We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service - great gym confusing elevators”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Was in Vancouver on business and this place was right on the "Canada Line" transit (2 blocks away). It has a Starbucks across the street and is in a nice safe area. IT is close to the docks as well. Three of us had three different rooms. I had a very good one hour cardio and one hour weights workout in a reasonably-sized gym with staff that were friendly but didn't butt in. Room service was very good and delivered promptly and hot. All in all for business right downtown it was very good. There is a DRESS code for parts of this former Gentleman's club. Fine by me but be aware of it.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms ending in 008 if you can they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobwoodcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear bobwoodcco,

Thank you for your review.

We certainly are perfectly located in the Financial District and very close to the Canada Line, as you indicated.

I am so pleased you had a chance to use the fitness centre. Another time, if you stay with us on a Thursday evening, this is our squash night and guests are welcome (just in case you are a squash player). The equipment is fairly new in the gym and there is 5000 sq.ft. of cardio space. As we are now coming into Summer (fingers crossed), our members and guests enjoy lounging out on the deck after a workout. With the view over the water and a smoothie in hand, it is perfect. I do hope you stay with us again and can experience this aspect of the fitness centre.

During Summer months, we actually relax the 'smart casual' dress code to allow for 'nice' jeans :)

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review. It is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,
Noni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Was in the city for a conference and elected not to stay at the convention hotels to get away from the crowds. Location was perfect right downtown, room had a great view with very large windows. Smaller hotel that offered great service and a real personal touch. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fellowship95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

What a great hotel! The room was small (reminds me of rooms in Europe) but very clean. The room had a small kitchenette and a good selection of cable channels. The lobby area is just immaculate. I found the staff to be very courteous and professional. We arrived at 10:30AM and they let us check in! It's located right in the middle of town so it's convenient to walk to a lot of attractions: Gastown, the waterfront, Chinatown, and Vancouver Lookout to name a few. We arrived by cruise ship and walked 3 blocks to the hotel! For those that need a coffee fix, there's a Starbucks across the street. It's worth the stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emarsh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

As you might know everything is wakable in vancouver , but this erea is better because it is close to the water and on top the have one off the greatest lap pool i have seen ! Deffinetly would go back to the terminal city club .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sportboy533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel has a great location in downtown Vancouver . Minutes walking distance to Gastown,Canaad Place and many others.The restaurant 1892 is excellent food for dinner. No notebooks or jeans allowed, not sure why, but cell phones are ok. For breakfast the Grille, no cellphones but a great selection and quality for food just like 1892. Overall the place is perfect.
Rooms are large , clean and well appointed. Hallways are narrow and windy getting to the room.
Overall great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Senator76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Senator76,

Thank you for posting your review.

1892 is our Signature Restaurant and the food presentation, service and quality are superior. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. As the hotel allows the guest access to the private members club, you are actually experiencing the club. In 1892, the dress code is 'smart casual' and is a 'conversation only' room. You are quite right - no paperwork or jeans are allowed. However, as it has taken me awhile to get back to you and we are now in Summer, we have relaxed the dress code for Summer to allow for nice jeans. We allow cell phones, but only to text or email, there is no speaking on a cell phone allowed inside the club area.
You will be pleased to know that during the Summer Season, we have the large outdoor patio open off The Grill Restaurant, which is spectacular and captures views of the water, North Shore mountains and more often than not, a glimpse of a large cruise ship docked at Canada Place.
Thank you again for your wonderful comments. I do hope we can welcome you back to Terminal City Club.

Kind regards,
Noni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed three nights and enjoyed the experience overall. Excellent fitness room and pool with a full time attendant. I felt very safe and looked after which, for a solo woman business traveler, is not always delivered.The food was the only disappointment - OK but not a good value for Vancouver.
Service was attentive and friendly. I tried to get a smaller pillow - for some reason my bed was equipped with gigantic pillows but no other options were available and I was too busy to buy one at the nearby department stores.
Location is fantatstic - close to business centre, shopping and the harbour terminals.
I would recommend this hotel to any business traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear PR4Science,

Thank you so much for your review. It does assist us to make adjustments. We will table comfort at our next Rooms meeting and include 'pillow talk' :)

I have mentioned our Security before, but this is one of the reasons it is there. Our 24hr. Security gives you a comfort level to know that the doors and elevators are monitored. Security also roams the parking garage and floor levels to ensure safety. On the Fitness level, we do have a team of attendants to attend to our guests needs and safety.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Noni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I had high hopes for this hotel but was sorely disappointed.

From the beginning the staff (except one woman at the desk) were quite unfriendly and we felt unwelcome. When we would come and go from the hotel, no one ever said hello or interacted with us, it was like we weren't there.

When we arrived in our room, it was a major downgrade from what we booked (and had paid for ahead of time) so I called down to the desk and we were given a different room. While the new room was a suite like we'd arranged, it looked nothing like the online photos and we felt cheated with a dated and cramped space instead of something open and modern.

At one point we asked a staff member in the lobby for directions to a restaurant that we knew was within a block or two of the hotel, but he shrugged his shoulders and said he didn't know of it. He didn't even offer to ask someone else for us or do anything that would have been helpful.

It could have been that this place is pretentious and we're laid back, and the two are incompatible, but we would never stay here again.

The Good
-Location for walking around downtown Vancouver, and near pier for cruise departure/arrivals
-Complementary ice/water delivered to the room mid afternoon
-2 closets

The Bad
-Very scratchy sheets (like Motel 6 level)
-Outdoor air vents on lower roof (about 2 floors down from us) were extremely loud, even with windows closed it was difficult to sleep
-Elevator moved quite slow, wouldn't want to be in a hurry and need that thing

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Jamie B,

When you first come into the hotel lobby, it is very grand. The second level is actually where the check-in desk is. When you come in, it is the Security desk that is immediately there and at the entrance to the hotel. Our 24hr security adds a level of comfort for our guests by monitoring the entrance and ensuring only guests use the elevators to the hotel. However, the challenge is Security is not Concierge nor Front Desk.

It may be that our guests assume Security is part of the hospitality team, when they are not. I am so sorry for this confusion as I am sure this desk had a lot to do with the way you were feeling welcomed. We will sincerely address this - thank you.

We do have many styles of suites, as the building is a contemporary design. The images on the website are exactly as the suites are, however, not all images are listed.

Jamie, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Even down to the sheets, which are over 300 thread count so they also should not have given you discomfort. We will endeavour to review the quality of our sheets.

Thank you again for giving us feedback as it does assist to provide a better guest experience.

Kind regards,
Noni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,619 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
2,692 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Vancouver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Vancouver Hotel

Address: 100-837 Hastings St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1B6, Canada (Formerly The Hotel at Terminal City Club)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £120 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Vancouver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of downtown, just steps away from the Waterfront, Auberge Vancouver (formerly The Terminal City Club Hotel) is a luxury boutique hotel situated in a vibrant, urban environment. Surrounded by fine restaurants, unique shops and contemporary galleries, we hope to provide a truly memorable experience for the discerning leisure and business traveller alike, in an exceptional setting. A stunning view of the water, impeccable service, deluxe amenities and of course, elegant and spacious accommodations are only a few of the features that make Auberge Vancouver so exceptional. This truly unique property exudes quiet sophistication, yet it is a modern oasis. Our commitment is to ensure that you will enjoy an unforgettable stay. Come and be our guest; an unparalleled experience is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Vancouver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminal City Hotel
Terminal City Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing