We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad We Found This Gem!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenbrier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenbrier Hotel
Ranked #69 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glad We Found This Gem!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

I am glad I did not take heed to bad reviews on this hotel. The Greenbrier was recommended to us by Amtrak rail, as we were arriving very late at night to Vancouver and needed something handy and reasonable. The staff was awaiting our arrival at one a.m. at the door and helped us in with our luggage. He was super friendly and kind. We were impressed. Our rooms, yes plural, were huge and clean. I have to admit they need some updating but we were very comfortable. Our bedroom had two very comfy beds. The bathroom was huge and clean. We had a full kitchen and the living room had a TV. I was able to make free local calls. We asked for a late check out and that was no problem at all. I did check out the breakfast and it was well gone through by guests but I was able to take delicious muffins and coffee back to our room. We will be back as it was close to everything in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
We are so happy to hear from you.
We have someone 24h a day at front desk and we want that our guests fell very welcome here. Our staff love helping our guest, giving a good service to make you enjoy not only the city of Vancouver but also your stay at the Greenbrier Hotel.
Cleaning is another very important point to us. We are so glad you could see that. And we will always do our best to give our guest an early check-in or late check-out and storage your bags if you need that after check-out as well.
Thank you so much for your review and we really want to have you back soon.
Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    79
    70
    32
    41
See reviews for
54
100
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in September. The location is quite good being in Robson Street and its not loud at all. The hotel is clean although needs a bit of updating. We were quite disappointed with the breakfast as we had chosen this hotel over another thinking having breakfast supplied would be useful until we got our bearings. Breakfast was a few stale tasting sweet buns mixed in with a couple of savoury, juice and weak coffee. I wasnt expecting 5 star breakfast but if you are offering it in a package you think there will at least be a loaf of fresh bread to toast or cereal on offer.Other than that an ok hotel for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chellebelle7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
We are very sorry about that.
We do offer a small breakfast in the morning and at the check-in we let our guest know what we offer. As muffins, bagels, toast, jam, cinnamon buns.
Sorry if it didn't happen.
We did some updates and one of them was a coffee machine that we got. The coffee is always fresh and stronger than what it used to be.
We really apologize for that.
Thank you for your review. It's always good to hear from our guest and try to improve, do not making the same mistakes.

Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naracoorte
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel given some of the other reviews. If the staff on reception had been slightly more accommodating I think we would have loved this hotel. Can't imagine why they do not have a toilet/bathroom other than the ones in the rooms. The breakfast was rubbish, the pastries were stale, but that doesn't really influence my review, I didn't book the hotel just for the breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
I am so sorry to hear that from you.
I really don't know what's happened as we have a great and friendly team.
We apologize for any problem that you had. We did some updates in the breakfast area to make sure that everything will be always fresh.
I am glad you liked our hotel. Thank you for your review.

Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Greenbrier is in Robson street and has great restaurants close by. It is a few blocks from the train station, was probably a 20 minute walk with our bags and downhill. Bus's go past all the time, the hotel is walking distance to stanley park. It is nice and central with shops close by and a fabulous wholefood market. The rooms were large, quiet and had a full kitchen. The staff were friendly and there was a free breakfast each morning. I's recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank debbied4763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for Choosing the Greenbrier Hotel.
We are so happy to hear from you.
We are located in a very nice location and as you mentioned the public transport works so well up here.
The Stanley Park is one of the best attractions in Vancouver and it's only a 10 minutes walking. We have lots of other places close by. As restaurants, English Bay, Gastown, Canada Place. Which is so convenient for our guests to just walk while on the way they can see lots of other interesting things in the city.
Most of our rooms have a kitchenette and living room area. It's also one of the reasons that our guests choose The Greenbrier Hotel. As they have a spacious room and they can cook any time if needed.
Again, thank you so much for your review. we really appreciate it.
I hope to have you here again.

Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Perfect location directly on Robson St., restaraunts, stores etc right there. Customer service was outstanding, they really cater to everything you ask for. The hotel room is maybe a little older, yes,but big clean rooms. I think if you go there not expecting a 5 star hotel, you will definately agree this hotel is a definate bargin. We would definately return if we were come back to Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for choosing The Greenbrier hotel.
We are a small hotel but we are always trying to do our best to make your stay comfortable.
We are in the very heart of downtown and this is always so convenient to our guests, as most of the beautiful places in Vancouver are walkable.
Thank you for recommending our hotel. We really appreciate it.

Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend trip to the beautiful city of Vancouver, BC. Unfortunately, our room at The Greenbriar Hotel on Robson Street was anything but "beautiful". When I booked with this hotel, I was enticed by the wording "recently renovated, chic, boutique style hotel" and I was definitely swayed by the pics that were provided of the rooms on their website (I note now that another review posted for the Greenbriar here on Trip Advisor shows the same furnishings and that review was written nearly 5 yrs. ago). When we arrived around 10:30 PM, the first tip that something might be amiss was when the gal at the front desk asked if we would like to pay for our complete stay right then (we have never been asked this by any hotel before ... especially not for a stay of more than 1 night!) ... we of course said no thank you to that question. The next tip that we were in for a bumpy ride was when we were told that our room was located on the 3rd floor and that there was no elevator (there is absolutely no indication on their website that they do not have one). I have to wonder what would happen if someone w/a disability were to arrive at their doorstep only to find that they had to climb 3 flights of stairs to get to their room. When we finally hauled our luggage up the 3 flights and opened the door to our room, we thought "Wow, this is really big!" We essentially had a 1 bedroom apartment (I have since learned that this building was originally apartments). Then we proceeded into the room and that's when we started noticing all sorts of things that were less than desirable, such as: paint peeling from the wall behind the sofa in the living room; frayed carpet at the juncture of the kitchen flooring and the living room carpet; rusted door hinges in the bathroom (although they had hung relatively new doors throughout); paint drippings all over the bathroom floor from the walls/ceiling/baseboards; cracked sink/bowl in the bathroom; no stopper for the bathtub (which meant, showers only ... I actually ended up purchasing something the next day so I could take a bath); no kleenex type tissue in the room; no screens on the windows (although we're told that screens aren't really necessary in Vancouver because they don't have mosquitoes ... I wonder what we wld have done if 1 of the many pigeons that were hanging out on the roofline right above us had decided to walk into our rooms because we had to have the windows open???); a handle on the toilet that was nearly impossible to engage, even for my husband ... for me, it was so difficult to press down that I literally had to use both hands and lean against the wall to gain leverage in order to flush the toilet (side note ... this actually did break completely off on our last night, which necessitated our having to reach into the toilet tank itself to lift the mechanism that allowed the toilet to flush); and an almost inedible "complimentary" continental breakfast offering of dried up bagels, muffins, no fresh fruit, a "juice" that was probably actually just Tang, and coffee (after the first morning, we found a delightful crepery up the street and ate there the next 2 mornings). Truthfully, when I started noticing all of these issues and then walked into the bedroom area, the thought of a potential for bed bugs did cross my mind! (Note: but there were no bedbugs, thank goodness!). In addition, the info online indicated that our kitchenette would be equipped w/a microwave, which it was not. They also stated that there would be cooking utensils, pots/pans, dishes, etc. We actually only found 2 plates in our cupboard and 2 glasses ... there was nothing to cook in or on (the gal at the front desk did mention that if we wanted any of these items we should let them know and they would then give them to us). There was only a small garbage can in the bathroom and no garbage container at all in the kitchen (we were forced to use the small plastic grocery shopping bags for what we wanted to dispose of). There was no rug in the kitchen and no hand towels and/or paper towels either. The only redeemable quality we could find in this hotel was that the front desk staff were all very nice and helpful. And it wasn't like we only had to pay $90 a night for this room (we actually paid $481 for the 3 nights). Bottom line? We left after 3 nights feeling totally ripped off.

Room Tip: I can't think of any reason why I would ever recommend this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rockrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We arrived in Vancouver late only to find that we had been bumped to a small room at another hotel for the first night. They did, however, check us in the next morning and they upgraded us to a suite with a pretty nice view. All staff were polite, friendly, and helpful. Our suite was clean but only contained 1 small trash receptacle in the bathroom. We loved the location. We were able to walk to the cruise ship terminal at Canada Place with our rolling suitcases. There were many restaurants nearby. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike N Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are so happy to hear that you liked our hotel. We always try to do the best to see our guests happy.
Our hotel is very well located with lots of attractions and restaurants close by.
Thank you for your review/recommendation and we are looking forward to having you here again.

Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#65 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#23 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbrier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbrier Hotel

Property: Greenbrier Hotel
Address: 1393 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Greenbrier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenbrier Hotel is located in the middle the famous Robson Street in Vancouver, just steps away from great shopping and dining. All within walking distance to Stanley Park, Convention Centre, Canada Place, English Bay, and most Vancouver attractions. Friendly front desk staff are available 24hours a day to assist you with every aspect of your trip, from planning tours, dinner reservations and any other arrangements. Most of our suites are furnished with: pillow top mattresses, kitchenette**, living room*, dining table*, sofa bed*, LCD TV with local channels, complimentary high speed WiFi and free local calls. Complimentary coffee/tea is available in the lounge, daily housekeeping and a secured underground parking***. *Subject to room type **Kitchen utensils and crockery available upon request (subject to availability). ***Available at additional cost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenbrier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing