We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Show!”
Review of Cellar Jazz Club - CLOSED

Cellar Jazz Club
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic Show!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Absolutely amazing place. They put on a pulsing 2.5 hour show. Brought up different musicians and singers. Danielle, who served us, went up for a couple songs and nailed them (then went back to schlepping beers, which seemed a little odd). Food was pretty good for a club. Drinks were full price and small (again, typical for a club). Will definitely be back for the music and atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnSF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great sounds”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We visited on a Monday night in May 2012. The blues was great and we really enjoyed the night. The food was average - good meat but not much of anything else on my plate - but inexpensive. We caught a bus there and a cab back to the hotel. If I visit Vancouver again I will return.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosspiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teslin, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great little intimate space”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

went there to watch a friends friend perform & really enjoyed myself. the space was very cozy & jazzy. the service was great. the food was good...but not great though.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank DGA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“love it”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I saw that the Cellar is #2, and thought "well what the heck is #1 then?" ok, ok, I guess Stanley Park is good too. But this place is great! great line-up of awesome local and international musicians, not too pricey, free parking for once, and the food is surprisingly good for a jazz club! Get out there and check 'em out!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank bobnones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“best live jazz spot in vancouver”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

this is a quaint jazz club. it's at the bottom of a set of steep stairs so could be hard for people to get in with mobility issues.

however once inside the place is littered with a wonderful jazz ambiance, paintings of great jazz musicians on the wall and friendly wait staff that serve great food and drinks.
there is a cover charge of 15$(maybe more depending on the artist) on top of your meal but it's worth it to go to a place where jazz is appreciated and real great musicians play.

it ain't as good as the jazz clubs in new york but it's the best one vancouver has got.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadiatravelgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cellar Jazz Club also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing