We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samesun Vancouver
Nearby Hotels
US$239
Sandman Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Vancouver(Vancouver)
US$604
US$487
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
US$359
US$329
Opus Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Sands(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$270
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$333
US$316
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Buchan Hotel(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$431
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$542
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,434)
Filter reviews
1,434 results
Traveller rating
590
579
176
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
579
176
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar downstairsdaily activitiescommon roomsamesun hostelbed dormmovie roomfree breakfastgreat locationlynn canyongranville streetfirst floorcommon areasenjoyed my stayclean roomsheart of downtowncentral locationstanley park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,141 - 1,146 of 1,434 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed here for a week in October. This is a great hostel, its right in the centre of down town Van, and there's lots of things to do in the surrounding area, its clean, never had an issue waiting for the bathroom and they supply free towels. Its a sociable hostel, so its really easy to meet new people and make friends as there's events everyday, and the hostel also has its own bar. Guests are respectful and never had an issue with noise. I can't really think of any downsides to this hostel.

Room Tip: Be warned if you're staying in a 6bed dorm you'll be facing a noisy main road. Bring earplugs!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Samesun is in a fabulous location right in the heart of Downtown Vancouver. Super comfortable beds and very friendly staff made for a relaxed stay in an incredible city! Everyone staying there was very friendly and the hostel ran a great itinerary of activities, so if you're planning on staying there on your own it's easy to meet people. Only downside was the bar/restaurant 'The Beaver' the service was mixed and the food was pretty poor. The free breakfasts are fine but I'd avoid eating any other meals there. Especially when there are so many other cheap places to eat in Vancouver with better value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FBarry91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The staff at SameSun Vancouver were all extremely friendly. I was pleasantly surprised by how quiet all the guests were afterhours.

The location is right downtown, but it's a grimy downtown full of college kids going clubbing. Be prepared for that.

The room itself was a bit dirty. The shower seemed to dirty that my friend refused to shower the second day we were there. I'm pretty sure there was blood on the bathroom door..

I wouldn't stay here again, but if you're going for an economical place with a bed and aren't too picky, this is fine as long as you know what to expect..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank foomaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the SameSun in early September. The location in downtown Vancouver is great, almost all attractions are within walking distance.The rooms are big and clean. We had a private double room and there was a fridge and a TV in the room. The bathroom was right across the hall and clean as well. The breakfast was very good (a real continental breakfast) and the staff was very friendly and available. The only negative point was the matress... not very lumbar friendly...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

It was conveniently located by other hostels (as using hostels while going to school); it was an adventure carrying my big suitcase up the stairs, but easier to send down and even had someone offer to carry down the last long flight of stairs.

Room Tip: The room I was in was very tight squeeze because everyone had suitcases, but we all laughed it off. And it was on the side of the street where can hear everything, but once you pass out it doesn't matter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews