We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of General Public

General Public
Ranked #493 of 3,704 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: South Main
vancouver
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Trendy flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Same owner as The Eatery, different menu but same great taste! Great spot for drinks and eats. Great selection of sushi and small plates to share, been back a few times already; we even got the "hot chick" discount from our lady server ;P

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sramzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Refreshingly pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

A vegetarian, and not a fan of Sushi, I ended up at this restaurant when a work group chose this spot for their team dinner. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. There were many vegetarian items to choose from on the menu - all were quite tasty. And yes, the Fat Albert was delish! We were a mixed group of 1/2 vegetarians; 1/2 carnivores, and all seemed to have plenty of options and seemed pleased with their appy and dinner choices. Out wait staff was appropriately knowledgable and attentive. If I ever choose to go for Sushi again, it would be here. Unfortunately, the don't take Amex.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LR-Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Found the place by accident. Asian fusion food was great- spicy tuna roll, miso soup, tempura veg and - OMG - striptease bacon! Good food, good prices and good atmosphere - I would definitely go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VacationDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Innovative modern Sushi bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I was taken here buy friends who live in Vancouver and loved it. Very interesting decor and innovative sushi, they have a huge range of rolls most of which I had never tasted before. Just wish I could have eaten more!

Also incredibly cheap, especially compared to London. Average is about $8 a roll.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed General Public also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to General Public? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing