We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location in heart of the city”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
WorldMark The Canadian
toronto,ont.
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic location in heart of the city”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We are staying in a very comfortable 2 bed 2 bath unit on the 21st floor overlooking the downtown of beautiful Vancouver. The compact dining room has floor to ceiling windows and you feel like you are floating in mid-air as the sun rises. The condo units are very clean and has excellent beds and facilities. Being right downtown it can be a little loud but with the supplied fans on at night there is no problem with sleeping. The kitchen is well stocked and the unit comes with a washer and dryer. An electric Fireplace complements the living area. A big bonus is that parking is free and you can walk to most downtown attractions.

Room Tip: As the property is not air conditioned it may be wise to ask for a unit facing east in the summer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    27
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Resort is awesome! Rooms are very well maintained and new looking. Elevators are fast. Front desk staff is so very friendly and helpful. The rooms are tiny but that is clearly stated when booking a room so no surprise and with the wall of windows and mirror in the breakfast area it feels much larger. Great city views too! WiFi at the resort isn't free but it's cheap and very fast. And coffee shops and/or restaurants with free wifi are EVERYWHERE.

It's so easy to navigate around on foot or hop a bus.
Looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Go visit the Nitobe Memorial Garden! A stunningly peaceful place on the grounds of UBC. Lots of buse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2WingNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldMark W, Social Media Team at WorldMark The Canadian, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the resort amenities. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portglenone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Canadian is in a great location in downtown Vancouver. We had a two bed apartment and there was plenty of space, great views also out the windows. No gym or pool but the Sheraton can be used just across the street.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Janekearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have stayed at a few WorldMark locations and this one has been my favourite by far. Literally in the heart of downtown Vancouver and mere blocks from the main strip of Granville Street, The Canadian is an ideal location for anyone who wants a central location to explore. The Canadian itself doesn't have a pool or fitness facility but if you don't mind walking across the street (literally), WorldMark guests have full access to the Sheraton's facilities. The Sheraton's gym is on the small side but the pool, hot tubs and sauna are awesome. However, please be warned that there is a construction site located on the south side of the building. I can't remember when the project is supposed to be completed but noise pollution is definitely an issue if you don't plan on being up before 7 on a week day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kait h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed at the Canadian for 3 nights. The staff was very helpful on pointing us in the right direction for some sightseeing and any other bits of information we needed... such as what does a flashing green light mean??

The room was nice and had all the things needed to kick back and relax. Good Kitchen, room was clean and the bed was fine for my wife since she enjoys a harder mattress...oh well. I bet the view was really good at some point in time because we were on the 19th floor. However, with other building popping up all around trying to get their view it tended to block ours.

One downside was that sound travels up. Therefore we, and anyone else in the high rises got to hear sirens, horns and construction at two sites within a block. The rooms don't have A/C (they do provide 2 fans) so you need to open the windows; but that lets more noise in - sort of a catch-22. It wasn't hot but it did get really humid so we used the fans which helped a bit.

Vancouver has some nice things but I think if we're to relax we need to go to the country... OH and watch out for the cyclists and their "special" lanes, which totally threw off my driving.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williejim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

So grateful to Joey and everyone else who went out of their way to make a smooth experience for a 17 person study group that stayed at the Worldmark Vancouver that I organized.

They must have spent hours with us working through details like: getting bike room keys for 17 people, dealing with a large check-in group around midnight, arranging for us to use a large room for event debriefing, and talking me through the facility so I could provide accurate instructions to attendees.

Thank you, Worldmark!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eligold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I was here for a week in a 1bdrm unit in the beginning of November for a work trip. A collegue was staying at the Marriot Residence Inn a few blocks away and came to pick me up for dinner one evening and liked the place for the view and the extra space.

This is 1 block from Burrand, 1 block from Davis a few blocks from robson and lots of great restaurants within walking distance so it is easy to roll home after you have eaten well and been watered lol Even walking by myself, I have not felt unsafe in the neighbourhood.

This is a condo building and Worldmark have 6 floors of apts and set it up as a timeshare. The units are small and compact but well set up for 2 people in a 1bdrm with a fully equipped kitchen with a living area and eating alcove attached with great views, a decent but small bedroom. The bathroom was a bit basic and not a lot of room for toilettries and other stuff.

24 hr front desk and you get passes to use the exercise room, pool, sauna and whirlpool of the Sheraton Wall Center for about 18 hrs a day.

Complementary parking available but transportation is so good in Vancouver you don't really need a car. Instead of taxi a cab all the way from the airport, I took the skytrain to RoundHouse, had dinner at Blue Water Cafe, one of my favourite restaurant on Robson and then took a cab to the Worldmark for less than $10. I could have walked if I was not so well fed and watered lol.

The internet is an issue with an outdated modem device so I turned my cell into a hot spot when I need it and did it briefly for another guest that was complaining about the lack of free wifi.

One issue I had is that the metal legs of the coffee table in living area and stools by kitchen area have a lot of hard edges. Stubbed my toes at least 5 times walking to kitchen for drink of water or to start the coffee.

Another issue is that a unit on the same floor seemed to be occupied by someone throwing a party on Thursday night. Returning around midnight after a work related function, there was at least a dozen people hanging around the area around the elevator chatting. Considering regular occupancy is 2 or 4 people depending on the size of the unit, they were way over capacity and making a lot of noise without consideration for their neighbours. Seemed to be party for a South Asian family.


Th

Room Tip: Had a corner unit facing NE and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,636 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
3,711 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,785 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark The Canadian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark The Canadian

Property: WorldMark The Canadian
Address: 1080 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Hotel Class:4 star — WorldMark The Canadian 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Worldmark The Canadian Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing