We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Boise ID
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

What a great hotel....from location to service..no complaints. This hotel is located in the heart of downtown near restaurants and wonderful shopping. The Hop-On Trolley is right across the street. I cannot say enough about the staff...clearly helpful in every way and remember my name each and every time I saw them. Restaurant food is way above average...chocolate buffet....what can I say?

I would definitely recommend and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlineGonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    78
    32
    3
    8
See reviews for
103
83
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We stayed in the La Grande Residence side of the hotel for two nights. We had a nice galley kitchen, fold out couch, and balcony. The hotel is beautiful. Even our 11 year old daughter noticed new flower arrangements each day. We aren't fancy people, but the touches were noticed.

We had a great rate as we signed up for the frequent stay benefits. If you want free wi-fi sign up for it. It's free! We also were supposed to get $30/day in food and beverage credit. It wasn't very clearly explained, so we missed out on one day as we arrived later in the evening. Guess we should've gone to the bar!

We did see Lou Diamond Phillips, but didn't say anything to him. I guess when you see people you're not really sure you can believe you eyes or something. Later my husband and I talked about it and both of us had noticed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pern453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed last week at the Sutton.
The place is well located and the concierge staff very attentive.
We enjoyed our stay but I think the hotel is a bit dated.
The rooms were renovated few years ago and is time to do it again. The room was dusty and on the small side. The lobby isn't comfortable too small for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2010

pros:
great location
nice valet service
nice housekeeping service
good promo rates including valet service

cons:
dated decor - dark 1 bedroom
unkept - clock missing battery, balcony latch missing, window handles were broken
a/c is very loud

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mika0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We stayed here from the 14th thru the 21st and It was by far the most amazing hotel we have stayed at. First off to Barry, who works the grave yard shift that bought us our food late at night, Such an amazing employee, and Sutton Place should know this, which I am sure they do. He was incredibly polite, and to work on your birthday and still not be bitter, AMAZING. The room was spotless, and the housekeeping staff are awesome and trustworthy, we had coins and notes all over the place, a laptop, passports and other expensive items, and nothing got touched, stolen or moved. They even said Hi as you walked down the hallway. You dont get that sort of service in Australia. Would I stay here again, In a Heartbeat. Would I recomend to my friends, already have. Is this Hotel worth every cent, Damn right it is! And if I could give a review better the Excellent on the staff and the room service, I would give them a Freakin Amazing!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajbuckleybruhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My husband had a business trip to Vancouver and I joined him with our three month old baby.

The location is hard to beat as it is so central to everything. We took the Skytrain from the airport to the city and it was then an easy walk to the hotel. There is an IGA market over the road with a good selection of food that is easy to prepare in a hotel kitchen. The suite kitchen didn't have any dishes suitable for heating in the oven. Recognizing not everyone wants to cook it would be helpful to have a few available upon request for guests who do want to take advantage of the kitchen.

The hotel provided a proper crib for the baby which we really appreciated. The rooms were well serviced and cleaned. The hotel employees were all very courteous and helpful.

We will be back to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I stayed at the Sutton in June 2010. I found the best rate was on the hotel website, with many different promotions going on all the time, almost too many choices. The triple AAA rate seemed to be the best each time I checked but as the date came closer, the promotional rate turned out to be the best. I was looking for the one bedroom suite so I ended up booking in the grand residence tower. Wow, it was huge! It was a full one bedroom apartment with balcony, huge bedroom with king size bed (which was so comfortable!!!) galley kitchen with 4 full size appliances as well as blender, toaster, kettle and all the utensils/dishes/etc you need for entertaining! I was really impressed! There was a pullout couch in the living room as well as a huge flatscreen t.v with dvd and surround sound speakers! The patio had a bistro table and chairs which I used alot! I had a great view too from the 18th floor! There is an IGA market directly across the street for all of your grocery needs. There's a wine store attached to the hotel! I never ate in the restaurants but the room service was excellent everytime and served in style! Check in and check out was very quick and smooth. There was really only a couple of things that I was disappointed in: 1) when I booked on line, I was under the impression that my wireless internet ($15.00/day) would be included if I became a prestige member and booked on-line, it would also come with a $25.00 dining credit daily.(all of the promo rates come with this credit) I actually printed out the confirmation stating that it would be included. When I checked in they told me that with the promo rate that I received, wireless was not included but the $25.00 credit was. I tried to explain that it had nothing to do with the promo rate, that I received it for signing up as a member, but they would not budge. 2) Parking as everyone knows in Vancouver is very expensive, but when you are staying in a 5 star hotel, I expect the parking to be included! Sure if you want valet, that's different, but I thought $35.00/day was a little ridiculous. I would even consider $15.00 per day. They should just skip the dining credit and include parking and internet! There was also one day from about 4-7pm that there was no hot water. When I called, they blamed it on the city and told me I could go over to the "hotel" side and shower, well that's like walking across the street to another hotel, not very convenient at all. After a long discussion, and me cancelling my dinner reservations, I was able to get them to credit some of my charges for the inconvenience which was acceptable. Over all, I would give this hotel 5 out of 5 rating and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Loved it! PS, I forgot to mention that they have an indoor pool and hot tub and an outdoor patio (very private with fence and trees) with super comfy deck chairs, so perfect for catching some rays and relaxing!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumby1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,559 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,724 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St | at the Sutton Place Hotel, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing