We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but sterile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Ranked #39 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convenient but sterile”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed there prior to boarding our Alaska cruise. Very convenient to the ship and to the downtown area. The rooms were very modern and comfortable; but somewhat sterile. Decor was boring, with the same artwork cropping up multiple times. Clearly oriented to traveling business executives, not to families.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fossilexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    166
    46
    12
    12
See reviews for
91
211
32
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ESQUIMALT
Level Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Busy day with weddings galore so checkin was a bumpy start, as we had called weeks in advance for an early checkin as we were coming in from out of town...and then when we arrived , Staff seemed overwhelmed calling for help...we were asked to pay for an upgrade to let us checkin an hour early...mmm...after we declined they did finally offer to tag our luggage, and our room was ready within the hour, with our luggage already taken upstairs for us... so we made it to the wedding on time after all. The room was very clean with a well organized kitchenette with a fridge and microwave, Kuerig coffee maker, no pop machine though in the building. Hotel location was great for strolling Canada Place and the downtown. Parking is as always expensive and a bit cramped for all, especially our larger vehicle; the poor parking attendant was arguing with people both when we entered and exited. The parking and room elevators are a bit confusing at first. It was a short one one night stay but we would stay here again and try and enjoy more of the ambience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b4i4gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel totally misrepresented the features of the room we booked. We travel a lot and whenever we are in a new city I like to book our stay in a hotel that includes breakfast in the price, saves time to eat there and explore on a full stomach. For almost $300 a night I would never have booked here if their site didn't specifically state "kitchenette with kettle, coffee, microwave and fridge." In a separate sentence it says "breakfast bar included". What does that mean to you? At least a cracker for breakfast! We got nothing except a talk with the manager who told us they are looking into changing the wording of the room description. What public relations class did she take? I am disappointed she didn't at least offer to send up some toast or an apple. Bottom line I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Lilly Z,

Wow! I honestly do not think we have ever received such an unhappy review.

I am truly sorry you were disappointed that your room did not include breakfast. As you stated, we do have kitchenettes with kettle, Kuerig coffee makers with complimentary coffee, microwave and fridge. As we never refer to a 'breakfast bar', which I am not quite sure what that means, we have investigated where this line is stated. It took a while to find, but there it was in an online description on one site, on one room type only. We are not even sure how it got there, or how long it was there.

Lilly, we are very sorry that you felt led to believe there was breakfast included. It is never, ever our intention to misrepresent our beautiful hotel. Due to your comment, and to ensure there will be no further misinterpretations by future guests, it has been removed. Thank you for calling this to our attention.

With sincerest apologies,
Noni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great location and amenities. Well-appointed room (mine had a partial water view) with decent coffee machine and mini-kitchenette. Very quiet room, lovely housekeeping and front desk staff. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - excellent value.

Room Tip: End of hall/on the corner - ask for one with a water view, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzauregionaldirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear nzauregionaldirector,

What a wonderful review! Thank you.

I am glad to hear you thought the coffee maker was decent. Coffee quality is important in the guestrooms when traveling. That is why we chose the Keurig coffee makers as they are convenient and can offer the traveller a choice of coffee (expresso, and even brand names). Nice to hear this feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your waterview guestroom.

Kind regards,
Noni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is an older style hotel with very clean and very comfortable small rooms. Each room had a kitchenette with a fridge and microwav, Kuerig coffee maker but no minibar and no pop machine in the building. Staff is friendly and helpful. My group of 3 people in 3 different rooms had a tour by the concierge. We used the pool, hot tub and change room. All were very clean and well stocked with towels and other toiletries you may require after using the facilities. One in our group used the exercise room and found the equipment to be in good working order. We had breakfast each morning in the hotel restaurant which had fast efficient service. The food and coffee were both good. Hotel location is great - close to Canada Line subway, waterfront and many restaurants all in walking distance. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank battlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Was in Vancouver on business and this place was right on the "Canada Line" transit (2 blocks away). It has a Starbucks across the street and is in a nice safe area. IT is close to the docks as well. Three of us had three different rooms. I had a very good one hour cardio and one hour weights workout in a reasonably-sized gym with staff that were friendly but didn't butt in. Room service was very good and delivered promptly and hot. All in all for business right downtown it was very good. There is a DRESS code for parts of this former Gentleman's club. Fine by me but be aware of it.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms ending in 008 if you can they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobwoodcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear bobwoodcco,

Thank you for your review.

We certainly are perfectly located in the Financial District and very close to the Canada Line, as you indicated.

I am so pleased you had a chance to use the fitness centre. Another time, if you stay with us on a Thursday evening, this is our squash night and guests are welcome (just in case you are a squash player). The equipment is fairly new in the gym and there is 5000 sq.ft. of cardio space. As we are now coming into Summer (fingers crossed), our members and guests enjoy lounging out on the deck after a workout. With the view over the water and a smoothie in hand, it is perfect. I do hope you stay with us again and can experience this aspect of the fitness centre.

During Summer months, we actually relax the 'smart casual' dress code to allow for 'nice' jeans :)

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review. It is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,
Noni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Was in the city for a conference and elected not to stay at the convention hotels to get away from the crowds. Location was perfect right downtown, room had a great view with very large windows. Smaller hotel that offered great service and a real personal touch. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fellowship95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,481 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,175 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Vancouver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Vancouver Hotel

Property: Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Address: 100-837 Hastings St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1B6, Canada (Formerly The Hotel at Terminal City Club)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Vancouver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of downtown, just steps away from the Waterfront, Auberge Vancouver (formerly The Terminal City Club Hotel) is a luxury boutique hotel situated in a vibrant, urban environment. Surrounded by fine restaurants, unique shops and contemporary galleries, we hope to provide a truly memorable experience for the discerning leisure and business traveller alike, in an exceptional setting. A stunning view of the water, impeccable service, deluxe amenities and of course, elegant and spacious accommodations are only a few of the features that make Auberge Vancouver so exceptional. This truly unique property exudes quiet sophistication, yet it is a modern oasis. Our commitment is to ensure that you will enjoy an unforgettable stay. Come and be our guest; an unparalleled experience is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Vancouver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminal City Hotel
Terminal City Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing