We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 reasons to NEVER stay here”

C & N Backpackers - Central Station
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
C & N Backpackers - Central Station
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“10 reasons to NEVER stay here”
Reviewed 2 March 2010

1. Place stank like cigarettes were imbedded into the walls.
2. Cigarette burn holes in the bedding.
3. Noisy as hell with street traffic.
4. Prostitutes.
5. Seems like they took all the bums off the streets of Vancouver and threw them in here.
6. BED BUGS... I had bites all over my arms...
7. 1 washroom shared with the whole floor which had about 25 rooms...
8. Blinds didnt even cover the whole window and there were no screens on the windows
9.Old, dirty and gross
10.Hot as hell, no temperature control

Stayed here during the Olympics... and it made me wish i had never gone.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank keetsyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    1
    8
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
6
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Old, dirty, worn down, noisy traffic, and warm as hell. But it's a legendary hotel in Vancouver so now we've tried it...... Ans we won't be coming back!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beenfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Me and a friend stayed at the C & N backpackers for 2 nights. It didn't start too well.. After trying to cancel a night the guy on the phone was totally unprofessional. I was very close to canceling both nights but there wasn't any other options available. We were welcomed and told to take our shoes off outside, I understand they want to keep the place clean. The next day I was blamed for footprints within the hostel even though I left my trainers outside around the back where he didn't see them? I was monitored and felt I was treated like a child. He was a little sarcastic and not the most friendliest to me and my friend... I really don't understand how these people get to work in these hostels?

The overall Hostel is nice, the back has a great garden and the overall place has a good vibe. The showers were a little dirty and there was dry floorpaint everywhere. My main criticism has to be the guy working there, I cant remember his name but I'm sure you will know which one I'm talking about if you end up there!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clockworkbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We arrived and the guy behind the counter seemed seedy as.
The place was FULL of creepy builders and labourers, who i expect were working for the Winter Olympics.
I didnt feel safe at all and the fact that the womens bathroom has a key to lock it was a small comfort.
The bar next door was also creepy and there I could hear a hooker outside yelling suggestive things at people all night.
I moved first thing in the morning to SameSun on Granville St.

  • Liked — That the womens bathroom had a key to lock it
  • Disliked — It felt very unsecure and dirty
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank borntravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donvale
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Very basic. Clean private room. Close to VIA Station and Greyhound bus terminal which is handy when the coach to catch ferry to Vancouver Island and Port Hardy leaves 5.30 am. Area is a little seamy after dark and early morning. Small restaurant adjacent which avoids the need to be on the streets after dark.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jaygeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#74 of 92 in Vancouver
635 reviews
Granville Street
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
West End
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#27 of 49 in Vancouver
98 reviews
West Point Grey
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#3 of 49 in Vancouver
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C & N Backpackers - Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C & N Backpackers - Central Station

Property: C & N Backpackers - Central Station
Address: 1038 Main St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 2W1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — C & N Backpackers - Central Station 1.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your C & N Backpackers - Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing