We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bento Box Deliciousness”

Junsei River Japanese
Ranked #2,305 of 3,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighbourhood: Robson Street
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Robson Street
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bento Box Deliciousness”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Hanging in Vancouver for a couple days with girlfriends and after hours of shopping they wanted sushi. So we set off to find a sushi place and came across Junsei. Between the four of us we sampled Bento Boxes, Dynamite Rolls, Sashimi and some other items I can't recall. Everything was bliss. Fresh and delicious. The Bento boxes were massive. No complaints on service or location and I was thrilled they gave us a booth with a plug in so I could recharge my phone. My salmon sashimi was delicious. Great little place just off Robson.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robswife2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quick, satisfying”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

You can linger here if you like (there are some comfy booths), but we use it as a drop-in before the theatre and haven't been disappointed yet: business-like (if somewhat impersonal) service, an ample, no-surprises menu, fresh fish and decent portions. Standard tables but oddly low chairs..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I usually pick up a bento box take out after work, it's always a great deal and lots of food. The menu has a pretty good selection. Service is always quick, and when I call in my order, it is ready to go by the time I walk over to pick it up 10 minutes later. Staff are friendly enough, the location is great, close to everything within walking distance. The food, though not outstanding, is pretty good, and portions are pretty good too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reft h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, AR
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent tempura, reasonable prices.”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We had shrimp tempura and vegetable tempura. Both were tasty, crisp, and tender. The service was attentive, though not outstanding. The sake (hot) was good, but not especially so. The menu seemed a bit more extensive than normal for a mid-range Japanese place. Lots of sushmi and sashimi choices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap, but not cheerful”
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

First up - this place is NOT Japanese. No, not even a little bit.

The menu has Chinese options and dishes in almost every category. My partner reckons the tea was probably the worst we have had in a 'Japanese' restaurant. The rice was gluggy, the tempura was oily, the salads could have been fresher and so could the seafood! Just in case this doesn't convince you of the lack of authenticity, the chopsticks are Chinese. Grrr!!!

To be fair, the service was quick and reasonably friendly. However - we know how to tip. Please do NOT take tips out of our bill without asking; and taking our receipt away won't stop us from noticing that this has happened. Really!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellsonhertoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Junsei River Japanese also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Junsei River Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing