We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Adventure Center: Vancouver Fishing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: We are Vancouver Salmon Fishing Charter specialists! Our fleet of boats serve all group sizes. Experience Vancouver Salmon Fishing from Downtown Vancouver!
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went out (right on time) with Phillipe as our guide, he worked the gear like a pro, and had us on the fish all afternoon. With the sights, and the fishing, it was really one of the best "West Coast" experiences you could ask for. I would highly recommend this company to anybody looking for a great day on the water.

1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston S, Owner at Ocean Adventure Center: Vancouver Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Hi Dave,
Phillipe is looking forward to taking you out again in the future. He had a great experience catching chinook with the Whitecaps football club! He is very passionate about angling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Set up a 5 hour fish and sightsee tour with this company, and they no showed at the dock. Had a specific time booked, a captain indicated, and gave them the requisite credit cards, lots of email between myself and one of their owners Mr. Steele. Nobody called us to cancel. I phoned them, and the other owner said they had no indication that we were booked, sorry, nothing we can do about it.........and we can't get you out on the water tomorrow either... save yourself some grief, call Bites ON, ask for Evan, same prices, except Bites ON will make sure you're looked after.

6  Thank WalleyGog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston S, Owner at Ocean Adventure Center: Vancouver Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

WalleyGog,
Unfortunately we did not have anything confirmed as there were no charges made to your credit card to reserve the boat. This is protocol for booking charters. This circumstance is very unfortunate and I'm very sorry you had this experience. I'm glad you were able to save the day by experiencing a day of fishing with our friends at Bites On Charter around the corner. Evan is an excellent angler and I'm sure you had a great time.

Regards,
Preston Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Went out this morning 7/11/13 at 8am with Philleph as our guide. We had our first hook up in 10 minutes of setting up. Boated three chinook and lost two. Nice honest people, no bull and close down town location. Our 16 year old caught his first fish. Great time.

2  Thank Andrew545454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston S, Owner at Ocean Adventure Center: Vancouver Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Andrew, I truly hope you have a chance to get out with us again. Philippe is like fine wine, he's only getting better with age. lol!

For the love of fishing!
Preston Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We just had our second day with Andrew & Preston and again, we had an amazing time.

First time we did a half day on their big 38ft Sea Star in the September - we caught a couple salmon & some crab but had a great day in the sun.

This past weekend we went out for a full day again on the Sea Star. We were a bit skeptical about the weather but the cabin on board is very warm and comfortable as is the roof top area which is fully enclosed. We lucked out with great weather - seas were calm and the sun was out. Andrew and Preston worked hard the entire time putting out all the crab & prawn traps then spending the day trolling for salmon.

At one point they pulled up a crab trap and cooked them all on board for us to eat - incredible!

We'll be back for a again for sure!

2  Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston S, Owner at Ocean Adventure Center: Vancouver Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Hey Kristen,
I know you've been out with us at least 3 times. Hopefully you can come out during prime time in the middle of summer. 2015 is looking like a spectacular return. Thank you for your continued support. It's always a pleasure.

For the love of fishing!
Preston Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Spent full day fishing off Victoria Island (90 minutes each way from Vancouver). In rough seas you will fish closer to Vancouver. Nice size boat with twin 200 hp Yamaha motors and small 9.9 for trolling. Fishing is highly dependent on tides, season, and year-to-year variations. We were 4 and did not fair well but did catch one fish each. The largest was a 20 pound Halibut and the others salmon that were too small to keep (must be over 24.5 inches to keep). Our guide Ed was excellent and knowledgeable managing the gear, driving, watching the lines and selecting spots (non-stop energy). The cost for the full-day (8-9 hours) was about $1200.00 for four of us.

5  Thank HAP-TRAVEL-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston S, Owner at Ocean Adventure Center: Vancouver Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Eddie looks forward to guiding you in the future.

Thanks,
Preston Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Adventure Center: Vancouver Fishing Charters also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Ocean Adventure Center: Vancouver Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing