We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try Elsewhere in Vancouver”

Chewies Steam and Oyster Bar - Kistilano
Ranked #247 of 3,704 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: Yew Street
Transit: We are only a short walk from the #2, 4, 7, 22, 44 and 84 bus routes.
Description: Found in the heart of Kitsilano our soul food New Orleans inspired menu and fresh shucked oysters sourced for the east coast to the west coast of North America our sure to tempt your palate. The buzz and energy that fills Chewies on a nightly basis will whisk you away and leave you so relaxed you will never want to leave. In three words your experience will be... Super, Wicked, Awesome. Our menu features fresh local seafood inspired by the mouth watering flavours of New Orleans. Our steam bar is unique to Vancouver giving guests the chance to experience the true art of steam cooking southern classics such as Gumbo, Seafood Pan Roast & Creole Mussels. You will have an experience you will never forget. Guests can enjoy our patio only 2 blocks from Kitsilano Beach. Our bar pours a wide selection of award winning and locally brewed craft beers. The wine list features wines from Naramata, British Columbia to Mendosa, Argentina and all the way to Marlborough, New Zealand.
Yukon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Try Elsewhere in Vancouver”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We found the staff friendly and quick, until the end when we waited for dishes to be cleared and the bill. We ordered the oyster poor boy and BBQ ribs. Not good. Two oyster poor boy overcooked and a bit of lettuce. Not even a piece of bacon. A match made in heaven with breaded oysters. The ribs were soaked in BBQ sauce. It was vinegar all the way. From the huge over sized pickle, to slaw, to BBQ sauce. We loved the music and atmosphere, but not the food. Would not go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iceqween13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    59
    27
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Check it out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I've been here twice now, once with a large birthday party for dinner on a Sunday night and again for drinks and dessert on a Saturday night - both were great!

Definitely the Sunday night was quieter and I had low expectations of the food but was pleasantly surprised. Really good quality food, lots of options, oysters were awesome! It's a pretty laid back place and easy going service, and it was a really nice change from pretentious places that we've been to. The waiters look like they all work out at the same crossfit gym but they are attentive, casual, no pressure and efficient.

The fried chicken is so yummy but to note it has a honey butter on top so adds some sweetness which I liked but may not please everyone. I had a bite of a few friends meals and they were all top notch. Save room for the beignets as dessert, so good! The second time we came here on the Saturday night was just for the beignets and drinks. You get 3 good sized servings in one order so perfect for sharing!

Saturday night is a lot busier and they definitely pump up the music so if you're looking for a quiet place, this isn't it. Great music though, you'll recognize almost all the songs... and hear people singing along!

Great vibe, chill atmosphere, good food - check it out!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lemonie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went to the Coal Harbour location for a friends birthday. There were 10 of us and we all loved the food very much. Their wine list is pretty impressive and has something for everyone. My friends had the oysters and they enjoyed them very much. I had their seasonal basket which was scallops and mussels in a creamy white wine sauce with a tea biscuit. It was delicious and very filling!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We ate here with a last minute booking for 60, they catered very well and the service was excellent. Everyone in our party commented on how good the food was and was great value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place on a rainy night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, with the non-bacon infused vodka caesar a highlight, with lots of grated horseradish. Oysters - myagis -were perfect plump and well-presented. Next time, I'll try the shrimp and grits.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerseidVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chewies Steam and Oyster Bar - Kistilano also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Chewies Steam and Oyster Bar - Kistilano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing