We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great room in a fantastic location near downtown”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Vancouver, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great room in a fantastic location near downtown”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The room itself was spacious and clean, and was exactly as advertised. The shared kitchen and living room/patio area was a nice touch. The surrounding neighborhood was surprisingly quiet given the fact that it was merely one block away from Davie street, and a five minute walk to the busy downtown core. I will definitely be staying here again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkkwong
Laguna Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location & value for your money!”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this house for 3 nights. The house is centrally located in downtown near the west end. You can walk 30 mins in any direction & see the water. We walked to Stanley Park, Yaletown, Gas town, to the dock to catch a ferry to Granville Island. There are restaurants within a couple of blocks. We had a bedroom with private bathroom. The room was quite small with a comfortable queen size bed & a desk & chair. There is a kitchen in the house if you want to cook your meals. The manager, Kai, was flexible with our check out time. The downside of being in downtown was the noise (cars, people voices, construction). The place does not have air conditioning so it wouldn't be too pleasant if you are there when the weather is hot. The Windows did not have screens so we didn't want to open them & allow the bugs to come in. Another downside is the room we were in did not have a TV. It would have been nice to have a TV to watch (at least the news) & relax in the evenings. There is no living room in the house. A couple of suggestions to The manager: please provide: paper towels in the kitchen, screens in Windows, hand soap in bathroom, TV in room, a couple more pillows on the bed (since there's no other place to sit in the room aside from the bed, more pillows will allow us to prop the pillows against the headboard & makes for more comfortable seating). Overall,
We had a pleasant stay, the room was clean, reasonable rates & Kai got back to us very quickly with our questions.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baabak N
Tehran, Iran
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean, Cozy and Comfortable”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My wife and I stayed at House-i for 2 weeks in April. The house's location is very good; very quiet neighbor where you can walk and enjoy the beauty of the Vancouver. It's just about 30 minuets walk to the downtown and only few minutes to supermarket and shops.
The house is very clean and well equipped and all the rooms have their own bathroom which is really good in shared house.
In our 2 weeks stay we didn't have any problem.

Good job and thanks :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmlara
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Great location, safe, the person in charge is very helpful, the room is large and has a nice shower.
The location a bit noisy and not very conservated.
I had a peaceful stay with good relations with the other guests who were very kind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Localização
Liked least: Limpeza
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real find in Downtown Vancouver”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Ultra clean and very comfortable - the owner of these apartments has very high standards and it's evident throughout the property, from the communal living room to the kitchen and, of course, the rooms. Mine was a basic downstairs one and the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom immaculate with an excellent shower - three pristine-white towel sets were provided. Instructions for signing in to the i-House wi-fi were spot-on and the signal was strong and fast.

If you're after the buzz of a lively hotel with restaurants and bar, this isn't for you; the place was very quiet and during my stay I only met a few other guests.

But if you want the trappings of an expensive hotel at a fraction of the price, in a great location (just around the corner from bars, restaurants, supermarkets, bus-stops to everywhere) it's perfect.

Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, clean room”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed staying at house-i. Best of all is the location, walking distance to much of downtown, including a few blocks in either direction to Robson and Davies shopping streets, and a few blocks further to the east and west seawalls. The olympic cauldron is located right at the end of this street on the eastern seawall! With the ideal downtown location does come some morning traffic noise, so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. There is no air conditioning, which means sleeping with open windows if it is hot out. It's nice to have your own bathroom (some of the small floor tiles were coming off, which I'm sure they will be fixing soon). Included is nice soft bedding, thick towels, and a dispenser in the shower with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. The place is clean, and it is nice to have access to the kitchen and a sitting room. We felt safe in the neighborhood. The price is a bargain too, if you happen to compare it to hotel rooms anywhere in Vancouver. Although we never got to meet him in person, Kai was easy to communicate with by email and phone.

It looks like this place offers rooms on 3 floors. We stayed on the main floor, where there are 2 superior rooms (#5 and #6). We stayed in #5, but had a peak at #6 which looked a bit more spacious and had 2 big windows instead of one. The superior room photos on their website show #6, not #5. #6 might be a quieter room since you could open the back facing window instead of the side one, perhaps eliminating some of the street noise. However, #6 is also right beside the kitchen, so not sure if you might get some noise from the kitchen in the morning (#5 is located off the main hallway). It looks like the standard rooms are in the basement, while the family and patio suites are upstairs via a separate entrance and their own living room and kitchen.

We rented bikes from Cycle City Tours and Bike Rentals, located a few blocks away on Burrard near Davies. Next door to them is a nice little sushi place with tasty and very inexpensive sushi. The next day we walked a little further over to Bayshore Bicycle Rentals on Denman Street where we were able to rent bikes for only $16/ half day vs $30/ half day that many other places charged. Be sure to cycle the sea wall--amazing!

I'd recommend staying here and would gladly stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location provided easy access to downtown and tourist areas.
Liked least: the morning traffic noise.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITSU
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great Location! Very Clean room! Reasonable fee for the middle of down town.
The owner was super nice!!! I was in the half basement room. Big enough for one person.
But sometimes the upstairs were too much noise with children. I think they are living there. Except that, it's almost perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner's consideration
Liked least: noise
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing