We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great prices for happy hour !”
Review of The Flying Pig

The Flying Pig
Ranked #40 of 3,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Gastown
Description: We refer to our restaurant as a "nouveau Canadian Bistro"... Offering a simple, seasonally inspired menu with fresh, local ingredients at a great value. Our open concept kitchen brings the Chef to your table, delivering a memorable overall dining experience.
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food and great prices for happy hour !”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were looking for a quick bite after plenty of walking and shopping in Gastown. We walked in to find out the great specials they had for happy hour and went for a classic 'québécois' poutine to test the restaurant's legitimacy in the pub fare food.

The pulled pork poutine was in fact one of the best I have tasted outside of Québec. The savory gravy flavors were reminiscent of another classic québécois fave, la 'tourtière'. Even my spouse was surprised by it, and she rarely enjoys poutine.

With happy hour prices on drinks, the whole experience was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    349
    85
    25
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Visited the same restaurant in the spring and had a good meal both times. Friendly staff, good location and nice look.

Disappointed that the menu didn't change and the special was not special, it is already on the menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leafsoverhabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, CA
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“OMG! Go there for Happy Hour or any other time”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was by far the best happy hour meal I have ever had. And the portions were such that they really were a meal --- skirt steak with a light chili sauce and thin little potato sticks to die for. Their version of arrancini was a shortrib risotto ball. And then there was dessert -- a maple sugar pie. We were so converted that we returned on our last night in Vancouver. And the service was spectacular.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sewkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A slight change from the usual lunch fare”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Located at the far end of Gas Town's Water Street at Abbott is the trendyTFP. Architectually pleasing with large windows and a contemporary clean line style gives it a cool, almost euro-masculine look.

The menu is not extensive for lunch, there are far more appy's than mains, so our group decided to mostly share appy's in addition to our individual salads. The poutine & gnocci were the favourites & the grilled brussell sprouts added a nice balance to all the carbs. Not thrilled with the lobster risotto. The menu offers a little different flare than the usual fare.

The prices were a bit high on some items and good on others. No complaints with the service, but nothing about the place "really" wowed me enough that I would go out of my way to revisit.

I was kind of hoping to see a huge flying pig hanging from the ceiling, which would be cool - but alas there is just a little fake metal one stuck on a shelf which basically sums up my experience. Definitely better than a 3 and almost a 4. Perhaps.... if I'm in the neighbourhood I would try it again or not.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vansportsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a great place to stop and enjoy some good food”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

situated in the lovely old Gas town district, we ended up eating at the water street flying pig 4 times in July/August and had brunch at their Yale town restaurant once. we were amongst the oldest diners. It is a young vibrant atmospheric restaurant that has a very interesting and varied menu at very reasonable prices. food is great and service generally excellent, staff couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming. be prepared to eat outside or to wait at busy times. it will be worth the wait. highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flying Pig also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Flying Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing