of a lobby rejuvenation project, which is set to wrap up in the next few months. We hope to welcome you back upon completion for another relaxing, luxurious stay in the heart of downtown Vancouver.

Sincerely,

Kevin Kelleher
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

For a special occasion or if you want to be pampered in Vancouver, consider staying at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. The hotel staff are very friendly and efficient. The location in downtown Vancouver is excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Michael C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you we had the opportunity to host you at our iconic hotel for your special occasion and that you left feeling pampered.
Your kind words will be shared with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to our “Castle in the heart of the city” in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This iconic downtown hotel is not only beautiful and chic, but the service is outstanding. The staff is over the top in friendliness and prompt and cheerful. They obviously love their jobs. In room dining is prompt, amenities are impeccable. Their yellow lab mascot at the Concierge was an added touch of fun! Ideally located next door to the Vancouver Art Gallery, diverse dining and Rodeo Drive style shopping made it a great choice for my stay while visiting family!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Sharon G,
I thank you for your wonderful comments from your recent stay, it certainly sounds like you loved our wonderul city centre location. I am delighted that your experience was so enjoyable and rest assured your kind words will be shared with our colleagues here at the hotel. I am delighted to have such a great team here at “Vancouver’s Castle in the City”.
It is my sincere wish that we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

My thanks to you once again for taking the time to share your feedback with me.

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selma, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great place to stay in the heart of a wonderful city. Service is impeccable and amenities are excellent. Close to restaurants and shopping. Many famous people have stayed in these spacious and lovely rooms.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Presidents Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarmerCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear FarmerCarol,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you chose to stay at our iconic hotel during your visit to Vancouver.
Your kind words will be shared with my team, and please note that as we are celebrating our 75th anniversary this year we are be looking at ways of enhancing our history narrative for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our “Castle in the heart of the city” in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Spent 4 days in this Hotel. Did not rent a car (very smart), did not even take one taxi except to go back to the Airport. Enjoyed walking everywhere, as I ate a variety of great tasting food all recommended by the hotel concierge who hands you a brochure of all restaurants in the vicinity. Don't watch your diet, stay there and walk everywhere. Ted

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Edward K,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. I am delighted that we had the opportunity to look after you when you came to Vancouver, the city really is a dining heaven and as you noted, we have a wonderful location from which to explore. I will be sharing your kind words with my team here and look forward to having you come and stay with us again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,242 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,958 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance. Guests will be provided with nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing