We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Opus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Renton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

The Opus is the place to stay in Vancouver if you want a central location, wonderful service and a very nice room. It's a smaller "boutique" hotel so you get very personalized attention and little extras from the staff, all of whom are delightful. We never waited more than 5 minutes for any room service, the rooms were kept spanking-clean and tidy by the daily maid service and the food at the restaurant was wonderful. The hotel is located in Yale Town which is an older, more ecclectic part of the city filled with great restaurants, lots of shopping and a more initmate atmosphere than the bussel and hussel of newer urban environments.

Getting to the Opus is one of the best features of it's location. Forget a car unless you intend to visit areas outside of the central city. We have been to Vancouver before taking the car but found it was really not necessary since most of what is worth seeing is within a 30 minute walk or water taxi. We noticed the Opus offers free car service from the Hotel to places within the City, but we never took advantage of it since everything is so close and walking the city streets is one of the joys of visiting this beautiful city.

If you're flying to Vancouver forget a cab or car to get to the hotel. There is now the new awesome Canada Line built for the upcoming Olympics that opened last summer. This fancy new rail system takes you directly from the international airport to the downtowm waterfont with many stops along the way, one of which is literally across the street from the Opus hotel called the "Roundhouse Station". The ride is about $3.50 one way and takes about 20 minutes. The trains come are regular intervals and we never waited more than 5 minutes for a train. All day passes are available too.

From the Opus hotel you can walk down the street to catch the water taxi that will take you to many other tourist destinations like Grandville Island and the Science Museum. The ride itself is fun and should be considered when moving about the City. There is a great store nearby called Urban Market where you can get groceries and other rare finds of great deli quality. But I digress.

Back to the Hotel.

The rooms are nicely appointed with modern lines and pleasing color schemes. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board, safe, bathrobes were standard features. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens. My only complaint was there was limited drawer space for your clothes (only two) but the closet did have a few small shoe shelves to put things on which we had to do. There is no ice machine... room service provided the ice when needed. I would also forgo using the bathrobes, they tend to be on the small side and very scratchy. But aside from these small issues there was nothing not to like about staying here.

The staff are unlike any other hotel staff i've ever experienced. They truly are interested in making sure your stay is pleasant and enjoyable. Wonderful to talk with and helpful with information on the city, the airport or other aspects that might affect your stay. They were one of the main features about why I really love staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gumberilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,560
    322
    75
    21
    17
See reviews for
153
818
172
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

This is one of my favorite boutique hotels. I've also stayed at OPUS Montreal. OPUS Vancouver is a fantastic mix of decor, location, nice taste, accomodating staff, and overall great feel. I love coming time and time again to stay in a different room - since they all have a unique personality. Kudos to the staff for all the nice touches. One of my favorites was the cd mixes available in the room. Nice picks.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilldempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

I was upgraded to a corner suite as I was entertaining some customers to a hockey game and drinks before. The staff are amazing, the location is great and the rooms are beautiful.
I travel and stay in Hotels 15 nights a month and this is the top pick for me.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bim1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed at the Opus hotel for 3 nights at the end of Dec. The hotel is in a great location - if you arrive at YVR just hop on the Canada line, get off at Yaletown and cross the street to enter the hotel! The SkyTrain allows easy access to all of Vancouver so it's great to have the station so nearby. The hotel itself is very hip and has friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are a nice size although the window into the shower/bath from the bedroom did cause us much amusement! The business center allows free internet access and printing. If you're looking for a good restaurant nearby try 'rtl' (Regional tasting lounge) on Mainland street - great tapas! Only downside is that Yaletown is busy and the road was a little noisy...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raelarder1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We arrived at the Opus after a 14.5hr flight from Sydney at 9am in the morning and were welcomed by wonderful staff, we were upgraded and given an early check in which meant that by 10am we were enjoying a long luxurious bath and watching the city life go by. The rooms and staff were excellent i would highly recommend this hotel.

Since the opening of the Canada Line you can get from the Airport to Yaletown station in under 15mins, the Opus is just across the road....Its so convienant when you have luggage and don't know your way around the city!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller141162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

The worst thing about our stay at the Opus was the fact that we only had one night there!
The service was friendly, helpful and very professional. The deluxe king-sized room was beautifully appointed, including L'Occitane bath products - mmmm! The location couldn't be better - opposite the Canada Line and close to Yaletown boutiques, galleries and restaurants. The breakfast, delivered to our room arrived on time and completely as ordered - and delicious. A lovely visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviebiz
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

I love the Opus. I work in the entertainment industry and most of my colleagues stay at the same (so-called) 5 star hotel. I came upon the Opus when that hotel sold out during one of my many trips to Vancouver. I will never stay anywhere else! The Opus offers a personal touch that other hotels don't offer while having all of the ammenities you'll find anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moviebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Property: Opus Hotel
Address: 322 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2017. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing