We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding expectations”
Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Opus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
“Exceeding expectations”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This boutique hotel wowed me from making the reservation till departure. The beautifully decorated room had attention to detail. The staff made me feel welcome and at home. I stayed there about a year ago and even the concierge remembered me. Small little things that make a big difference, like a bottle of ice cold water on arrival and the ice bucket already in the room gave meaning to being a boutique hotel. WIFI and parking were complimentary,The restaurant was superb and I will definitely dine there again. Overall did I not only want to go back, but made me wonder why I did not go there sooner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Daniel B,

Thank you for deciding to stay with OPUS, and for letting us know how we did. We loved hearing how we exceeded your expectations, and will ensure that the entire team sees your comments! Thank you very much for your kinds words of support, and we will look forward to welcoming you back to OPUS in the future!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,624
    336
    75
    21
    17
See reviews for
165
852
173
612
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Yes the Opus is ideally located and the rooms are nice
Other than that, a real fiasco
Service is extremely poor and if your room overlooks Davie street, good luck with the noise (cars and people). You can literally hear people screaming on the streets and the endless noise of cars. It is a busy area, especially on WE
Breakfast was included. We arrive at nine on the first morning to be told we should come back in 30 mn. Half the tables were empty though. When I insist, I am then told I can get some food and then eat it in the lobby. I persisted. We got a table. However the buffet was practically empty and the food left really no good
I told guest services about it. They said it was terrible but did not do anything else about it

On that same day, we dropped by the hotel after 1 pm. Room had still not been serviced

Also before coming we had asked for help to rent a car from Vancouver airport and a drop-off in the US. I was told it was not possible and that I would need to take a train to Seattle. I went on line. 2 clicks later I had a car
Etc etc

Really not what you expect of a boutique hotel

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jbeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear jbeebee,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with OPUS, and for then taking the time to pass on your feedback to us. While we enjoyed hearing your positive comments regarding our location and rooms, I was surprised and disappointed to hear of your experiences at the hotel. I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory stay we provided you. The various points you have listed will be reviewed with our senior management team to ensure that we are always providing the best boutique experience possible for every guest. If you were to reconsider staying at OPUS once again, please contact me directly at ngandossi@opushotel.com, and I will personally ensure that your reservation process, and return stay with us, is an exceptional one. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review, and we hopefully will have another opportunity to welcome you back to OPUS in the future, and in turn allow us to showcase the true OPUS experience.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent five nights at the Opus and found everything about it to be excellent. We loved our room and surprisingly, it was quiet at night, even though located in the bustling Yaletown, which has every type of restaurant within walkiing distance - also, a two minute walk from the seawall and wonderful views of water and boats.Highly recommeded!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe King on the 7th floor which was North facing, spacious, quiet and very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruchira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Ruchira S,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to pass along your feedback. We were thrilled to read how much you enjoyed the property and it's central location! The seawall is extremely popular with locals and tourists alike especially in the summer, and we were glad to hear you had the time to enjoy it while in Vancouver. Thank you again for sending us your comments, and we hope to welcome you back to OPUS in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I treated ourselves to a night in Yaletown last week. We chose the Opus for the location and the good reviews. We were not disappointed. My wife was surprised there was no full length mirror in our room.

We checked in a bit early and we made to feel very welcome. Our room was ready and we used the valet parking service provided by the hotel.

Our room was very comfortable and in the middle of a huge selection of restaurants and entertainment. The bed was super comfortable and the room was very quiet considering the busy location of the hotel. We walked to one of our favourite restaurants within 5 minutes and enjoyed a great dinner with a view of the marina and hundreds of people enjoying a beautiful Vancouver evening.

The Opus is definitely on the list for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We traveled to Vancouver for the first time and chose to stay in this lovely boutique hotel. The location is great for this pedestrian friendly city. We were near the waterfront which provides entertainment- the boats, the people, scenery. The staff was very friendly and made suggestions for two wonderful restaurants. Our room was lovely and featured an iPad that we could take as we walked around the city. The toiletries were awesome- peppermint shampoo, cilantro conditioner and rum shower gel. We had an excellent experience in all respects and will not hesitate to return o this gem.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieb423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I come to Vancouver often to visit family and friends. We live in Calgary and have driven to Vancouver several times. Other times we fly in and rent a vehicle. We decided to look at flying and taking the public transit system as our mode of transportation. The Opus is located across the street from the Yaletown Skytrain station and is on the Canada Line Skytrain route 25 minutes from the airport. We took the train each day to visit and shop all over the Vancouver. The location is perfect, the Opus is clean, fresh and great value. We ate great breakfasts there each day, homemade granola and yogurt with an assortment of fruits and breads that we looked forward to. Great service and very friendly staff at the Opus. This will be our hotel of choice going forward.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe king room on the 7th floor overlooking Davie Street which is a vibrant street unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebDarcy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear DebDarcy96,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. Our guests continue to rave about the convenience and easiness in using Canada Line from the airport to get to OPUS, as you had mentioned. We were very happy to read as well how you enjoyed your overall experience with us, and that we are now your hotel of choice! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we will look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to OPUS.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Recently stayed at the Opus during our first visit to Vancouver. The attentiveness of the staff was the most notable positive during our one week stay. They were most helpful in providing information on the Vancouver area and ways to navigate the city. The housekeeping staff kept the room exceptionally clean and did an excellent job of touching up the room at the end of each day. The restaurant is very good for both breakfast and dinner. The location was excellent because of its proximity to several restaurants; however, it can be a bit loud on the street side during the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear mikaddy,

Thank you for choosing to stay at OPUS. We were delighted to read how our team's service was the highlight of your stay with us! We will ensure as well to pass along your special recognition to our Housekeeping Department. Thank you again for your kind words of support, and we hope to welcome you back to OPUS in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,725 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,522 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 90 in Vancouver
2,471 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Property: Opus Hotel
Address: 322 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2017. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing