We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average & 'No Frills' b&b”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auld Dublin Guest House
Ranked #17 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Markham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Average & 'No Frills' b&b”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the 'garden room' which was a decent size and had a nice window seat that we could rest our luggage on top of. The garden room was quite warm, if not hot when we arrived. We found the room to be dusty in some places, the bathroon was not as clean as we would have expected and the overall quality was lacklustre. We did have a fridge, which I originally thought was a nice feature however, it had an odd smell and ended up transferring onto our water bottles.

Upon our arrival, Helen did provide a tabletop fan to cool our room down but it didn't really work and made for an uncomfortable sleepless first night. We did mention it to her the next morning, and she actually put in a window air conditioner later that day which we appreciated and made our last night of sleep much better.

The b&b itself is nicely decorated, with a charming garden & breakfast area. The b&b is in a good location, has free parking and is situated in a quaint neighbourhood, within walking distance to Queen Elizabeth park and an easy 5 minute reach to Cambie St which has many restaurants, cafes, etc. Helen was nice & friendly enough and I liked her Irish accent. The breakfasts were basic but adequate enough to fill us up (though we did get a muffin on our last morning, which we enjoyed).

Overall, we thought this b&b was subpar and overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcarton, Owner at Auld Dublin Guest House, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hello AnyLiz,
I am very surprised to read this less than perfect review and I am saddened that you didn't come to me during your stay with your concerns. I strive for excellence in every aspect of my Bed and Breakfast and if you take a look at all of my other reviews you will see that they are almost all 5 stars. Every other guest has said the rooms, my home, and the breakfasts are excellent. My home is a 100 year old heritage house that is kept immaculately, and I don't mind bragging that I am a fastidious housekeeper when it comes to keeping it clean. For the benefit of other readers, the breakfasts that I serve are a hot cooked breakfast with eggs and a selection of different sides. Your comments that you got a "basic but adequate" breakfast, and that the second day you "received a muffin", I feel paint an inaccurate picture of our breakfasts and has me confused. The muffins which were served to you on the second day would have in addition to your cooked egg breakfast, fruit salad, basket of toast, orange juice, tea, coffee, and selection of cereals, which has been more than "adequate" for every other guest we have had. You would be more than welcome to stay the next time you are in Vancouver, and we will take particular care to make sure that absolutely everything is in place to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed with Helen for a few nights on our way back to the UK. The garden room we stayed in was peaceful and pretty, with a nice window seat for relaxing. Helen is incredibly welcoming and hospitable and provides great breakfasts of fresh fruit and cooked options - we hardly needed any lunch!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Loved everything about this B&B. The room was fabulous and house was beautifully decorated in a very good neighbourhood. What made this experience was the host Helen who was very helpful and made us very welcome and feel very special!! You will love the breakfast !! Could not recommend Auld Dubliner highly enough. Downtown Vancouver is only 10 mins away on a bus which stops on nearby Oak Street every 10 mins.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColletteDowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed for three nights in Helens B&B. It a very charming house and really nice rooms. The Breakfast is very good and Helen is also a charming and helpful host. Four Blocks away is a street with lots of restaurant and shops, so you can find all what you need. The next Skytrain station is about 10 minutes away. It’s the easiest way to visit downtown, waterfront and so on for only 2,50CAD.
If you have any questions Helen will help you with a lot of information. We can strongly recommend this accommodation. If we came back to Vancouver we definitely come back to Helen.

Thank you very much Helen.

Best regards
Patrik and Petra (Black Forest)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrikBlackForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

If you've had the good fortune to visit Ireland you probably recall the abundance of hospitality that has made the island so famous. Nowhere is that more genuinely felt than in Ireland's B&Bs. Helen has managed to transport that very spirit to a beautiful neighborhood in Vancouver. Her home is very well appointed, comfortable and beautiful. The best part of her B&B, however, is Helen herself. My fiancee and I felt like we were staying with our favorite Irish aunt. I could go on and on about how great Helen is and how welcoming she was but I'll just say this: If you are going to Vancouver, skip the hotels and call Helen instead. You'll be so happy you did.

PS - She makes one hell of an Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

A nice room at a nice neighborhood.
Helen is friendly and attentive to our needs.
Thank you Helen for the efforts.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in late March 2012 because the Auld Dublin is located just a few steps from our daughter's apartment. The quality of this B&B just added to our satisfaction. Mrs Carton is a delightful and accommodating host, her breakfasts are very good, and the rooms are comfortable. If you're looking for a friendly welcome and a pleasant place to stay in Vancouver, the Auld Dublin is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hafaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
684 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,125 reviews
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#34 of 54 in Vancouver
187 reviews
Shaughnessy
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 54 in Vancouver
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Dublin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Dublin Guest House

Property: Auld Dublin Guest House
Address: 988 19th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 1X5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique combination of old world charm and contemporary comfort that this Vancouver bed and breakfast has to offer. Each room has been carefully decorated to provide a restful and relaxing stay. The beautifully appointed dining area, a cozy fireplace and the Gaelic grace and wit of your hostess all add to the experience.The Auld Dublin Guest House Vancouver B&B is very easy to find, located a half block off Oak Street, which becomes Highway 99 to the USA. It is also close to public transit and less than 10 minutes away from Vancouver’s downtown shopping core. The Whistler ski resort is only a 90-minute drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing