We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel Room - Expensive Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Coast Suites at UBC
Ranked #63 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average Hotel Room - Expensive Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I had business on UBC's campus. I thought it would be easier to stay on campus than drive the 20 minutes from the airport. The website does not provide a lot of information regarding where to check-in or park. I arrived at 10pm, it was dark and rainy. I parked my car in the parking garage and then walked to the West Coast Suites building. There was a small sign on the door that mentioned check-in was elsewhere. Check-in was in the main student center. I was then told there was parking closer to the building and I should move because of cost. I decided to pay extra money than walk back to the garage (which is about a block from the building).

The room is ok. It is more like an extended stay hotel than an over-nighter. I had trouble controlling the temperature in the room. The bed room did not have a TV. There was a full kitchen, but I was only staying one night. The bathroom is extremely small. The sink vanity is non-existent. You cannot even put a small toiletry bag (TSA approved) on the shelf.

Check-out was a similar process. I had to walk to a different building, turn in my key and obtain a bill. I then walked to the parking garage and left.

I can stay at the airport and receive a nicer hotel with amenities for a business traveler for a lot cheaper than this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CORedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBCConferences, Manager at West Coast Suites at UBC, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
We regret to hear that you have been misinformed in terms of check in and parking location. Plans are in place for better signage to make them more visible. We are sorry to hear that our fully-equipped kitchen and bathroom didn't work for you. We do offer express check out and a statement can be emailed to you if you so choose. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    56
    12
    11
    5
See reviews for
44
13
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

If you're needing to be close to UBC the West Coast Suites is great value, well located and very comfortable. My one criticism is that it is difficult to find; the check in is actually inside the Walter Gage Residences at UBC. The sign for West Coast Suites it hidden by the lush vegetation around the building, is not lit, and difficult to see. The building seems secure, and is quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Rooms were nice and spacious compared to a non-suite hotel. Clean comfortable and nicely equipped but lacking in amenities such as a restaurant on site or room service. Not even a coffee kiosk. This was off putting for the price. Rooms were over priced and then adding parking cost on top for a small lot and it was just not good value for the money. SInce the suites are adjacent to student dormitories noise was an issue some nights with loud and/or drunken students in courtyard/walking paths outside of building but this is not the fault of West Coast Suites....just poor location for a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT4833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBCConferences, Manager at West Coast Suites at UBC, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suite. We recognized that our room rates were higher than normal as they were in great demand during Davis Cup. Please accept our apologies for the noise disruption you experienced. We do have suites on the other side of the courtyard that are quiet and are available on request.

Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Location is perfect for a UBC campus visit, and the suites are nicely equipped, clean and comfortable.

During our stay, there were groups of apparently intoxicated persons rampaging on the corridors outside the room at night. When they tried to forcefully enter the room at 4am, we called security, but nobody answered. Luckily the door held shut. Nobody could be reached at that time, neither front desk, nor security or else.

A truely frightening experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyovereuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBCConferences, General Manager at West Coast Suites at UBC, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. Our phone system malfunctioned and room calls were not connecting with our front office; this has been fixed. The West Coast Suites are typically quiet but there were a few disruptive guests over your stay. Please accept our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Was a good hotel, and the staff was quite good at trying to help when they could. There was no place to use a printer though for printing boarding passes, etc. and I have no idea about pools and whatnot as I did not use those facilities.
The location was decent for overall travel, but excellent if you needed to be at the school.

The room was very clean, and had comfortable sleeping/lounging arrangements. I only had two issues with the room overall.

First, noise from students...When Friday night came around, it was very difficult to get to sleep because of their noise, but this is nothing the hotel can control. Drunk college students are drunk college students...

Second, the light in the area. I am not sure if it was just the room I had or not, but there was way too much light coming into my room at night. I luckily have very thick eyelids and I can block it out, but if you need a dark room, be sure to check which room they put you in. The blinds bock out less than half of the light...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kodiak_fire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Of course, one can decide to stay in a student dormitory room for 180 dollars per night, with no reception and no services available and the only telephone number given pointing to an office that closes at 6 pm. But then, one can as well stay elsewhere. Even though the West Coast Suites may be nicely located for a visit of the UBC, maybe the latter is a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlkoreander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBCConferences, Manager at West Coast Suites at UBC, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your comments. I would like to express our most sincere apologies that our phone system in our front office malfunctioned which prohibited us from attending to you call. The system has since been repaired so that our evening staff can answer phone calls. While the West Coast Suites is located adjacent to student residence, they are dedicated to hotel guests and are not used by students. Again, our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareno di Piave, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I've lived for nine months both at the West Coast Suites and Gage Towers back in 2009, and I would recommend it to everybody visiting Vancouver. The staff has always been lovely and helpful, every problem solved in just a moment. The connection to Van's Downtown is excellent, bus loop just across the street. Comfortable and clean rooms, the cleaning staff is always at your disposal and very kind. Definitely an A, also for the room's rates which are definitely cheap compared to the Downtown ones. Hope to be back there!

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the bus loop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pietroguzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
University Land Endowments
Gage Residence at UBC
Gage Residence at UBC
#70 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Point Grey
Point Grey Guest House
Point Grey Guest House
#18 of 52 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
West Point Grey
House On Dunbar B&B
House On Dunbar B&B
#17 of 52 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
West Point Grey
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Suites at UBC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Suites at UBC

Property: West Coast Suites at UBC
Address: 5961 Student Union Boulevard, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > University Land Endowments
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coast Suites at UBC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful west side of Vancouver on the spectacular UBC campus, our 47 one-bedroom suites are complemented by the natural setting, attractions and recreational facilities. Shops and restaurants are located within walking distance of the West Coast Suites. Ideal for business travellers and extended stay visitors, each well-appointed suite (450 sq ft/ 41.8 sq m) features fully-equipped kitchen, flat panel TV, in-room safe, complimentary WiFi, balcony, luxury linens, Starbucks coffee, king size bed in bedroom and queen sofa-bed in living room. Accessible suites available. Onsite laundry facilities and parking for a nominal fee. Fitness centre and aquatic centre nearby for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your West Coast Suites at UBC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Suites At Ubc Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing