We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Awesome, comfortable backpackers and The Beaver bar downstairs does awesome cheap food and is great for meeting good people. The activities are awesome as well. Shout out to Steph for the free tour, hope your boss is still giving you free beers :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrydesouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    524
    161
    46
    36
See reviews for
20
123
720
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed in a couple of hostels during my trip to North America (Canada & US) and Samesun was easily the best experience of them all.
It was comparable in price to most others, had way better free breakfast every morning, the cleanliness was better and the friendly staff didn't disappoint.
Its location - downtown Vancouver - couldn't be better as it's in the heart of it all, with the nearest SkyTrain only a few mins away. Wifi speeds and availability is great, kitchen is clean and well-equipped while the bar downstairs caters to all social needs.
I stayed with them on two separate occasions and had absolutely no issues either time.

Highly recommended for solo travellers!

Room Tip: Choose shared rooms that are the emptiest and go 'mixed'. Arrive early for breakfast to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhineet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Great place. I have been and stayed here many times, great atmosphere. well worth the stay. Classic backpackers, lots of mid twenty somethings. great place to meet people and they do greath tours f the city every day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 974James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

breakfast was AWESOME and the people were really nice. very safe and secure. they helped with me with my bags and made sure the rooms and bathrooms were clean everyday. cool outting schedule too, something to do everyday

Room Tip: not above the bar! the second floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank liv_caughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Bed was pretty much a park bench. Security to the rooms was non-exsitant. My door was unlocked when I got there and the window was cracked and unlocked. And I couldn't lock it. Stayed with four people in my group and we could have split a room at the Best Western down the road for cheaper and it would have been cleaner and more comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Am11217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I arrived into the Samesun back in August 2008 (a while again) but I can confirm that I've made life long friends here and to this day still see a lot of them.

I was traveling alone as a 24 year old and the best thing about this place is the 'beaver' bar. Met two guys the first night and ended up traveling with them for 4 months.

This was quite possibly one of the best times of my life and I'd recommend this to any young person traveling if heading to Canada.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathill009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The staff were friendly and very helpful with directions and information regarding what activities to do in Vancouver. The place was clean and the atmosphere was great. Stephanie's daily activities were amazing and very good in helping to meet people and Steph was really accommodating on going where people requested!! Loved it here!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daina536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
402 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,661 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#75 of 92 in Vancouver
647 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,163 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Property: Samesun Vancouver
Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing