We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the experience”
Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Opus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the experience”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

In one word FANTASTIC. Everyone in this great hotel really wants you to enjoy your stay at the Opus hotel. All staff are friendly and will take the time to talk to you. We had a great experience here and would recommend.it. Close to Skytrain, excellent restuarants nearby and in the heart of Yaletown. Valet service was excellent. Cann't think on one negative comment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValnGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,624
    336
    75
    21
    17
See reviews for
165
852
173
612
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed here on my way back from a lengthy trip to California. I was exhausted, the Vancouver weather was taking a turn, and I just didn't feel like trying to get to the island that night. I booked through Hotel Tonight (an app I LOVE and recommend by the way), and showed up about 20 minutes after making the booking.

The front desk experience was first rate! The lovely gentleman who checked me in offered me a glass of sparkling wine and a reasonably priced upgrade. I've stayed in A LOT of hotels lately, and I must point out that the staff at Opus understand the fine line between excellent customer service that is personable and authentic without crossing over into territory that is exhausting. It is rather remarkable how many check in experiences I've had of late that have been marred by over zealous hotel staff. This Opus experience was a pleasant change for the better.

The room itself was quiet and pleasant and had a lot of nice touches. An ipad, lots of mini bar and snack goodies, and a fireplace! I had a bath right away, as I wasn't dressed for the snow storm that was starting, and appreciated the comfort and warmth of the room.

The only room drawbacks were the odd assortment of TV channels and the hard to ignore artwork. My room was equipped with a Telus TV setup - what I have at home. I was glad not to have to guess how to work the remote, but the channels on offer were pretty terrible. There was news, sports, and local channels, plus local channels on time shift, What this meant was I could watch Tim Allen in 'The Santa Clause 3: The Escape Clause', in various states of progress thanks to time shifting, and not much else. Why do hotels in general think only men are watching TV? This is a trend I've noticed a lot: porn, news, sports and not much else...boo. As for the artwork, my room was decorated in one of 4 themes, and apparently the scary looking leather bear on my wall was some sort of french food critic. The style of the picture was Lichtenstein-esque pop. I found it hard to ignore to the point where I felt I had an unwanted guest in the room.

Moving on to more positive things. At some point in the early evening someone came by my room with a jug of water and a glass. A lovely touch. They also, rather inexplicably, gave me a package of garbage pale candy. I was confused as this flew in the face of the understated sophistication I was enjoying.

I ordered a meal from room service and it was lovely; some sort of Italian white bean soup and a cheese plate. Along with a bottle of wine I found in the room, this was just the thing to help settle me and set me up for a good night's sleep. The presentation of the cheese board was really quite special.

Check out was just as smooth and well handled as check in, and soon I was on my way to the nearby sky train with a bottle of water in hand for the journey.

Thank you Opus!

Room Tip: Ask for photos of the various 'themes' so you get a room that is aesthetically right for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliet p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel as it holds fond memories of past stays. On the pricey side but so lovely and beautiful views of yaletown.

I am currently at the hotel soaking in the tub trying to recover from the over powering air system that they have scented. It is so strong I am having a hard time breathing. Unfortunately to leave the window open only seemed to encourage more of this over powering scent into the room. So if you have allergies don't stay here. I don't know if I will again which is sad to me. Wish they would turn it off. Oh well customer isn't always right.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evergreen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Evergreen87,

Thank you very much for choosing OPUS and for taking the time to post your feedback. We were very happy to read how much you have enjoyed your previous stays at OPUS, but wanted to apologize for any challenges our scent program may have created more recently. The white tea/thyme scent is in the lobby and hallways, but is completely controllable on each individual floor. If you could contact the hotel, we will ensure to note the preference in your profile, and have the system turned off on your floor for your next stay. Thank you very much for returning back to OPUS, and we hope to continue to be your hotel of choice when in Vancouver!

Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at ngandossi@opushotel.com if you have any questions or requests and I will be happy to assist in anyway possible.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We chose Opus as our hotel for our wedding. From the initial reservations to check out, we received nothing but the best service from all staff members - more than anyone could ask for. Lilian was a pleasure to work with and she was very accommodating to all of our needs and concerns. Loved the feature Jaguar XJ car service that drove the lot of us to our ceremony, better than a limo!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coBy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Close to everything, great place to stay. Beside Skytrain and in the heart of yaletown. You can walk anywhere from the hotel. Lots of great places to eat and drink nearby.

Service was excellent. Friendly helpful staff who know the area.

Room was nice. Comfortable bed, iPad & samsung tablet avail for you to use, robes, kurig, all other standard hotel ammenities.

I'm sure we will stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraLeeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed for my third (or fourth) time and once again, I loved it! The staff was very accommodating, the room was nice and had a fireplace and of course, the location in Yaletown was best - near the water taxi.

Room Tip: Take the one where you get to use their cell phones (if you do not live in Canada).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Only stayed at the Opus one night on a business trip. Overall, very good hotel,high levels of service, great Yaletown location. Italian restaurant adjacent to the hotel. Room was a bit small but overall very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james19501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,720 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,578 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,520 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 90 in Vancouver
2,468 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Property: Opus Hotel
Address: 322 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2017. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing