We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Convenient”
Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Opus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Spent weekend here following conference at another hotel. Very pleasant change with excellent staff reception and well-furnished, quiet room (#415). Convenient access to Canada Line across the street with many Yaletown restaurants and bars just steps away.

Would definitely consider Opus for next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tandemcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,624 - 1,630 of 2,398 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

We used Priceline to book at Vancouver hotel (4 star) and for the first time it was not a good experience. The carpet in the room was very well worn and needed to be replaced. Most upsetting however was the noise. At midnight at party started somewhere in the hotel building (not another room) and it was very noisy. We could hear people screaming but more annoying was the constant "boom boom" of the bass. When booking a 4 star hotel I expect to be able to sleep. Finally around 2 am I called the front desk, the person who answered was apologetic, but nothing changed. I called just before 3 at was transferred to a manager. I was very frustrated at this point and just asked when it would stop. He old me at 3 and that it was a "boutique hotel", not a 4 star and that there were parties until 3 am every Friday and Saturday. His attitude sucked basically too bad we don't give a _____ about the noise or the fact you can't sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueMachine367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear BlueMachine367, thank you for choosing OPUS Vancouver and forwarding along your comments. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise that disturbed you during your stay. During that evening there was a private function in our Lounge which should have been more closely managed, and in turn less disruptive. We have already followed up and taken corrective measures to make sure this type of situation does not repeat itself. Our priority is providing the best guest experience which includes a peaceful night's sleep. We want to make this right and welcome you back. If you could please contact me at your earliest convenience at ngandossi@opushotel.com

Sincerely

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I had a fantastic experience! My husband and I escaped from Seattle for the weekend to celebrate my birthday. Upon arriving in our room, we found cupcakes and a note from the general manager wishing me a happy birthday - such a wonderful surprise. All of the staff were helpful and friendly – they gave great restaurant recommendations and directions to places we wanted to check out. The room was spotless and very sleek yet inviting. I can’t say enough wonderful things about it. I have no doubt we will be back again soon…thank you so much for such a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmelanieblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were a bit worried about staying at the Opus with a small child, as it is hip and trendy. We've stayed twice in the last 6 months. I hate to let the secret out but both times we felt comfortable. Many other families were at breakfast our first trip. The second trip in February showed a similar menu (despite the claim that they change it up) and terrible service. Someone must have called in sick because the staff wasn't keeping pace. My advice is to go to any of the coffee shops nearby unless you are not super hungry or have plenty of time. Our rooms have been standard the first trip, then larger on the second trip and overlooking the main street. Always hip and colorful. The best part of the Opus is the free use of the ipad, which saved us roaming fees. We'll stay again, just not to eat there! Also men, avoid the restroom on the garage level as women can see through the glass into the men's room.

For families, the Opus is near several parks which is super important to us! Plus you can hop on the train, or walk to nearby restaurants, groceries, and high-end pastries. Perfect for us!

Room Tip: Use the free ipad to save on roaming charges! Make sure you clean out your history though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Another amazing stay at the Opus Vancouver. The staff are helpful and friendly, location perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim_sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Best part of town! Don't need a car, 1/2 a block from Canada line to airport ($4US and quicker than a $35 cab). The hippest part of town with bars, clubs, and restaurants just a few steps away. Great rooms, fun bar, great restaurant, and fabulous friendly staff. We had a fireplace and I-Pad in our room. Wow!!!!!!

Room Tip: Get an inside (courtyard room). They are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BjornCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

i'm well familiar with the montreal branch of opus, so when i decided to visit vancouver, i went with what i know (i did shop around a bit, and opus had a great promotion so it was very well priced among hotels in its class)
boutique hotel, hip/modern decor in rooms and public areas, comfortable/quiet/spotless room though a bit small. the floor to ceiling windows in the bathroom make you go wow initially, afterwards i was annoyed to have to raise and lower the shades everytime i needed privacy. i'm being picky here -- really it was a very sexy room.
i didn't try the food at the restaurant but i did get drinks there friday night. the place was packed. crowd was mostly european and middle eastern. dj was awful, not much dancing, but the drinks were good.
my one real issue has nothing to do with the hotel itself, but with the location - yaletown (my feelings on the neighborhood are mixed). it's a bit far from all the attractions, it's hard to get a non-vegan or non-gluten-free muffin with your morning coffee, and the shopping is quite limited (mostly yoga studios, hair salons, dental offices and pet spas line the blocks -- should give you an idea of what this neighborhood is like). there are numerous restaurants and nightlife options though. also there is a train station across the street from the hotel.
other pros: nice toiletries, bathrobes, business center with computers and printers for free use.
i didn't have much interaction with the front desk staff so i can't comment on how nice or helpful they are. also did not check out gym.
overall, i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mk761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,069 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,859 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,602 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,673 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Address: 322 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £158 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2017. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing