We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent selection of whiskeys”
Review of The Irish Heather

The Irish Heather
Ranked #21 of 101 Nightlife in Vancouver
Attraction details
Ottawa
Level Contributor
370 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“An excellent selection of whiskeys”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We sought out this place for its large seletion of whiskeys. Very large selection of scotchs and good variety of bourbons and Irish and Canadian whiskeys. We kept it to drinks and were quite pleased. Trio of musicians was playing irish music in the background the evening we were there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ottawajester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater/Tampa Bay Florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Not bad for a quick beer late in the day.”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

While I'm sure The Irish Heather gets cranking in the evening, it was actually empty of all customers when we stopped by about 3;00 in the afternoon. We ordered drinks and some bar nuts, and enjoyed talking to the bartender about places to visit or stop for a drink. He was very pleasant and did explain that they tended to be "night life" place - which we could imagine because of its location and layout. Based on our brief visit I would go back again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClearwaterJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“The Irish Pleather”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The "Irish Pleather", as I shall now refer to it, is at best a typical Vancouver dining/drinking experience - it's clean (almost sterile), has airs of mild pretension, and ultimately lacks any personality. Drink is fine, food is average, but it's certainly not an experience that separates itself from the myriad of night spots in the area.

Trading on a name they do not earn, "The Irish Pleather" tries so hard to be "cool" that they have set a tone that is contradictory. Museum-style glass cabinets celebrate the "old country" in such a way that it does more to separate itself from those elements rather than immerse you in them. To rub it in we were informed that they don't play Irish music at all? The staff were generally cold, or rude, and that the manager wore an ill-fitting flat cap and spoke with a Canadian accent probably sums the whole place up - it's a theme park pub. Anyone from the green isle would surely feel exploited rather than celebrated or welcomed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank R0n5eal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We love their beer!”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Try the Innis & Gunn! It's the best beer I've ever had! Busy place with great atmosphere in Gastown.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mel9250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Long Table Dinner”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We were in town for the marathon, so a group of us went here that night. It's a stylish place. We had a couple of pints (great Guiness) first then were called to the Long Table at 7pm. It takes approx 40 people, you'll meet interesting people from all over. Dinner is set, it was introduced by the chef; Roast Beef & Yorkshire pudding and a pint from one of the local microbreweries. Food was excellent, atmosphere fantastic, great value, great service. Good for larger and smaller groups; unique experience. Will return for sure.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank stewsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Irish Heather also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Irish Heather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing