We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and Elegant: Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Gracious and Elegant: Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel and I had the opportunity when I was speaking at a conference there. It is the kind of hotel that is effortlessly elegant and very gracious. The rooms are big and very comfortable. This is not the hotel for you if you want trendy or edgy but what I want most from a hotel is comfort and style and the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver delivers. Excellent food was served at the conference in the hotel which is always a good sign. In addition, the bar was extremely comfortable and welcoming. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,649
    919
    312
    133
    91
See reviews for
621
997
155
948
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We recently spent two nights in this hotel on our way to Vancouver Island and a further night upon return. The hotel was opened in the 1930's and has a colonnial style. It very much has an air of elegance and grand old design. The rooms retain some of that style and complement it with the features you expect to find in a 21st century hotel. It's centrally located in downtown Vancouver and reasonably close to the waterfront and Stanley Park. The hotel was very comfortable and we very much enjoyed the experience. However, beware the cost of 'incidentals'. Dining in the hotel is very expensive. The cost of room service and the use of any of the in room offerings is almost beyond the reach of most people. The biggest shock came in the form of overnight car parking charges. We were given a parking voucher to use the adjacent underground car park. I naiively assumed the parking was complimentary. It cost me 82CAD for two nights.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

This is a large hotel on Georgia Street with a bit of history and character. We stayed there four nights as part of a package tour. Our room on the 11th floor was clean, comfortable and pleasantly decorated. It was also well equipped with TV, radio, coffee maker, iron, bathrobes, etc. There was plenty of hangar space but for some reason no drawers or accessible shelves for jumpers, socks, etc.

The buffet breakfast was unexciting and nothing special ... and certainly not 5*. The service at breakfast was also hit and miss depending on where you were seated. Many tables remained uncleared and several of the waiting staff spent much of their time chatting. Their toaster also wins the prize for the slowest we have ever encountered in the Northern Hemisphere!

The hotel is in a good location and handy for many of Vancouver’s tourist sights but we doubt if we would stay there again. For this sort of money we suspect there are much better value hotels in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVancouver, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 19 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and hope you enjoyed your visit to Vancouver. We appreciate your candid feedback regarding in our dining room and have investigated the issue noted and have made adjustments so that we can provide better service in the future. Best Regards, Rick Corcoran, Hotel Manager, The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Spent three nights at the Fairmont Vancouver following a Rocky Mountaineer tour. We enjoyed this hotel very much. It is an older hotel, of course, but our room was in lovely shape except for a sticky bathroom door. We had a very nice view of the city from the 12th floor. The bed was extremely comfortable. Had dinner in both Griffins and the 900 West Lounge. Both service and food were excellent. Hotel is in an excellent location to walk Vancouver. And their two beautiful friendly golden lab mascots are there to welcome you every morning. How nice!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PasCaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My husband and I were lucky enough to attend the 2010 Vancouver Winter Games last February, and we enjoyed 12 days at this amazing old grand dame of a hotel. The staff are incredible. The concierges can do anything for you, and I DO MEAN ANYTHING, because they got us reservations at amazing restaurants, and made special arrangements for us during the Olympics that you can hardly get in ordinary times. Our room was cavernous and beautiful, newly redecorated, and spotlessley clean with a huge closet. The hotel staff accommodated us in every way, they brought us a fridge for our medications and other items, the room service was excellent, the food at tall the restaurants was wonderful, and the servers were great. Serge was a particular stand out. He was a our breakfast/lunch waiter in the restaurant, and he gave us lots of great tips on where the locals like to go. We had wonderful massages at their lovely spa, the indoor pool was so clean and beautiful, and we went there a few times. Their location, in the heart of Vancouver was great, and we were right in the thick of the action for the nightly parties in the downtown area. BUT, it was not annoying when we wanted to go to bed. We had an interior room, and so you heard the party outside only faintly. So, that was a win/win for us! We have travelled to Vancouver several times over the years, and when we go back to Vancouver, we will never stay anywhere else. The Fairmont spirit is alive and well at this facility, and the Hotel Vancouver is a marvelous hotel!

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SisterMoon_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This is a grand old hotel building in a good central location. Unfortunately the decor is getting tired and the whole feel is that the place is in need of a refurbishment.

The reception and concierge service was excellent but housekeeping and room service were less impressive. To illustrate, we had just arrived in Vancouver after a long flight from Australia - the receptionist managed to get us into a room on our early arrival so that we could shower and rest before our relations arrived later in the day. We were very happy with that but less happy when someone from housekeeping woke us up asking when we were going to vacate the room.

The rooms were cleaned promptly and well but on several occasions things were not replaced and then we had problems rectifying the situation. For example - the coffee machine in the room is a lovely idea that other hotels would do well to emulate but the brownie points for putting it in disappear when the coffee used is not replaced during the standard room service visit requiring, in our case, four phone calls to rectify. There were problems with our room phone. It constantly showed a flashing light indicating a message when there was none. Also the short cut buttons did not work seeming to send any call to the restaurant. Both issues were reported but no apparent effort was made to rectify them during our stay.

Our room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable but the air conditioning was incredibly noisy. We were located in the original bit of the building and the windows are not double glazed so we also had a lot of traffic noise. Our travelling companions were in a more modern room where this was not an issue. If you need peace and quiet to sleep you may want to check which room you are getting.

All in all it was an ok stay but if I was to return to Vancouver I think I would try elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Excellent hotel with outstanding service. I had a need for ice packs because of a knee injury and they moved a second small refrigerator into the room at NO charge. We stayed on the Gold Floor and the personnel could not have been more accommodating! GREAT hotel.....could not find anything negative.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHinBucksCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,288 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,606 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,014 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance. Guests will be provided with nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing