We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ride out to the beach”
Review of Wreck Beach

Wreck Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$106.37*
and up
Vancouver Outdoor Tour
Ranked #72 of 354 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Beautiful ride out to the beach”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I cycled over to Wreck Beach from Yaletown (downtown Vancouver) and had a great ride out. It's about a 13K ride ach way and takes anywhere between 45 mins - 1 hr to get there, depending on the route and the speed at which you travel.

I took the bike trail (seaside trail?) that goes around UBC and passed some beautiful neighbourhoods and beaches along the way.

Once at Wreck Beach, you can park your bike and walk down the steep stairs that that take you down onto the beach.

I loved the vibe of the beach -- very relaxed and bohemian. You can strip down to your birthday suit (or whatever suit you choose to wear) and just enjoy the ocean and the views of the mountain. The beach itself is quite lovely, and the water appeared nice but shallow -- I didn't actually get in so can't comment further.

I loved how people were walking around selling cold beers (probably other stuff too) although I've heard that the RCMP has set up station at the beach and is cracking down on this type of behaviour.

There's a trail in the back that leads to the gay beach, about 800 meters away from the main beach. The water at this beach was actually quite nasty looking and I wouldn't advise swimming in it, but all the bald eagles flying overhead made it worthwhile.

Definitely worth the ride or drive out for a unique beach experience in Vancouver.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    70
    29
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stairs nearly killed me.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

First off, this is a nude beach. You do not have to be nude, but others have the option to. You see it all, older people, children, teens and adults all baring it in the sand.

I found this beach to have the nicest sand and general atmosphere. You do not find a lot of boisterous families here, causing problems like monopolizing areas.

There is roughly 400 stairs to get down to the beach and parking is limited. Coming up the stairs can be hard in the heat.

The beach is serviced by some merchants and has bathrooms and change rooms.

All in all, if you are cool with the nudie part. Its one of the best beaches in Vancouver.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank b_red_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,853 reviews
977 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,226 helpful votes
“Secluded and Popular in Summer”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Myriad sun bathers -- adults and children -- flock in summer to the sandy stretch of Wreck Beach that is accessed from Trail 6 near the Museum of Anthropology. The water is invigorating and the views of mountains and distant islands, lovely. But the big attraction for many is the opportunity to go " natural" at this clothing-optional beach. When I've been there in summer, I estimate that at least 60 percent of the people have shed their clothes.

This part of Wreck Beach is too crowded for me. In addition to those sprawled on the sand or testing the water, there are vendors at small stands, selling a variety of items, from souvenirs to ice cream. Loud music sometimes rides the air and can become annoying. Dogs, however, do not contribute to the ambiance. They are prohibited from May 1-Sep. 30.

Access to this stretch involves a steep descent through a dense rainforest via about 500 wooden steps, which may be unsuitable for some children and anyone with mobility problems. It takes about 10 minutes to reach the beach. Returning can be a strenuous climb. Take it slowly and be sure to bring water in the summer; but leave your camera at home. And be sure to heed "Clothes Beyond This Point" signs. Clothing optional does not extend to trails in the area, though I have run into a few people near other Wreck Beach areas, who chose to ignore that regulation.

Parking is almost impossible to find near the Trail 6 area of Wreck Beach. I recommend taking a public bus. The beach is about 25 minutes from Downtown Vancouver.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bumming Around”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This great spot minutes from downtown Vancouver is a jewel in our worldly travels, you don't have to be a nudist to enjoy this incredible world class secluded beach, although at least top less for gals is recommended. Being an ex police officer I had my druthers about ever going there..but...so glad I caved in and experienced this unique bit of Canadian culture.
A cool adventure to share with your gal or guy in a totally safe environment. Bring anything you want to enjoy a beach day with extra sunscreen, water is great for swimming, but be ready to pee in the tall grass..you can purchase food or beers, remember the hike back up to the top of the beach is very strenuous, be prepared. Go check it out, be cool, enjoy a new experience. Remember you only live once. What can it hurt? Me 60 wife 50...hooray!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank douglas r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The most interesting beach I ever visited !”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a very interesting beach. There are stairs to the beach, but dense trees obscure the beach and the tail end of the stairs and we were staggered to find the number of stairs to be 490. It was summer and the beach was quite crowded. Water although apparently cold, actually felt quite comfortable once we got into it. This is a clothing optional beach shared harmoniously by nude and semi-nude people alike. We also saw some people had brought their kids who were playing among the nude people of all ages. I wonder what perceptions are being created in them. Also, it was very annoying to find a few fully clothed people prying at the naked people relaxing on the beach. However, we truly enjoyed being at this beach and we wish we could spend some more time here !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travellalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wreck Beach also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Wreck Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing