We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for what we needed”

C & N Backpackers - 927 Main
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
C & N Backpackers - 927 Main
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We booked a private room, and it was a great place for what we needed. What we needed was a safe place to store our stuff during the day & to sleep at night, and a kitchen to cook some food at night.
The location is good and bad, the good that it is a 5 minute walk from the Amtrak and Grey hound station, and not far from the Sky Train.
The bad is you are not far from Hasting Street, which there are a few homeless, but they will pretty much leave you alone. And the hostel will give you plenty of advise.
But all in all you get what you pay for, and as we were on a budget it was fine for us.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mizarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2010

We booked online, website looked fine and there aren't too many budget options in Vancouver. However, we checked out first thing and moved into a hotel after having spent the night in a tiny, cell-like room, opposite the massive washing machines. The sink was disgusting, full of rust, bunk bed mattresses just dusty (the lower bed had to face the mattress bottom, no layer inbetween) and fortunately the sheets were of brown/blue color anyway (must be a reason why they don't provide standard white sheets!). Staff was friendly but they must live in some other reality as it is just beyond me how they dare to rent out such rooms.. Bathrooms were ok, though. The whole area is seedy though, we walked around after 9pm in search of food (nothing) and didn't feel safe at all, despite coming from a major city ourselves. Its centrally located though.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

dude, im tired of hearing that people don't like this place. welcome to the real world. you get what you pay for! c'mon, twenty bones a night... if you expect something better then stop being so cheap! spend the extra cash and stop b*tching.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooshkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

I payed $60 PER NIGHT (yes for a backpackers) for two nights at C & N Backpackers due to the Olympics. There was literally NO VACANCY anywhere in the city. Its actually above the most derelict pub I have ever seen (you know the one with homeless people out the front and the only ppl in the pub are drugo's with nowhere else to go). It is located on Main Street near East Hastings, which is diseased drugo's paradise. This is the type of place where you dont want to touch anything and you feel dirty just being in there.

I checked in straight from my flight at 2am - the old guy behind the reception seemed confused and totally unaware of what was going on. The whole place was cold, dark and stunk like underarm sweat and pot.

I didnt want to sleep in the bed but i was exhausted from a 20+ hour flight. The sheets seemed clean but i was itching alot. It was very noisy from the street outside (Trucks, ambulance, cars) The shower is a joke, there are like 5 streams of water coming out of the head so i was freezing cold.

I paid for two nights but got out of there the next morning (no refund due to Olympics).. This place is a terrible place to stay and will give anyone a really bad first impression of Vancouver... I really recommend this place as an absolute last resort. (Seriously try every other place in town first even if you have to pay a bit more, its worth it)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindawubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We stayed here during the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympic games, and were extremely unsatisfied with our stay... Firstly we booked a private room with queen bed, only to be given a jail-cell like room with two sets of bunk beds, and no TV (as promised). This was disappointing considering we paid $170 a night for a dive...The mattresses were shocking, with springs digging into your back, and the room was fairly dirty when we arrived. No to mention the beautiful view of a dirty brick wall.

I think the worst part about this hotel, though, is the area; being so close to Chinatown, the drug-area of Vancouver, you are constantly confronted with strange and scary people as soon as you step out the door. I recommend you avoid Chinatown at all costs...

In summary, DO NOT STAY HERE! Spend an extra few dollars and stay closer to downtown in a place that doesn't resemble a jail...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephkerr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

Thankfully we only stayed here one night,that was more than enough. The only positive thing I can say about this place is that the bathrooms were very clean and its near the bus station.
Our room was freezing cold and no heat. Outside the traffic on the main road went right by the place and there was no insulation. It never got quiet so I got 0 sleep. The area itself is one of the worst in Vancouver. Our bus driver warned us to be really careful at night when she dropped us there she was trying to find an alternative but we risked the one night. Crossing the road to the hostel we met about a dozen drug addicts and another dozen homeless people in the space of 5 minutes.It really didnt feel safe at all.When we checked in we had to wait 20 minutes (even though no one else was there) and the guy was really rude and unhelpuful. The room itself was thick with dust and pretty gross. In the press people had written graffitti on the walls saying how much they hated the hostel! On our second visit to Vancouver we stayed in a budget hotel in Robson Street it was like another planet. Much nicer. If your going to stay in Vancouver avoid this place like the plague, or maybe catch it here like said previously. The hostel in the city centre is noisy due to the pub, but if you insist on a hostel,stay there, dont stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AngusY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

I stayed at C & N and found the place fine for the price. I have checked out other places in Vancouver and they are almost double the price of this place. The rooms are warm and dry. The bathrooms are clean. I think this a place for people on a budget that are wanting to see Vancouver not spend there time in the hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BillyBoy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#75 of 92 in Vancouver
662 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#81 of 92 in Vancouver
97 reviews
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#24 of 52 in Vancouver
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#3 of 52 in Vancouver
1,350 reviews
Gastown
American Backpackers Hostel
American Backpackers Hostel
#30 of 52 in Vancouver
104 reviews
Granville Street
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C & N Backpackers - 927 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C & N Backpackers - 927 Main

Address: 927 Main St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 2V8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: £19 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — C & N Backpackers - 927 Main 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
centrally located walking distance to all tourist attractions, across street to Bus depot and Amtrak station, near public transportation The hostel has private rooms and dormitory (3 max 4 beds) free linen nd towels, 2 kitchen, internet, lounge, laundry facilities, rooms with TV and fridge, tourdesk, bike rentals, lockers, luggage storage, no curfew or crazy rules, cheap breakfast available, airport pick up can be arranged, weekly events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your C & N Backpackers - 927 Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c And n Backpackers - 927 Main
c & n Backpackers - 927 Main Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing