We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great house, good breakfast, pet smells” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashby House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashby House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 50 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Usa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great house, good breakfast, pet smells”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

This is a glorious old house with wonderful plants and flowers in the front yard, ideally located near downtown Vancouver. The hosts were friendly, the breakfasts were good. The problem is the minute you enter this home you smell something "bad." We identified it as "pet accidents smell." There is one cat and one dog, but the smell could have come from many pets over the years in this century-plus old house. Another guest also mentioned the bad smell. She said, "This house just needs a really good cleaning." Too bad, because everything else was great.

  • Liked — the location, the hosts, the food, the decor
  • Disliked — there was a bad smell we determined was from "pet accidents."
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank revgmb4689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
22
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2008

The Ashby B&B is located in a nice central neighbourhood. When you sit on the porch, or at a cafe in one of the streets close to it, you can entertain yourself just at looking around, watching people.
It's an old house, historically decorated. We made a reservation for the Wilde Room, but without any explanation we were situated in the cellar room. That was a bit strange. It was a bit dark down there, but it was really big, with a couch and chairs and a fireplace, and a nice bathroom in the hall, just to be used by us.
Breakfast was great, nice to talk to the owners and other guests. if you wanted suggestions for attractions or walks, or use the computer; just go ahead. Really relaxed!
The small farmers market at saturday a block away is cute, and the chocolats from 'Bad Girl' really are great!

  • Liked — central location, breakfast
  • Disliked — the cellar room was a bit dark
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TienenTuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

If you like 19th century houses, this may be the place for you to stay. The house, the room and the bathroom all look like a museum; everything is decorated in the 19th century style. It wasn't really our tast, but everything was clean and the king size bed was comfortable. The room was plain with no extra's (no tv or coffee maker).
The B&B is located just two streets from Downtown, yet it's quite quiet and parking facilities are perfect.
The shower was not that great with very little water.
Breakfast was fine and the hosts were kind.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The decoration of interior; we felt like we were staying in a museum
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2008

As most of the previous reviews already stated, the most important quality of Ashby House is that the hosts just make you feel like their own friends. I stayed at Ashby House when I attended a conference in Vancouver. I really appreciated the cozy atmosphere of the b&b when I came back after a long day.
The hosts were wonderful: very helpful, full of good suggestions (I spend the one day I had for sightseeing in probably the best places that Vancouver has to offer thanks to their suggestions), welcoming, and very easy to chat with.
I enjoyed the breakfast very much, the animals definitely add to the atmosphere, and the location is definitely great, not to mention the value for the price.
Overall, I highly recommend Ashby House for a stay in Vancouver, and I will stay there again if I come back to the city.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2008

Ashyby house is conveniently located in the West End. It also has parking,--absolutely necessary if you're driving. The hosts are charming and knowledgeble and breakfast is delightful. It's a great value for the West End.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts and good location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan98119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walluf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

I've stayed at Ashby House several times now over the last 5 years and keep coming back. For me, too, this is a home away from home. I can't imagine staying anywhere else, if I have the choice, for a number of reasons:
First of all Mary Anne and Robin are wonderful hosts with lots of stories to share, and who make you feel at home the second you cross the threshold. They always have the best recommendation and know their way around town.
The breakfast, which is always a treat.
The location couldn't be any better. All major attractions are within walking distance.
At Ashby House I always feel at home and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabine_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, MT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

This was the first time I've stayed in a B&B. The experience was wonderful. The hosts made everyone feel right at home and there was no set time for breakfast.... a B&B that isn't stuffy nor up tight. The decor was tastefully done in the style and age of the house (1899, victorian). The location was awesome, centerally located in the West end of BC. Close to everthing a tourist would like to see. The hosts were very knowledgeable of the area and were able to direct us to every local we requested. The english garden out front was tastefully done and the window boxes filled the rooms with wonderful aromas every morning.... what a way to wake up. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to feel at home on their vacation to one of the cleanest cities I've ever vacationed in.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — small bathrooms... but then again you don't spend a lot of time in the bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashby House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashby House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ashby House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 989 Bute St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1Y7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing