We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummiest Beef Bowl” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gyudonya

Gyudonya
Ranked #1,522 of 3,678 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Robson Street
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
473 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Yummiest Beef Bowl”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Perfect on a cold, rainy day. Beef bowls were exactly what they are supposed to be. As good as we've had in Japan. Not really cheap, but good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good cheap Japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Pretty unpretentious restaurant with I think a total of 9 things on the menu - 8 kinds of donburi and one kind of ramen. In spite of the restaurant's name I went with the ramen which was tasty and nicely spicy (you can also order it non-spicy). Good food and quite inexpensive. It's all counter seating - no tables.

Helpful?
Thank Asterix135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cheap, Cheerful and Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My daughter loves Asian food and as Gyudon was right by our hotel, we came here often for takeout. Quick service, delicious rice bowls at great prices- our faves were the bibimbop and chicken!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Islandpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I ate at Gyudon for lunch. I had the the grilled chicken gyudon which was quite delicious. The staff is very friendly and attentive but it is a very small and cramped venue. Other than that, it was all good!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paradice06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“meh.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We went here because the place we actually wanted to go was closed. It is overpriced to begin with. The guy got my order wrong, and the dish he brought was literally sliced meat on top of white rice. for seven dollars. The owner also "accidentally" dropped our change in his tip jar, which was conveniently right below where he chooses to hand money back, and then laughed and walked away. Don't bother with this place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gyudonya also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gyudonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing