We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Checking in, service (as I was late) the front desk manager Dave was incredible. Dave made my wife and I feel more like family showing us where to park, helping with the luggage and arranging a boat tour of English Bay. Service over and above was model in this Hotel.....I would recommend staying here (even without the blackout drapes) because of the service that Dave showed towards his customers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay with us at Lord Stanley Suites on the Park.
It certainly sounds like David has won over the heart of another guest and we appreciate you letting us know.
As all our staff do, David makes it his goal to make every guest feel welcomed and at home and by the sounds of it He did exactly that for you.
We'll see you on your next visit to Vancouver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

The location is superb and just a stone throw away from Stanley park.
A little bit away from shopping area. But it is quiet and walking distance from restaurant.
Staff was very friendly namely Eva and David. They would go out of way to help you out.
The room was of good size and view was fabulous. But during Summer room gets a little bit warm in day time as well as night time. Breakfast is simple but adequate.

Room Tip: Take room on higher floor and room with a stanley park/harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manish2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Our location is hard to beat. With Stanley Park in your backyard, world class dining and shopping a short walk away.
Our staff are known for their friendly and courteous service, as you found with Eva & David.
Going over and above is second nature and we're pleased to hear that this was your experience as well.
The suites are versatile and offer spectacular views.
Our complimentary continental breakfast now also offers Waffles w/ Maple Syrup & Cinnamon topping as well as Assorted Yogurt w/ Granola topping...which you'll discover on your next stay with us here at Lord Stanley Suites on the Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

To be honest, I wasn't even expecting a breakfast so it's a bit unfair to say anything negative about it. But it was a bit surprising to go down for breakfast and see the strange setup. Very few places to sit down other than a row of chairs on one wall. Simple mini muffins, and bagels with some fruit and a coffee machine. That said, I picked up few muffins and coffee and it was good.

The suite is well setup with a kitchen and a separate office area. Views of the marina and mountains are gorgeous! Noise from West Georgia seemed noisy at first but I'm used to it now and don't notice anymore.

There is a simple, but functional gym on the first floor.

Overall it's not like a hotel, appears to be originally built as condos and then converted to rental suites afterwards.

Room Tip: North side has views of marina, Stanley Park and the Mountains. South side probably has views of j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdajunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Thank you for taking time to let us know your thoughts on your stay at Lord Stanley Suites on the Park.
Our Complimentary Continental Breakfast and the Coal Harbor Room it's served in have been updated greatly since your last visit.
To start we've placed comfortable arm chairs and small round tables as well as "couple tables for two" in the Coal Harbor room to allow our guests a place to sit comfortably on their own or with a small group. No longer will you find the breakfast sitting on a round table with a row of chairs along the wall.
The Complimentary Continental Breakfast has also been revamped to include: Waffles w/ Maple Syrup & Cinnamon topping as well as Assorted Yogurt w/ Granola Topping....these items along with Bagels & Cream Cheese, Two types of cereal w/ Milk, Toast w/ Raspberry, Blueberry Jam or Peanut Butter, Assorted Danishes & Pastries, Mini Muffins, Fresh Fruit, Coffee, Tea, Hot Chocolate & Orange Juice.
We'll look forward to sharing the changes with you on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

In terms of location, I don't think we could have chosen a better spot. Safeway just around the corner and Stanley Park just about on the doorstep was great. Suite was clean, bed was comfortable and views were excellent. It got a bit warm during the day, and because our room (603) is on the corner of the building, it was quite noisy. My parents were right next door (602) and their room wasn't noisy at all. Early bird catches the breakfast. But David did warn us.
Will definitely stay at the Lord Stanley again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy1979SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Yes we agree that our location is a big plus! As you mentioned being so close to everything you may need during your stay is very appealing.
Our suites do offer some lovely views and it appears you enjoyed the view from your suite too!
As for any outside traffic noise, there are some times of the day that traffic is a little busier than most...but that comes with being downtown in a major city and we certainly hope this didn't hinder your comfort here.
As for David's advice of "the early bird catches the bagel" although mostly a tongue in cheek comment...David's advice sounds like it was helpful.
We look forward to having you back on your next planned visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

First time to Vancouver and we wanted to stay close to Stanley Park. This Hotel would be one of the closest with Fabulous views. I requested a Suite on a High Floor and when we arrived they informed us that we had a PentHouse Suite. Very excited about this and expecting a lot. But all too shortly those expectations were squashed. At the very least , you would expect a Queen Size bed, but there was only a double. We didn't even sleep in it , apart from it being too small for us, the room was too stuffy. We opted for the Sofa Bed in the Lounge, which when opened fully , hit the breakfast bar and you had to push it extra hard to get it down over this, which obviously previous guests had tried doing also, and had damaged the breakfast bar. The Suite itself was very compact but that was no problem. I loved the Solarium and could sit there all day watching the traffic coming and going to Stanley park and the boats coming in and out of the harbour. One of the best things about Stanley Suites was David at the Front Desk. He went out of his way to accommodate us and was extremely helpful. Can't say enough good things about him. Stanley Suites is very central to a lot of restaurants and a Safeway Supermarket is in easy walking distance. Bike Rentals are just down at the Corner, which I recommend to do as Stanley Park is a must to bike around as the pathway emcompasses all around the downtown area. The fact that Stanley Suites have very small beds, I would still encourage Friends to stay here as it is in easy walking distance to everything essential including Buses. Nice Continental Breakfast included.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

We see this was your first visit to Vancouver...we're so pleased that we were able to be a part of this first time experience.
As you found out the location and the views from it are hard to beat.
The layout of the property allows for Queen Size Beds in many of our suites but only allows A Double Size Bed in others. On your next visit please let us know in advance that you'd prefer a Queen Size Bed and we'll certainly do our best to ensure you have one next time.
We are presently updating the suites decor and look forward to sharing this with our valued guests soon.
You mentioned one of our staff by name...David. David is the manager of the hotel and certainly enjoys what he does for a living. Making you and many of our guests feel at home with his sincere and helpful personality. It sounds like you have also found this to be true.
David and the rest of our fantastic staff look forward to having you back to Lord Stanley Suites on the Park on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was my second time at the hotel and I can add little to the other reviews that cover it all - great views, great location, clean rooms, and one of a kind check-in staff (David). One downside is the morning breakfast - though good, it is a must to come early or you'll get nothing. Upon asking the morning staff if they could refill, the answer was "that's all we have for today". (This really made my Dad angry and he's right, we paid good money and were left high and dry). Therefore, take David's advice literal when he says "come early to get the best pick of the goodies and jams". The seating situation is also suboptimal so be prepared. Despite that, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Let us start with a warm welcome back .Thank you for taking the time to let us know what your experience at Lord Stanley was like this last visit.
Our views and location make it hard to pass up an opportunity to stay at Lord Stanley Suites, as you mention.
David certainly is a memorable part of many of our guests stay...as it seems he was for you as well. We're so pleased that your stay was made that much better with his assistance.
As for the complimentary continental breakfast and the lack of it available to your father, this is disappointing to hear and we'd like to say right away how sorry we were to hear of this.
It's our staff's goal to make sure our guests receive top quality service, so when a simple request for some breakfast isn't met with "of course" it's upsetting to us.
The breakfast is served from 7 am to 9 am and it certainly can be a busy time of the day...with that said there can be occasions when guests have eaten all the items that we had brought in for the breakfast that morning.
As we do not have a restaurant or food making service on the property we do have the breakfast catered to us each morning...with what we hope is enough to satisfy our guests each morning.
It sounds like in this situation there may have been nothing left to offer...but perhaps how this was brought to your fathers attention could have been done so in a more effective way...for any misunderstanding on our part we apologize.
When David tells guests that the "Early Bird catches the bagel" sometimes he's sadly correct.
We do look forward to having you back on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Lord Stanley Suites. The hotel is located close to Stanley Park and other downtown attractions can be easely reached by foot. Travel from and to the airport, via Canada Line and bus, was also easy. My room was clean and had a good view on Coal Harbour.
The only negative point was that the room got rather warm during the hot sunny days. The air conditioning unit helped but was not able to cool down the bedroom. The temperatue got comfortable again during the evening and night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimion2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Lord Stanley Suites on the Park.
You found out for yourself how amazing the views can be and how close we are t ojust about all you could need.
Only a 1/2 hour train ride from YVR airport to downtown Vancouver makes it an easy destination to get to.
The views of Coal Harbor are amazing on any day...but on a sunny day like you had it's doubly beautiful.
The warmth of the suites facing the morning and early afternoon summer sunshine, definitely can get warm if the A/C units aren't turned on first thing in the morning and left to run during the afternoon.
On your next visit if it happens to be during summer let us know and we'll try and assign you a suite without direct morning sunshine.
See you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
West End
Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,602 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 92 in Vancouver
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Stanley Suites On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Stanley Suites On The Park

Address: The Lord Stanley 1889 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £107 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Stanley Suites On The Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Stanley is an apartment hotel in Vancouver’s West End situated next to beautiful Stanley Park. Lord Stanley is conveniently located close to public transportation and to Robson and Denman Streets, where a variety of restaurants and shops can be found and is also within walking distance to Vancouver’s business, shopping and entertainment district. Lord Stanley can accommodate stays from one night to several months in fully furnished one and two bedroom deluxe suites with panoramic water, park and mountain views. All suites feature full kitchens, in-suite washer and dryer, full bathroom, wireless Internet connection, office and have either an open balcony or enclosed solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lord Stanley Suites On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park Hotel Vancouver
Lord Stanley Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing