We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average experience”
Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Opus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver BC
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An average experience”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed for one Saturday night in January 2014 as a guest of a hotel guest. I had read the hype about it being a trendy boutique hotel, and was not sure what to expect. Location is great in many ways, being in Yaletown and on the Skytrain. The only parking is valet, which I found at $37 a night a little pricey. But I'm not up to date on valet parking rates. Room seemed average -- no problems, but nothing really special. TV sound cut off regularly for 30 seconds at a time, which was annoying. Noise was a problem. Yaletown is party central on the weekend, and revellers in the street were noisy until 2 a.m. Given this constant, I can't imagine why the Opus did not invest in high end soundproof glass.( I've stayed in a highrise Motel 6 on the I 405 in Los Anegles, right near LAX. A 16-lane freeway under the window and no noise at all.) What is the point of all the bells and whistles if noise prevents one from sleeping? Staff were very pleasant and efficient, but for me, overall the short visit was nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Get a south-facing room, high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Canayen,

Thank you sending in your feedback from your recent stay with us. I wanted to right away sincerely apologize for the outside noise that disturbed you during the night. Providing a peaceful night's sleep is an important part of the overall experience at OPUS. We do have a wide range of rooms in different locations within the property, with some that face an inner courtyard completely isolated from any downtown noise. We would love to have an opportunity to have you return and stay in one of these rooms, to showcase the true OPUS experience. Please reach out to me directly at ngandossi@opushotel.com and I would be happy to arrange the reservation for you. Thank you once for taking the time to send us your comments, and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,696
    355
    76
    21
    18
See reviews for
179
890
179
632
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Opus hotel provided me with an amazing hotel experience. The staff were attentive and friendly and went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. They generously donated a free night to me and a spa day as I am a 35 yr old battling terminal cancer. They pampered me beyond belief and allowed me a night of relaxation to take my mind off my poor prognosis. The rooms were exceptionally clean, spacious and the dining was amazing. Hats off to the Opus hotel, I highly recommend them for their generosity and amazing service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The Opus is an excellent hotel in downtown Vancouver. Superb location on Davie St near the hockey and football stadiums. Small but really comfortable rooms, well designed with L'Occitane toiletries.

Extremely helpful staff plus a very good coffee shop next door.

Stayed at a few good boutique hotels in New York (Rivington etc) and this reminded me of those. Recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tobym20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

My Husband surprised me for our 13th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed for one night. All the rooms are updated, new, and modern. Each room has an iPad and phone which can be taken off the property and help guide you around the city. The hotel also provides a house car to take you to nearby restaurants but it is a one way trip. The house car is a 2014 Jaguar. The hotel also provides bikes if one would like to bike around the sea wall. The hotel also gave us a complimentary Chardonnay wine bottle with macaroons because we were celebrating our Anniversary. The hotel has a gym but it is a very small room. The hotel is situated by Yaletwon. Robson street is very close by and easy to walk. Restaurants and shops are all close by. We received a complimentary continental breakfast with our stay at La Pentola Restaurant. This included coffee, tea, juice, muffins, scones, pastries, boiled eggs, yogurt, nuts, and fresh fruit. The yolks inside the boiled eggs were not cooked properly. The scones were okay, not that great. Yogurt and nuts were good. We did not try anything else so we cannot comment on their menu. Excellent stay, excellent service! We would come stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A and Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear A and Z,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send in your comments, and for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary at OPUS. We were thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us! The complimentary hotel car service in our 2014 XJ Jag that you mentioned, is quite popular with all of our guests. We appreciate your feedback on the breakfast items, and apologize for some of our shortcomings. We will ensure that our Chef is made aware of your comments so that we can make any necessary improvements. Congratulations once again on your 13th wedding anniversary, and thank you for choosing to stay with OPUS!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed here on New Year's Eve and it made for a great start to my year! The room furnishings are top notch. Very comfortable bed, Keurig coffee maker, and high end toiletries. My girlfriend enjoyed the use of the iPad. She had never had the chance to use one. Very clean room. I work in the lodging industry and gave them a thorough inspection and found no issues. All staff I encountered was very friendly and helpful. Thank you all for helping make my New Years great! Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Opus hotel which is ideally located in the Yaletown neighborhood of Vancouver. It is located in an area that has access to several of the best restaurants and nightlife spots in Vancouver.

The thing that really stood out to me was the stellar service I received from the every staff member at the hotel. They were super friendly and eager to help with any inquiry I had. They even helped me with ideas on where to pick up some gifts and offered to call me while I was out if anything else came to mind. They made my stay exceedingly enjoyable.

The hotel has a very cool and inviting feel. The room had great amenities and was very comfortable. I definitely left with the feeling that Opus would be my hotel choice in Vancouver for any future trips.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank todcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I visit Vancouver frequently for work and always stay at they the opus (and have neglected to write a review until now). Everything about the opus is top notch! The service quality is very strong throughout all that work at the hotel, the gym is small but well stocked, the bar is modern and has a great wine and cocktail list, the rooms are well maintained, great quality of amenities and very comfortable beds.

The staff remember your name, and as a frequent guest I am welcomed back with various treats in room upon arrival.

The location is perfect, right across from the skytrain and steps away from great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear losttravelling,

Thank you very much for sending in your comments and for your on going support! We were thrilled to read how we are your hotel of choice for your frequent travels into Vancouver. Please do not ever hesitate to reach out to me directly at ngandossi@opushotel.com if I can be of any assistance, and we will now look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to Vancouver!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,814 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,661 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,573 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,554 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Property: Opus Hotel
Address: 322 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2017. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing