We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware - dont go there”
Review of Greenbrier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenbrier Hotel
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 31 May 2009

I arrived with my family at the hotel late one rainy night expecting to find a clean self contained room. What we found was the opposite. The room was filthy from the carpet to the towels, cooking utensils and bathroom. Within 30 minutes we had walked nearby streets found another hotel and made arrangements to move. The fun didnt end there. In order to be able to check out I was forced to pay a half day tariff, being the only way I could negotiate not being charged the full 5 days that I had booked, even though the room clearly did not meet its description. Further it then took 9 days to get them to release of a pre-approval of nearly $800. Steer clear of this place. Tourism Candaa needs to take action against this hotel soon and certainly before the Olympics. It is in short a disgrace to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TKSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2008

funny smell, stove had exposed wires, wall plug was dangerously loose, gf woke up with rash and bite marks, room was filthy (got grossed out when we moved the couch)

managed to change rooms, this room wasnt such a deathtrap, but smelled of urine

most staff was sympathetic but obviously in fear of losing their jobs, the main guy was rude, told me the owner lived in Dubai, and i had to deal with him for any potential discount (the employee behind him shook his head back and forth indicating a fabrication, told me later the owner is actually onsite during the week)

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wosj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

we travelled from edmonton to vancouver to see madonna.we were all scared because of the reviews given on this site.our experience with this hotel was wonderful!nice big rooms,friendly staff and great location!if you think you are upper class then maybe this is'nt the place for you but if you like a nice big room and and are on a budget this is a great place!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank flygurl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

An absolutley super deal! For a long way traveler is this much better that sleeping on the streets, or staying at "backpacker shelter". The service was super, cleaning lady did not steal anything. You can buy everything from hockers to cannabis in this hotel. I only once saw a person carrying a gun in the hallway. They have facilitys like a overcharged telephone and a washingroom.
I also was involved in a fire exercise in the middle of the night, and i can report that that went all fine. Firetrucks come only after 15 minutes, and that is good!
I have travelled many places in the world, and this is far far from the worst i have seen.I did not se any animals in the rooms, exept for a dusin ring doves...Try go to Russia...
One other thing is that it is sentral and cheap. When i stayed there, there was a bar right across the street called Maxim, who was ok for drinking.I next door to the hotel there was a resturant, or actually there is plenty of resturants close to the hotel.
If you have family or is afarid of the dark, go somewhere else.
after all,a good deal for budget travelers

  • Stayed: March 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirpis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We spent two nights this summer on the Greenbrier hotel. The only positive points are price and location. The furniture is old and not very clean.

They charged us 5$ for two local calls, both under 1 minute.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank sasac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and had a very nice experience. The location and price can't be beat.
We Loved this hotel :)

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jiuwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I made a reservation via Tourism BC for a highly recommended hotel in Vancouver for 3 nights. Five minutes later, I called to amend my reservation to 2 nights only. The fellow at the hotel assured me that this was OK, he heard me, he recorded my change, and all was fine. This seems easy enough, doesn't it? When we got to Vancouver a week later, took the bus downtown, walked 5 blocks to the hotel carrying suitcases, very tired (4:00 a.m. to us), and hot, the desk man told us there was no reservation made, and anyways, he was full; find another place; too bad. NO apology, nothing. I made him look again, and again, because I had my reservation number with me. After half an hour, he deigned to search once more, and lo and behold, there it was. The change had not been recorded in the computer, and to whom had I spoken that night when I made the reservation? I didn't know the name of the clerk? That was the problem -- MY problem. I should have taken his name. And he was a new hire (this nameless man), I should have known better. Again, this was all my fault. Further, since I was declared a No Show, they gave my room away for all 3 nights, so they had no room for us. Further, they had taken the charge for the room off my visa card, to punish me for not showing up, and having the gall to not cancel (but I did cancel, and re-affirm my intention to come for the 2 nights now in question).
I was told there would be no refund, find another place for much more $$, if I was out of pocket, again, too bad. No apology. Only evasiveness, no acknowledgement that this was Greenbrier's fault. This is a horrible, unprofessional approach, galling, covering-up with the flimsiest of excuses. This hotel should be put out of business quickly. I have never been treated like this in Canada in my life. Greenbriar did this knowing no punishment would accrue, and I want to warn everyone out there to avoid this situation. I did my booking in good faith, and these people did not.

Thank TorontoKvetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#71 of 92 in Vancouver
529 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
433 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Granville Street
Moda Hotel
Moda Hotel
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
953 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbrier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbrier Hotel

Address: 1393 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £68 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Greenbrier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenbrier Hotel is located in the middle the famous Robson Street in Vancouver, just steps away from great shopping and dining. All within walking distance to Stanley Park, Convention Centre, Canada Place, English Bay, and most Vancouver attractions. Friendly front desk staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you with every aspect of your trip, from planning tours, dinner reservations and any other arrangements. Most of our suites are furnished with: pillow top mattresses, kitchenette**, living room*, dining table*, sofa bed*, LCD TV with local channels, complimentary high speed WiFi and free local calls. Complimentary coffee/tea is available in the lounge, daily housekeeping and a secured underground parking***. *Subject to room type **Kitchen utensils and crockery available upon request (subject to availability). ***Available at additional cost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Greenbrier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing