We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to downtown, quiet, and great value.”
Review of Greenbrier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenbrier Hotel
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Greenbrier has rather a faded elegance about it - it must have been quite a lovely hotel in earlier days - but it's a little worn around the edges, now. However, rooms have been upgraded with new carpet, paint, bathroom furnishings, etc., and it's a homey and quiet place to stay; and it's VERY good value given the huge size of the rooms and the truly comfortable beds.
It's right close to the downtown scene on Robson but just out of the busiest area; there's secure parking in the basement level, a real bonus in the city; and the young people who staff the front counter and room services are all warm and friendly and very helpful. All in all, it's a good place to stay.
(We would definitely stay here again IF there was an elevator, but three flights of stairs from the carpark to our third-floor room was more than my partner, a senior, would want to have to do again.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Robson (which is a busy street); rooms that face north overlook a small gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybug_and_BigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were impressed with the space offered at the Greenbrier. While not the most modern hotel, we couldn't fault the cleanliness and presentation of our room. It was also surprisingly quiet given its location. We only stayed overnight as we were en-route to our next destination but the suite would have definitely been comfortable for a much longer stay. It's within easy walking distance to restaurants, cafés and there is a great whole food market just down the road. Staff were approachable and accommodating.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank CooeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

If you are looking for something not too expensive in downtown, that's a good choiche.
The hotel is neither elegant or beautiful, but the ratio quality price is high.

I also had a kitchen in my room, this can help you to save more money, being able to cook your own food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lhotun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very good value. Clean, super friendly staff, right in the middle of everything in a very safe and walkable neighbourhood. I stayed at the bacck of the building and it was extremely quiet. Although it wasn't very new, it was everything I needed, and more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoniqueCaissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire's "secret hot rate hotels" option for $46.72/night plus taxes. We stayed for a week which came to $403.24 after taxes - pretty reasonable for a "room" which included a living room with a pull out couch, bedroom, kitchen with a stove and fridge and washroom.

The check in staff were all friendly and accommodating. They provided us with utensils when requested and printed our airline tickets for us before our departure. They greeted us whenever they saw us and were quick to respond to our requests.

The complimentary breakfast was minimal but sufficient - bread, muffins, scones, croissants, butter, jam, peanut butter, tea, coffee. There is a coffee machine which dispenses free coffee or hot water for tea. There is a seating area for breakfast which overlooks Robson Street.

Our room (201) was amazing - we had our own apartment. We could watch TV in the living room, whip up something to eat in the kitchen and sleep in the bedroom. The only downside was the heating is centralized and you have no control over it - we found it really hot at night and had to crack the window open to moderate the temperature, but as our room overlooked main street (Robson) there was a lot of noise - especially on the weekend. The wifi is good, but you may need to figure out the best spots in your room to use it. I had good service in the bedroom (TWSS), but no reception in the living room.

The hotel is nearby to Stanley Park and has a nearby stop (at Blue Horizon Hotel) for the "Hop on trolley tour" which is also recommended. To the north of the hotel you get great views of the mountains from Coal Harbour. Robson Street itself is great for shopping. On weekends you can check out Granville street for the nightlife.

For the price we paid, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Greenbrier Hotel and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms that face Robson street can be noisy on weekend nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sens_fan_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB-GuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Sens_fa_TO

We have really enjoyed to host you during your time in Vancouver and to be honest all our staff really enjoyed reading your review about Greenbrier Hotel. We do try offer the friendly service, in the very heart of Vancouver with affordable prices. I am glad that you were able to get a chance reserve one of our 1 bedroom Suite with a great deal on Hotwire.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next visits to Vancouver. Please do not hesitate contact me or one of the Front Desk staff directly. We will do our best to make your stay comfortable and valuable.

Regards.

Guest Services
Cinar Ayaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here a couple weeks ago for a work Christmas party downtown Vancouver, just for 1 night. This place is fine if its a short stay, we got it cheap through hotwire so weren't expecting much...

Cons
-called the day before and asked what the parking rate was and was told $10. When I checked in they said it was $20 a night. I argued with him and he said maybe if you stayed longer it might be cheaper.
-got to our room and our toilet was constantly flushing and leaking quite a bit onto the floor. The front desk guy fixed it and cleaned it up right away
-The next morning our power went off twice, just in our room. The lady at the front desk went to the breaker room and fixed it right away
-Continental breakfast was not very appealing lots of breads and dried looking baked goods.
-Bed kind of hard
-a few days after checking out I check my credit card statement and I see a $100 charge from them. They pre-authed my card which is normal but they weren't supposed to charge it, there was no issues when Ieft. I called the hotel and said they would get back to me, the lady told me she would call me back before her shift ended at 4. She didn't call me back. Checked my statement again and the charge was gone. They could of least called me back.

Pros
-Room was clean
-Staff was friendly, during our stay
-Good location, just at the end of Robson st which has lots of stores and restaurants

Room Tip: My room was literally right across from the front desk on the ground floor, avoid it if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardom1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Disappointing, since found via Air B&B and NOT described as a Hotel of apartments, which it is, and rather a basic one at that. Room fine (has a sitting room and kitchen - use not encouraged), breakfast basic ‘continental’. Not a room one would want to relax in - no view, rather dark. Location was OK - within a walk of Stanley park but the bulk of downtown was a long walk the other way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_n_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#70 of 92 in Vancouver
527 reviews
Granville Street
Moda Hotel
Moda Hotel
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
947 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
431 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,889 reviews
West End
English Bay Hotel
English Bay Hotel
#77 of 92 in Vancouver
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbrier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbrier Hotel

Address: 1393 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £67 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Greenbrier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenbrier Hotel is located in the middle the famous Robson Street in Vancouver, just steps away from great shopping and dining. All within walking distance to Stanley Park, Convention Centre, Canada Place, English Bay, and most Vancouver attractions. Friendly front desk staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you with every aspect of your trip, from planning tours, dinner reservations and any other arrangements. Most of our suites are furnished with: pillow top mattresses, kitchenette**, living room*, dining table*, sofa bed*, LCD TV with local channels, complimentary high speed WiFi and free local calls. Complimentary coffee/tea is available in the lounge, daily housekeeping and a secured underground parking***. *Subject to room type **Kitchen utensils and crockery available upon request (subject to availability). ***Available at additional cost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Greenbrier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing