We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Samesun Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Samesun Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Incredibly clean, well organized hostel. Exceptional vibe. Daily activities. Amazing staff. Breakfast is great. Can't say enough about this hostel - it is THE place to stay in Vancouver. The downtown location is excellent. Samesun delivers a hostel experience that is unique for Canadian hostels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    492
    152
    42
    32
See reviews for
17
112
669
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I just stayed one night. But I have a good meaning that I felt a little more different than I expected. Because it was the first time to have stayed the backpacker's hotel. But I'm satisfied. If I have a chance again somewhere, I would choose one even other places.
Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm.
I'm not one of the party people, but I really liked the hostel.
The rooms werde very clean and quite. There were even big lockers, not the small ones you know from other hostels. Rooms are maybe a bit small, but it works. And the matress is not very comfortable.
The washrooms got cleaned two times a day.
Breakfast was the best I had so far in the hostel in canada, included fresh fruits and you didn't have to clean your dishes.
The bar and the common room are also very nice and cosy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sozusagen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The place is really good, the atmosphere and the staff are really nice. The only problem is the number of showers by floor, but if you get up early there is not problem with that. You will meet lots of people and the hotel offers lots of activities if you don't know what to do in Vancouver. Intenten darse una vuelta por acá, tú misión es divertirte en Vancouver, no quedarte en tu habitación.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Iván R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hostel was totally for teenagers. If you're not, please consider other hostels. The room was so tiny. If you're not a small person, you probably have no space to walk in the room with 6 dorms, except sleeping on your own bed. The bathrooms in each floor had the schedule for cleaning, so, you have to go to the washroom at the right time. The bad smell kicked my nose all the time when I walked outside the dorm. It's like somebody pissed somewhere on the way to the washroom. The hostel was on the main street and close to several pubs. The first night, there's one drunker shouting and singing on the street. Even I used the earplugs, I could not get enough sleep because of him. There's the party almost everyday at the first floor. Sometimes they continued at their rooms. They smoked although it's not allowed to smoke in the room. The smell was so annoying at night. The internet was extremely slow if you use in the room. The only way to get the better wifi connection was sitting close to the lobby. There's a travel agency on the second floor. It's pretty easy to get an adventure tour from here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodidear999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petegas78, Manager at Samesun Vancouver, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello and thanks for your feedback. Sounds like you didn't completely enjoy your stay with us. Just to let other travelers know a couple of things, we recently changed the times that we clean the bathrooms but we only do one male and one female bathroom at a time, so you always have access to the other bathrooms. The time changes also allow for us to be cleaning at the times of minimal usage. Granville St. is at the heart of the entertainment district here in Vancouver, which means sometimes people have a few too many, and think that they are the reincarnation of the Big Bopper. Afraid there isn't too much we can do about those folks. Our wifi had issues this weekend but is back and stronger than ever (we recently upgraded it) so apologies for that. And lastly, yes no smoking in the building. If someone is smoking out a window, please let us know!

Thanks!

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The place is a little old and not incredibly clean, but staff, atmosphere and breakfast are all pretty good! Not too many showers for the number of guests, but I only had to wait 5 minutes for one. Better for young people, I'd say.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room with fewer people, since our room had 8 beds and only 4 lockers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

At 37 dollars a night if your lucky to bag a spot in a 6 bed! but be warned they might without warning send you and you 25kg suitcase singlehandedly up a floor unexpectedly due to their screw up and charge you for it.

It's got a good party atmosphere but the rooms are too small and hot and the streets are loud at night, not good for 37 dollars .. Also staff are rude .. Stay in the HI over the road!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randompers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petegas78, Manager at Samesun Vancouver, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello,

That subject seems a bit harsh haha. Unfortunately we can't do much about street noise or a 25 kg suitcase, but we can always help you with your bags up the stairs, just ask the desk staff. All of our rooms are up the stairs though, we don't have any on the ground floor, so I'm not sure what you mean about our screw up.

Hopefully you enjoyed your time in Vancouver regardless.

Cheers

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Property: Samesun Vancouver
Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing